Reviews - Farnley Tower


The Avenue, Durham, DH1 4DX

Price From 177.22 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (26)

85% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • John N

  • October 2015

Lovely hotel in quiet location with views over the city.

  • Dave King

  • August 2015

Nice Hotel not far from centre

Only downside to Hotel I felt, was having booked Superior room, I found nothing to make me feel the room was anything other than a standard room, view was a fire escape and a wall, so would have been fine as a standard room but nothing more, Breakfast and service was good though

  • C J

  • June 2015

Pleasant Hotel in Great Location

We secured a last-minute accommodation at the Farnley Towers, so much so that our confirmed on-line booking hadn't been received by the desk clerk when we arrived.

But he was very pleasant and helpful and assured us we would have a room for the night. The room was clean and comfortable and very quiet. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. Based on the other guests in the dining room for breakfast, this seems to be a hotel suitable for singles, couples and families.

  • A Powell

  • March 2015

My stay at Farnley Towers

Unfortunately I have been unable to give this hotel ratings above 4 because of wee things that just disappointed me.

Given that this has been rated as 4 stars I just expected the wee things that make your stay a bit more special. By this I mean, the bed, although made up every day it was only the duvet that was straightened up, the sheet on the mattress wasn't straightened up, the bed was on the verge of being uncomfortable (rolling into the middle) bit of a sore back before the end of the week. The toilet wasn't cleaned for the duration of our stay neither was the towels changed they were put back on the towel rail. Tea and coffee wasn't replaced couple of times, room wan't . Room was hovered once during our stay. The dining room decorated in white (all white) chairs were upholstered in white which was grubby some chairs looking shabby. I spilt some egg yolk on the table cover on the first morning , table cover wasn't change until the day we were leaving. Its not a complaint but by the end of the week it was just these wee things that made me think is this really 4 star accommodation, would I go back???. Could the owners make just a wee bit more of an effort

  • William H

  • March 2015

Enjoyed our stay

We booked this at the last minute and we were pleased we did.

The hotel is a short walk out of Durham But that caused no problems. We arrived early and got checked in immediately. The staff were helpful and pleasant. The room was spotless and comfortable with plenty of natural light. It was a cold day but the room was lovely and warm - so warm in fact we needed to open the window. Breakfast was plentiful and good. Would recommend.

  • desmond bell

  • March 2015

Lovely hotel beautiful setting

Had a lovely stay at this hotel.Found it to be really clean, and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Would definitely stay here again when next in Durham.

  • Anthony I

  • February 2015

Durham break

Very good hotel with friendly helpful staff and good sized rooms with comfy beds.

Breakfast was very nice with the 'full english' not swimming in grease. Our three year old loved it and wants to go back.

  • brian heatley

  • November 2014

no room at the inn

fully booked up, no sign of my booking , not a great deal of concern to my situation tried to send my and my wife to a small pub.

Not the same standard, tried other hotels fully booked.had to return early cost extra £80.40 on train.Phoned hotel since manager not available.really happy

  • m nicholas

  • October 2014

a little above itself

A beautiful building, renovated with care and taste.

The owners evidently believe they have sonething very special at Farnley tower. Unfortunately the logistics in running the hotel left a little to be desired. No towels in our room initially and a lack of basic breakfast essentials including sausages and butter. Some guests were served margarine. Such a shame as the waiting staff were charming and should not have had to deal with such glaring mistakes by the owner .

  • Chris G

  • October 2014

Mostly good

We were happy with the room , and the interesting building, and didn't mind too much the walk as it's good exercise and we know Durham's accommodation options are sparse.

There's also a cute cat who wanders around and is quite approachable. Only niggles were no biscuits in the room, no background music in restaurant, and a Daily Mail greeting us in reception in the morning - would like to see/read a less hateful rag to start our day...