No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Queens Hotel

2Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Skeldergate, York, YO1 6DH
The Queens Hotel is situated in the heart of the vibrant City of York, on the banks of the River Ouse. All of York's famous attractions are within walking distance. The Hotel has limited car parking spaces, a space must be reserved direct with the Hotel prior to arrival if required to avoid disappointment; the cost per night is £10.00.

When the Hotel car park is fully booked an alternative is recommended approx 4 minutes from the Hotel. The cost per 24 hours at the NCP is £17.00 (rate subject to change). Our location on the riverside does occasionally cause issues with our car park when river levels are high, we endeavour to contact you prior to arrival to advise of alternative parking if you have pre-booked a space.

The Hotel has a Restaurant which serves breakfast and dinner daily, the cost for a Full English breakfast is £8.50 per adult and £6.00 per child. Dinner is charged individually with a main course dish priced from £9.00, a children’s menu is available. The Hotel bar is open from 4.30pm until 12 midnight and the lounge overlooks the River. (Please note that limited menus will be available during Christmas and New Year periods, restrictions will apply to meal times and availability).
The Queens Hotel does not accept single sex groups. Smoking bedrooms can be requested at the time of booking. Requests are subject to availability.
Picture of The Queens Hotel, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 158 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent weekend break.Good food.Great view of river Ouse from our room.Ideal location for all sights.

Reviewed by
Stephen K

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a little shabby round tbe edges
Room was large and clean but a little shabby around the edges. Hotel was a in need of some refurbishment.
Breakfast was reasonable tho the fruit was tinned. Staff were polite and friendly.

Reviewed by
deborah s

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we have stayed at this hotel before and founnd it to be of a good standard the only complaint was that the bath and bathroom was slippy as i slipped getting out of the shower and ended up bruised and shaken

Reviewed by
margaret f

From North Shields, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Did not meet expectations this time
Unfortunately the room we were given was a smoking room that smelled very strongly of tobacco, we contacted reception about it but as the hotel was full they were unable to change our room. We have stayed at the Queens hotel before and had no complaints when in a no smoking room. In this day and age I am surprised that there are smoking rooms and this should have been pointed out to us when we booked. It would have been a nice gesture if the hotel had reduced our bill as it did affect our stay, but they did not. There was no room in the hotel car park and we were directed to the nearest car park which charged £18 a day, which we thought was a bit expensive!

Reviewed by
Janette L

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend break with friends
Having stayed in the Queens hotel the same time last year we were quite happy to return this year. On closer inspection we found the rooms quite dirty, the skirting in yhr bathroom hadn't been cleaned In ages, the shower curtain was filthy, there was paper coming off the wall at the front door. I sleep with a c-pap machine for medical reasons but couldn't use it due to lack if socket near the bed.I asked for an extension lead, I was told to go buy one at the local tesco express. Attitude was terrible, we won't be back next year

Reviewed by
n osborne

From Bonnyrigg, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central
Great to stay if you want Central York...our room 37 tidy and clean ...basic...but if you want air in the room ..just a little window...then don't expect to sleep ...can hear all road traffic and the drunken antics of late night/early morning clubbers...very noisy.. Breakfast food is average...handles on serving spoons red hot so be aware...to my cost ouch!!!...also if everyone comes down together then self service is a bit of a cattle market.

Reviewed by
j robinson

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great position overlooking the River Ouze.
Rather tired reception and lift area
Room very nice, ,overlooking the river
Windows were very fingermarked!
Breakfast very poor
Awful orange juice. Boxed cereals.tinned fruit But fresh plain yoghurt!
Lots of Cooked stuff under hot lights even toast!
However its a great location.
Even white toast

Reviewed by
Sue M

From Crewe, England
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location location location
Excellent booking service. Booked on line @ 6.20 pm checked in at 8.30 pm with no problem whatsoever. Large ground floor room near reception Location perfect near all the action but parking very expensive nearby. Hotel need to shut firedoors to mask noise as you could hear every conversation from reception. Other than that it was perfect.

Reviewed by
Jeffrey W

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First class
This is the fourth. Time we have stayed at the queens , never been any problems will be returning again why it is only rated 2star I will never know, location superb , thank you

Reviewed by
j blackburn

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again in this hotel
I've stayed in york several times and this is the worst experience in any hotel I've ever stayed in , upon arrival I opened the door to be greeted with a smell of a dirty mop in the bathroom when I went in it was that bad I had to spray perfume all around , there was mould in the bath dirt in the corner of the bathroom , and the bed mattress looked like it had been there for 40 years it was disgusting , when we arrived we were told the dining area had been flooded so we had to go to a make shift area on the Sunday morning , they may has well saved the staff the hassle the breakfast was disgusting and burnt myself trying to pick up the serving tongs on the hot plate this hotel is not of the standard I would have expected of york absolutely disgusting

Reviewed by
E Sotheran

From Stanley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next