Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > North West England > Merseyside > Sefton > Southport Hotels > Royal Clifton Hotel - A Best Western Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Clifton Hotel - A Best Western Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1-9 Promenade , Southport, PR8 1RB

Simply The Guest Awards Winner

Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Best Western Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa in Southport is noted for its exceptional range of facilities and excellent standards of service. Over recent years it has been thoughtfully refurbished to offer you the comfort you expect in the best location for a hotel in Southport. We have a choice of bedrooms including spacious family rooms and suites. Also the hotel boasts superb health club & spa facilities in Southport and a wide range of beauty and health treatments.
Southport offers both leisure and business visitors a superb town with excellent transport links, fine shopping and leisure activities and unbeatable golf courses in Southport for players of all abilities including Britain's 3 foremost Royal Golf Courses

A great choice of bedroom accommodation options available at our Southport hotel ensures we are able to meet almost any accommodation requirements and expectations. We offer the best Southport hotel choice of Classic and Promenade views, double and twin rooms. In addition we offer a choice of suites, Bridal suites and mini suites. Also a variety of family rooms with 2, 3 or even 4 extra beds often located in a separate room.
Also have rooms with outside patio's, some of which are special needs friendly

Spectacular views including the Kings Gardens, Beach and North West Coast, and Southport townscape.
Included in all rooms are a hospitality tray, trouser press, telephone, internet and multi channel TV facilities
Room service menu choice. Extras including, flowers, baskets of fruits, chocolates, champagne and others are also available when making your booking.

Best Western Royal Clifton Hotel is the premier venue for weddings in Southport with a choice of 11 function suites accommodating up to 300, and some enjoying outdoor patios for receptions and Al Fresco entertaining.

It is also renowned for conferences in Southport, the first class facilities and services are able to accommodate any conference from 2 - 250 delegates in Southport.
Picture of Royal Clifton Hotel - A Best Western Hotel, Southport at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 166 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice but no sleep as bed rock hard woke up drained
Room 107 was nice accept for rock hard bed and room very small . pool was lovely staff were nice no night life in hotel bars so had to go to pubs. only complaint was our bed it was rock hard so not a good sleep at all woke up drained and had to go home to bed

Reviewed by
Jane Hornsby

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clifton Hotel
The bed and bedding was clean the room was comfortable but because of the large size of the room it could be cold. There were extensive cobwebs on the light fittings.
The food in the restaurant was very good but the service was terrible , this was because of lack of communication between the staff and lack of training.

Reviewed by
M Kelly

From Barrow in Furness, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
A lovely old fashioned hotel - excellent facilities and just 5mins walk from the town. Would recommend it !

Reviewed by
a lloyd

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
enjoyed excellent accommodation, pleasant and efficient staff. Many thanks and will return again soon. Have no hesitation to highly recommend this hotel for either business or pleasure or other local visits to friends/family.

Reviewed by
G Quaile

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic stay. Kind and helpful staff and the food was out of this world.

Reviewed by
L Williams

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dissappointment
Having lived in Southport 37 years ago, it was supposed to be a trip down memory lane. Arrived 7pm, and on entering the room, I found the light switch to be dirty. I took a quick look around the room, being an en-suite, I thought it would do. We booked a table in the restaurant, the steak meal, whilst waiting, we ordered drinks. The staff, we thought, seemed a little on edge. To our right, the people on the table had asked for bread rolls but we're told they were not available. A waitress came and delivered some cut bread, then a few minutes later a couple of rolls. The couple to our left then had the same problem, we we not even asked if rolls were required. Our dinners turned up, and we asked for some condiments. Whilst we waited, I told my wife to start, but she then told me that there was hair on her plate. I took a look at my dinner and there on top of the onion rings was what looked like a big piece of fluff. I brought this to the attention of the waitress, to which she apologised, and took the dinners back to the kitchen. We could overhear another couple having some sort of problem, and at this point, we decided we would eat elsewhere. So we spoke to the manager who apologised and said it should not have happened. we spoke to the lady behind the reception and she apologised. The hotel manager overheard our experience and apologised, then took note of our room number. We went and ate elsewhere. On return, we found our beds quite uncomfortable, so what was supposed to be a nice little break turned out not to be so. We had paid for breakfast and we ate a little, well I did. My wife had been put off by the whole affair and wanted to leave. We handed in the key and the staff said goodbye. Never again at this hotel.

Reviewed by
K Griffin

From Braintree, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
During our short stay we encounterd superb service, a exceptionally decorated festive entrance and customer service that is second to none. We will definitely be booking again soon

Reviewed by
A Harrison

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not what i expected
not as good as a shearings hotel. always thought best western was the best. what a let down. lift only to 2nd floor. we was on third, had to walk down long corridor then up 2 flights of stairs and when your 73 not good. toilet wouldnt flush till you did it 3 or 4 times. carpet in room disgusting and to top it all tried to charge me for phone calls i hadnt made and workers next door so doors slaming till early hours back to shearings we go

Reviewed by
a webb

From Normanton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
from start to finish so enjoyable .lovely seaview room friendly staff enjoyable meals .good value . will definately be coming again

Reviewed by
J Lott

From Nelson, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

everything about our stay was good .The only thing we could fault was the length of time you stood in the lift waiting for it to set off {thought it was broke first time ] lol

Reviewed by
paul d

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next