No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Farnley Tower

4Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
The Avenue , Durham, DH1 4DX
Farnley Tower provides stunning views over Durham Castle, the cathedral, and surrounding countryside. The hotel is a prominent Victorian mansion, renowned for its architecture and gardens.All comfortable rooms are individually designed and have TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Some rooms have beautiful views of the Castle Cathedral and countryside. Farnley Tower is just a short walk from the town centre.

With an elevated position and location, Farnley Tower Hotel and Restaurant offers the perfect place to relax and unwind amid the facilities of a modern city hotel. Our newly refurbished state of the art meetings / function room is ideal for those corporate business meetings or small wedding receptions (up to 30 persons).

Dine in the award-winning Michelin recommended Gourmet Spot restaurant and bar, specialising in innovative and imaginative cuisine. The menu features an array of local fresh produce and a huge choice of wines. Please note, the restaurant is only open "Tuesdays to Saturdays from 5.30pm till late.

Ample free car parking on site and free WiFi access is available.
Picture of Farnley Tower , Durham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 51 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

no room at the inn
fully booked up, no sign of my booking , not a great deal of concern to my situation tried to send my and my wife to a small pub. Not the same standard, tried other hotels fully booked.had to return early cost extra £80.40 on train.Phoned hotel since manager not available.really happy

Reviewed by
brian heatley

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a little above itself
A beautiful building, renovated with care and taste. The owners evidently believe they have sonething very special at Farnley tower. Unfortunately the logistics in running the hotel left a little to be desired. No towels in our room initially and a lack of basic breakfast essentials including sausages and butter. Some guests were served margarine. Such a shame as the waiting staff were charming and should not have had to deal with such glaring mistakes by the owner .

Reviewed by
m nicholas

From England
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely staff and hotel, great location.

Reviewed by
C D

From England
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Durham City Break
Hotel position 10 mins from City with lovely views. Breakfast good variety but bemused at the fact
Black Pepper not readily available. Informed special dietary requests can be phoned in advance! Family room spacious and very pleasant. Dust on top of headboard but very clean otherwise. New restaurant attached very pleasant decor and good customer care.

Reviewed by
L Webb

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great for a day out in Durham
interesting house. very quiet. room had good views over the town and a short walk downhill into the centre .

Reviewed by
martyn f

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good place to stay in Durham
I stayed here for one night with a colleague on our way up to Sunderland for one night. On arrival the man at the reception was very pleasant. My room was very large, very clean with a desk and another table with two chairs with a very nice view accross Durham. Wi-Fi seemed decent and easy enough to connect to. The Bed was enormous, with a decent bathroom and a large TV also, so I was mnore than happy. we didn't have our evening meal here, instead deciding to take a walk into Durham as its only 10 min walk down the hill. Breakfast was served promptly and cooked to order. I will consider staying here again,

Reviewed by
Ben T

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal location close to centre of Durham
We had a large room at the front of the building. I thought the room, service, breakfast and location were excellent. We did not think to book a table in the restaurant in advance for our Saturday night stay, so were not able to try it as it was fully booked. I would recommend this B&B to anyone wanting to stop in Durham.

Reviewed by
Christopher P

From Horsham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay

Reviewed by
Clarisa S

From USA
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

first class accommodation
Great place to stay with super views of durham. Excellent breakfast, would love to back

Reviewed by
Adrian W

From Bingley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice stay
We would recommend staying here, very clean good size room and lovely staff. Dining room lovely and breakfast was yummy xx

Reviewed by
alison lindsay

From chester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next