You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Farnley Tower

4

The Avenue, Durham, DH1 4DX

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (16)

75% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Nicola B

  • August 2016

Family room for 4 but a bit uncomfortable

We were pleased the hotel could offer is a family room for 4 with 2 teens but it was really a bit uncomfortable.

I can't believe a 4* hotel provides a 4ft 6 in bed and the sofa bed was very old with a hard bar down the middle of it. The breakfast was fine.

  • Marcel Keeble

  • July 2016

Lovely Hotel

Lovely old place so much better than the new style places, but it is a very old building and doing to much can ruin it the look of it...Stayed for one night in a double room all you need was in there TV tea and coffee on suite bathroom plenty of storage large comfy bed...Breakfast of which there was plenty included tea/coffee, cereal, juices, toast, fruit, yogurt and of course a lovely fry up...

  • Karl E

  • June 2016

Character hotel

I prefer to stay away from chain hotels and try to find the independent hotels and B&Bs, so was pleased to find Farnley Tower.

The hotel is in a fantastic building though the changes to make this a hotel are just starting to show some wear and tear, maybe this just adds to the ambiance. Sited close to the city centre and within walking distance as sated before walking back is up hill. Breakfast is acceptable and as expected. I do think they could, especially considering room rate, go the extra mile and use higher quality bacon/sausage/orange juice. This would transform breakfast into a true feast. All in all a decent stay.

  • Bill F

  • June 2016

Friendly staff and dogs were welcomed

We enjoyed our stay and the breakfast waitress remembered we wanted gluten free bread - these little things helped make our visit one we would do again.

You do need to be able to walk into the city up a hill to the hotel though.

  • M L

  • March 2016

Lovely stay

A really nice hotel

Beautiful food

Fabulous location

  • Carly S

  • December 2015

Lovely BnB

Farnley Tower was a lovely and very comfortable BnB from which to explore Durham.

Staff were friendly and relaxed, and the room was spacious, warm and inviting. Farnley Tower is located within walking distance of the train station and the city centre, making it very convenient for sightseeing. I thoroughly enjoyed my overnight stay.

  • John N

  • October 2015

Lovely hotel in quiet location with views over the city.

  • Dave King

  • August 2015

Nice Hotel not far from centre

Only downside to Hotel I felt, was having booked Superior room, I found nothing to make me feel the room was anything other than a standard room, view was a fire escape and a wall, so would have been fine as a standard room but nothing more, Breakfast and service was good though

  • C J

  • June 2015

Pleasant Hotel in Great Location

We secured a last-minute accommodation at the Farnley Towers, so much so that our confirmed on-line booking hadn't been received by the desk clerk when we arrived.

But he was very pleasant and helpful and assured us we would have a room for the night. The room was clean and comfortable and very quiet. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. Based on the other guests in the dining room for breakfast, this seems to be a hotel suitable for singles, couples and families.

  • A Powell

  • March 2015

My stay at Farnley Towers

Unfortunately I have been unable to give this hotel ratings above 4 because of wee things that just disappointed me.

Given that this has been rated as 4 stars I just expected the wee things that make your stay a bit more special. By this I mean, the bed, although made up every day it was only the duvet that was straightened up, the sheet on the mattress wasn't straightened up, the bed was on the verge of being uncomfortable (rolling into the middle) bit of a sore back before the end of the week. The toilet wasn't cleaned for the duration of our stay neither was the towels changed they were put back on the towel rail. Tea and coffee wasn't replaced couple of times, room wan't . Room was hovered once during our stay. The dining room decorated in white (all white) chairs were upholstered in white which was grubby some chairs looking shabby. I spilt some egg yolk on the table cover on the first morning , table cover wasn't change until the day we were leaving. Its not a complaint but by the end of the week it was just these wee things that made me think is this really 4 star accommodation, would I go back???. Could the owners make just a wee bit more of an effort