No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Queens Hotel

2Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Skeldergate, York, YO1 6DH
The Queens Hotel is situated in the heart of the vibrant City of York, on the banks of the River Ouse. All of York's famous attractions are within walking distance. The Hotel has limited car parking spaces, a space must be reserved direct with the Hotel prior to arrival if required to avoid disappointment; the cost per night is £10.00.

When the Hotel car park is fully booked an alternative is recommended approx 4 minutes from the Hotel. The cost per 24 hours at the NCP is £17.00 (rate subject to change). Our location on the riverside does occasionally cause issues with our car park when river levels are high, we endeavour to contact you prior to arrival to advise of alternative parking if you have pre-booked a space.

The Hotel has a Restaurant which serves breakfast and dinner daily, the cost for a Full English breakfast is £8.50 per adult and £6.00 per child. Dinner is charged individually with a main course dish priced from £9.00, a children’s menu is available. The Hotel bar is open from 4.30pm until 12 midnight and the lounge overlooks the River. (Please note that limited menus will be available during Christmas and New Year periods, restrictions will apply to meal times and availability).
The Queens Hotel does not accept single sex groups. Smoking bedrooms can be requested at the time of booking. Requests are subject to availability.
Picture of The Queens Hotel, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 157 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First class
This is the fourth. Time we have stayed at the queens , never been any problems will be returning again why it is only rated 2star I will never know, location superb , thank you

Reviewed by
j blackburn

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again in this hotel
I've stayed in york several times and this is the worst experience in any hotel I've ever stayed in , upon arrival I opened the door to be greeted with a smell of a dirty mop in the bathroom when I went in it was that bad I had to spray perfume all around , there was mould in the bath dirt in the corner of the bathroom , and the bed mattress looked like it had been there for 40 years it was disgusting , when we arrived we were told the dining area had been flooded so we had to go to a make shift area on the Sunday morning , they may has well saved the staff the hassle the breakfast was disgusting and burnt myself trying to pick up the serving tongs on the hot plate this hotel is not of the standard I would have expected of york absolutely disgusting

Reviewed by
E Sotheran

From Stanley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Queens hotel
The hotel was nice but the restaurant was flooded so breakfast had to held in the bar area which was very crowded.

Reviewed by
Joanne W

From Selby, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

omitted to clean room and a position next to the hot air riser did not help have told reception.
Unsatisfactory.the position of hotel was perfect

Reviewed by
r o

From , England
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice friendly hotel with great location to access York centre.

Reviewed by
Alan Holmes

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend break for york races
Great location right on the river and in the centre of york. so walking distance to everything. good value for money, nice standard room and breakfast good.

Reviewed by
h brown

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing location and staff were very helpful
Great hotel , we don't think this is 2 star. We have stayed in 4 star and not had the great experience we had here

Reviewed by
G Imrie

From Irvine, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay.
This hotel is in a brilliant location, we had a fantastic view of the river from our room, bedding immaculate, room clean & tidy, bath had a few scratches but nothing too bad. Also breakfast was very good, the only thing i would say is i prefer a pot of tea to your table rather than standing at a machine in a big que for your tea/ coffee, other than that fantastic, couldnt fault it.

Reviewed by
Vanessa N

From Louth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

York

Reviewed by
Richard H

From Clitheroe, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dont go for a peaceful relaxing time
I booked this to be near the Tour De France - superior river view room - yes the view was nice - superior room def not! Spacious yes, but for what we paid £330 for two nights bed and breakfast - Expensive!
As we didnt eat any other meals apart from the breakfast I cant comment, but going off the breakfasts Im not sure I would want to. No atmosphere in the breakfast room - all self service - even down to your tea, coffee and toast - No personal attention whatsoever. Deadly silent - no background music. Cups, glasses and mugs being filled up whilst diners eating and in such a small area this poses a problem for guests.
Relaxing - Def not - kept awake both nights till 5am due to the alcohol fuelled idiots visiting and leaving the pubs on the other side of the river. People shouting crossing the bridge at side of hotel. Cars underneath your window being driven away screeching at 3am! Ive since learnt that York has a reputation for hen and stag nights and unfortunately we became part of the effect of that!

Reviewed by
MARIA H

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next