You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Queens Hotel

2

Skeldergate, York, YO1 6DH

Price From 140.82 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (61)

75% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • J Barrett

  • August 2016

A comfortable hotel by the river

We were very impressed by this hotel, which was clean and comfortable.

The staff were extremely helpful and efficient. The food was excellent, although the scrambled eggs were disappointingly watery and tasteless. The only problem was the noise from the party-goers the other side of the river, which the hotel wouldn't be able to do anything about. I would definitely go back there.

  • K R

  • August 2016

Overpriced and average

Average room - overpriced because of the races.

It was very busy in the city and finding accommodation was difficult. The following night the hotel room was half the price which was a much fairer reflection. Insufficient tea and coffee choice and no toiletries bar some shower gel.

The shower itself was cramped and under a sloping roof which meant showering with my head bowed in order not to bang it on the ceiling. In fact the shower curtain only came half across the bath. Not satisfactory.

All in all, rather disappointing and poor value for money at £120+

  • M Hackett

  • July 2016

Overpriced

Very basic accommodation in need of updating.

Highly overpriced for what it is. No air conditioning and very little air circulating in the building. Staff are helpful and nice but obviously constrained by poor management decisions. The lift stank and no one cleaned it for the entire time we stayed there; like something from a drug den, the floors were sticky and filthy. Disappointing.

  • L Jones

  • July 2016

The Queens Hotel

The room was so hot we tried to get a fan from reception but they had all gone.

Air con would be great. Staff were very friendly.

  • P Hodge

  • July 2016

The Queens Hotel

Very comfortable one night stay.

Great central location and next to the river. Decent hot breakfast despite it being from the hotplate. Staff friendly, helpful, and efficient.

  • Eric B

  • June 2016

Good place to stay in the middle of York

We only stayed one night, without breakfast, bathed a positive experience.

The staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. There was some noise drifted in through our open window from a nearby bar, but not sufficient to disturb our sleep. The room itself was clean and comfortable. The hotel is ideally placed for seeing the city, and the opportunity to park a car inter car park (though not when the river is high!) is a real bonus.

  • Alan Nicholson

  • May 2016

The Queens Hotel

We only had breakfast in the hotel, so I can't comment on evening meals.

  • Madeline R

  • April 2016

Dissappointed

Expected far better.

Previous reviews I read gave a good rating so thought it would be fine because only staying overnight, but, the walls had dirty marks and stains on them, the radiator was dirty, lampshades had stains and some was in disrepair. Reception staff I thought quite curt. I know York is a very busy tourist town and they must have a large turnover of quests, but this is one guest that will find alternative accommodation when returning to York in the future.

  • Sally K

  • April 2016

Convenient location, a little expensive for what it is.

Staff friendly and helpful, food reasonable and plentiful, there are a lot of good things about this hotel.

For over £100 a night, I might have expected something a little more special, but that's what you get for being in a popular tourist city, I guess.

  • E Livingstone

  • April 2016

Great hotel to stay in york

Friendly staff.

The room was clean and spacious. Would have been nice to have the option to book a room with a river view. Highly recommend this hotel if visiting York as it is close to all attractions.