No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Headlam Hall Hotel & Spa

4AA Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Headlam, Darlington, DL2 3HA
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf Course is set within 4 acres of beautiful gardens surrounded by its own rolling estate in the Teesdale countryside. This 17th century manor house combines historical charm with modern and stylish facilities to provide a luxurious and relaxing environment for its guests.

There are 40 en-suite rooms with a delightful blend of style and character – located in either the Main Hall, the Coach House, the Spa or the ground floor Mews. The individually designed bedrooms are all beautifully appointed with a very high standard of decor. Main Hall rooms are of a traditional style befitting of a Jacobean country hotel, with period piece furnishings, the Coach House rooms are contemporary cottage style rooms with soft country colours and handmade wooden furniture and the Spa rooms have a more modern design but still reflecting the rural setting with muted colours, contemporary oak furniture and original landscape artwork.

The 2 AA rosette restaurant serves modern British cuisine with an emphasis on local produce including that from the Hall’s gardens and farm. Guests can enjoy dining in either the intimate Panel Room or the tranquil and stylish Orangery where service is professional yet relaxed and friendly.
Picture of Headlam Hall Hotel & Spa, Darlington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a gem
This was our first time at Headlam Hall but we had a fantastic stay. My wife and I were enjoying a break from the kids (thanks Grandma) and had a great experience here. The staff were really friendly and helpful and really couldn't do enough for you. I cannot recommend this place highly enough.

Reviewed by
G Owen

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our Stay
This is our third year of returning to Headlam Hall to celebrate our wedding anniversary and to our surprise on arrival at the hotel we were told we had being upgraded to the bridal suite which made it even more special. The room was lovely and with the additional touches made our stay more pleasurable. The staff as always were very welcoming and the food superb. The hotel is situated in a lovely part of the countryside and the ambience of the place is such that we cant wait to return next year.

Reviewed by
A Riseley

From Port Talbot, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed in the mews rooms with our dog, room was lovely but bathroom was very cramped
Stayed for 3 nights in total. Mews room was lovely but the bathroom was rediculously cramped, it was a bath with a shower over and you had to sit on toilet sideways as toilet roll holder made it almost impossible to do anything else, so anyone with mobility issues beware. The room was clean and the staff were all lovely. Had a couple of spa treatments and again the staff were lovely. The food was disappointing and the head chef needs to think more carefully when menu planning, for example there were 2 terrines on the menu and both contained hazelnuts, however I would definately consider staying again.

Reviewed by
Jacqueline H

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Headlam Hall
what a fantastic place - cracking service and the food was out of this world.

Reviewed by
ann crawley

From Barry, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was a wonderful stay, the staff are excellent, the food delicious, the place is beautiful. The dog was made welcome. The swimming pool has restricted times for children but as it is essentially a spa for luxury grown up relaxing, that is fine.

Reviewed by
Jenifer Mary C

From Monmouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
My husband was unwell while we was there but the staff were excellent

Reviewed by
b lloyd

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

! Excellent food, service and quite simply "CLASS".
I think the dinner menu was the best food I've ever eaten. Each course was beautiful in terms of the produce used, its preparation and its stunning presentation. The friendly and helpul staff also greatly contributed to the whole experience.
The leisure facilities were all nice, but, the best part for me was sitting outside in the hot tub, under the nightime snow, to celebrate my wife's birthday. Excellent!
Thank You!

Reviewed by
Peter B

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great place to stay
beautiful hotel and buildings ,excellent service from all staff .room i had was top quality and the spa facillities were excellent too .the food in the restaurant was definately 5 star and reasonably priced as well .great gardens and locatio n to match will definately stay again

Reviewed by
peter stansfield

From Huddersfield, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.