No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Queens Hotel

2Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Skeldergate, York, YO1 6DH
The Queens Hotel is situated in the heart of the vibrant City of York, on the banks of the River Ouse. All of York's famous attractions are within walking distance. The Hotel has limited car parking spaces, a space must be reserved direct with the Hotel prior to arrival if required to avoid disappointment; the cost per night is £10.00.

When the Hotel car park is fully booked an alternative is recommended approx 4 minutes from the Hotel. The cost per 24 hours at the NCP is £17.00 (rate subject to change). Our location on the riverside does occasionally cause issues with our car park when river levels are high, we endeavour to contact you prior to arrival to advise of alternative parking if you have pre-booked a space.

The Hotel has a Restaurant which serves breakfast and dinner daily, the cost for a Full English breakfast is £8.50 per adult and £6.00 per child. Dinner is charged individually with a main course dish priced from £9.00, a children’s menu is available. The Hotel bar is open from 4.30pm until 12 midnight and the lounge overlooks the River. (Please note that limited menus will be available during Christmas and New Year periods, restrictions will apply to meal times and availability).
The Queens Hotel does not accept single sex groups. Smoking bedrooms can be requested at the time of booking. Requests are subject to availability.
Picture of The Queens Hotel, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 155 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay at Queen's Hotel
Wonderful views of river, friendly staff, close to everything

Reviewed by
Clive Stacey

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Location
This hotel is an excellent location, central to town centre, fantastic river view, room quite basic but adequate, breakfast was nice but did have to wait a little while for different items to be cooked but there was only one chef working and dining area was really busy. Hotel did not have any parking bays left so parked in NCP just around the corner, worked out cheaper than hotel in the end as hotel do give you a voucher for £6 off... No regrets staying here & would definitely stay again !!!

Reviewed by
M Sim

From Houghton le Spring, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disgusting
Staff were unwelcoming and had very poor customer service skills. The room was dirty with cups for tea that we had to wash and right next to a main street wich was very noisy on the night not to mention the foul language coming from the kitchen staff who were situated next to our room. All in all a very unpleasent stay and I would class it as a place you would wipe you feet on the way out due to the eroding carpet in the room. The food was fresh from the day before dry horrid. A dog wouldnt eat it if I'm being honest.

Reviewed by
stuart z

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I felt that the hotel is ready for modernising and that a lot of the furniture and decoration was looking dated and worn, in some areas scruffy.
I feel the price of the hotel is over priced.
we were unaware that we would have to pay for parking on top of our price, unfortunately due to flooding we ended up parking elsewhere at a fee of £18 totaling our cost to £113 per night. due to all of the above we did not feel we got value for money and would not stay at the queens again.

Reviewed by
L smith

From Holmfirth, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Queens Hotel
we have visited this hotel many times and each time we return we are never disapointed, near to the centre and all local facilities. The staff are very friendly and always willing to help, we only ate breakfast here but again we were not disapointed there was plenty of choice, even for me being gluten free nothing was too much trouble

Reviewed by
Diane Holt

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Queens Hotel
unfortunately are room was on the ground floor next to the cleaners store. and we was woken from 5-45 onwards with the movement of staff doing there works. Also the heating needs vastly improving

Reviewed by
M Harris

From Fleetwood, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

York escapes
Great location over looking river. Shop's, restaurants and bars all around. Car parking difficult to find, but directions given at hotel.

Reviewed by
Gary C

From Redcar, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely weekend in York
This was my first multi-day visit to York and at the last minuet found The Queens hotel on
late rooms.com, and in fact got the last room. Upon arrival, the reception staff were excellent, friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Although the hotel is fairly modern, it is a little tired in places but spotlessly clean. Our room could have benefited from a couple of comfortable chairs instead of the dining chairs provided. But yes, we could have gone and sat in the bar/lounge. We only ate breakfast at the Queens, and this was wonderful. Good food, good selection, and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The evening menu looked good, but we had other plans. We will try this next time. As with all the city centre hotels, parking is a problem (Queens has a limited number of spaces, but getting the last room, meant the car park was full.) The multi storey car park is only a short stroll away though.

Reviewed by
Malcolm W

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City Break
Hotel staff very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Room very clean with a large bathroom. Extremely well located to the city centre.

Reviewed by
J godbold

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous location for City and view..
stayed in York a number of times, and this was the best location by a long way. The standard of accomodation was excellent (river view) Bed was aslo very comfortable, both my wife and I slept wonderfully. All staff mostly good, oddly the reception staff were, for me, odd? No real interaction with guests? Front of house could be better, but in summary...Great,..Breakfast also good, no black pudding.....

Reviewed by
robert preston

From Erskine, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next