No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Queens Hotel

2Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Skeldergate, York, YO1 6DH
The Queens Hotel is situated in the heart of the vibrant City of York, on the banks of the River Ouse. All of York's famous attractions are within walking distance. The Hotel has limited car parking spaces, a space must be reserved direct with the Hotel prior to arrival if required to avoid disappointment; the cost per night is £10.00.

When the Hotel car park is fully booked an alternative is recommended approx 4 minutes from the Hotel. The cost per 24 hours at the NCP is £17.00 (rate subject to change). Our location on the riverside does occasionally cause issues with our car park when river levels are high, we endeavour to contact you prior to arrival to advise of alternative parking if you have pre-booked a space.

The Hotel has a Restaurant which serves breakfast and dinner daily, the cost for a Full English breakfast is £8.50 per adult and £6.00 per child. Dinner is charged individually with a main course dish priced from £9.00, a children’s menu is available. The Hotel bar is open from 4.30pm until 12 midnight and the lounge overlooks the River. (Please note that limited menus will be available during Christmas and New Year periods, restrictions will apply to meal times and availability).
The Queens Hotel does not accept single sex groups. Smoking bedrooms can be requested at the time of booking. Requests are subject to availability.
Picture of The Queens Hotel, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 159 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely weekend in York
This was my first multi-day visit to York and at the last minuet found The Queens hotel on
late rooms.com, and in fact got the last room. Upon arrival, the reception staff were excellent, friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Although the hotel is fairly modern, it is a little tired in places but spotlessly clean. Our room could have benefited from a couple of comfortable chairs instead of the dining chairs provided. But yes, we could have gone and sat in the bar/lounge. We only ate breakfast at the Queens, and this was wonderful. Good food, good selection, and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The evening menu looked good, but we had other plans. We will try this next time. As with all the city centre hotels, parking is a problem (Queens has a limited number of spaces, but getting the last room, meant the car park was full.) The multi storey car park is only a short stroll away though.

Reviewed by
Malcolm W

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City Break
Hotel staff very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Room very clean with a large bathroom. Extremely well located to the city centre.

Reviewed by
J godbold

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous location for City and view..
stayed in York a number of times, and this was the best location by a long way. The standard of accomodation was excellent (river view) Bed was aslo very comfortable, both my wife and I slept wonderfully. All staff mostly good, oddly the reception staff were, for me, odd? No real interaction with guests? Front of house could be better, but in summary...Great,..Breakfast also good, no black pudding.....

Reviewed by
robert preston

From Erskine, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Queens hotel
Excellent

Reviewed by
Sophie C

From Houghton le Spring, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovey hotel we had a very comfortable stay lovely room and the food was excellent would highly recommend it I will be booking again

Reviewed by
B Logan

From North Berwick, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, great room
Read a few negative comments about the place before I went so I actually expected it to be a bit dated but I cannot fault the rooms, modern enough, everything you need, shower hair dryer, TV, lovely bed and spacious! Fantastic location! Would certainly stay there again!

Reviewed by
John Colley

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reception area
The reception area is in real need of decoration and many of the store cupboards were left open on this floor level making the place look very untidy and down market.
It doesn't take a lot of effort to shut co board doors and keep a reception area tidy !!!!
Got a good deal on the room but would look for somewhere else to stay if we had to pay full price.
Breakfast room couldn't cope and people had to sit and wait for a table.

Reviewed by
D Southcott

From Shipley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal location for weekend break.

Reviewed by
J Cook

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Queens hotel
Third stay at queens. Lovely river view and comfy bed. Good breakfast and staff friendly. Lovely position for town access. Will definitely be staying at queens again.

Reviewed by
Kevin H

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautifully Traditional
In contrast to the stark generic hotels that are so common these days. Warm, inviting, with a traditional feel and views to die for . Straight over the bridge to the centre. Nowhere was more than 10 mins walk. Rooms were spotless, Food great and every member of staff was wonderful.

Reviewed by
E Tenniswood

From Otley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next