No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Cock Inn Hotel

3สไตล์เฉพาะตัว โรงแรมขนาดเล็ก Ratings explained
THE COCK, THE STREET SHEERING, Bishops Stortford, CM22 7LT
The hotel is situated a short distance from Stansted Airport. A train station is located nearby with trains going to London and Cambridge, providing an ideal base from which to commute. Our restaurant offers a wide choice of homemade English and Continental dishes as you would expect in a traditional country Inn.

Restaurant times Monday to Saturday - Lunches served 12.00 until 2.00pm Evening Meals served from 6.30pm until 9.00pm. Monday morning breakfast is a Continental Breakfast Tray served to guests Room. Tuesday to Friday breakfast is served in the restaurant from 7.00 until 8.30 - Saturday and Sunday breakfast is served from 9.00 until 10.00. Sunday we serve Lunch 12.00 until 4.00pm (Traditional Sunday Roast) No Restaurant Sunday Evening.
Picture of The Cock Inn Hotel, Bishops Stortford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 43 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money for an overnight stay
We stayed here for one night, we found the staff to be friendly and very welcoming and service at breakfast friendly and efficient. The room was basic but spacious and clean. Full English breakfast cooked to order and very tasty. All in all we feel this hotel is good value for money.

Reviewed by
D Henry

From Warlingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff very pleasant. Room was basic.
This hotel is convenient for Stanstead airport if you don't wish to stay on the airport complex. The room was very basic but adequate. There was no soap in the bathroom, only a half used bottle of shower gel. There was food available in the restaurant off the bar. The pub itself had a big screen TV and a smoking shelter outside - enough said! OK, for a business stop over - not a romantic weekend retreat.

Reviewed by
Philip COZENS

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The latest of Laterooms
A warm welcome, some wonderful food and a peaceful and comfortable night's sleep.
On a whim, we booked late in the afternoon, finished work and arrived in the evening. We had done little research and were out on a limb, but we neednot have worried. It was a wonderul spontaneous getaway.
Can highly recommend the restaurant, even to non guests of the hotel.

Reviewed by
Anne j

From Southend on Sea, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very friendly pub
We called the pub prior to arriving to ask if we could check in early as we were attending a wedding that day and they were very accommodating. We were able to use our room even though it wasn't quite ready to freshen up after a long journey and leave our bags before we drove on to the wedding. The stay there was perfect for what we wanted as a stop over place but for a longer amount of time I feel the bed needed to have better quality linen and was'nt the most comfortable. Overall we really appreciated the extra efforts that the pub went to for us and they were very friendly and welcoming!

Reviewed by
Laura P

From Yeovil, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice
I found the staff and the locals very friendly and helpfull.
The room was clean and comfortable
and it also had easy access to all routes and also not far from stansted airport.

Reviewed by
neville drury

From Harlow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location & value
Lovely welcome. Clean room with all basic essentials. Great location & value. I'd return. Friendly chat at the bar too. Didnt feel lonely.

Reviewed by
Mhairi Murphy

From Madrid, Spain
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed at the cock inn as a birthday treat,the owners and staff were all very welcoming and friendly.a lovely place to stay will definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
paul w

From Grays, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Cock
A comfortable hotel with friendly and efficient staff. The evening meal we had was very nice and breakfast was also good. Three good beers on the bar, with World cup football for those who wanted it and a quiet area for those who don't. Would be happy to stay again

Reviewed by
Jeff Hoyle

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

man with a van overnight stay
Good size room great food and very freindley staff value for money with full english breakfast to get you started next day recomended to return again

Reviewed by
mark o

From Keighley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
Excellent value for money, with friendly staff, good food.

Reviewed by
Paul C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next