No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Hotel St Pierre

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
733 Barnsley Road, Wakefield, WF2 6QG
Within easy reach of Wakefield, BEST WESTERN Hotel St. Pierre is ideally situated in the tranquil and picturesque surroundings of Newmillerdam. Stylish accommodation takes care of the relaxing nights' sleep, which will be all the more welcome after a productive day in our conference and banqueting rooms! Fine dining (from the Table d'hote menu) is served in Pierre's Restaurant and International cuisines can be enjoyed in our relaxed bar lounge. All this, just a short drive from junction 39 of the M1 and Wakefield Centre! Back to the bedrooms... along with double and twin rooms we also offer a number of individually designed luxury suites, including four posters for extra special occasions. But whether you're staying on a business trip, on a relaxing retreat or just on a whim, our surroundings will help you relax and unwind in the peaceful extreme.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Hotel St Pierre, Wakefield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Attended a wedding.
Myself and my husband attended a wedding. It was our first visit and stay at the hotel. The wedding was wonderful as it was a family wedding, although there were a few issues. First, there was never enough bar staff, who also seemed young and inexperienced. I did ask at one point and was told, one of the staff had gone for extra glasses, but when he returned, he was empty handed. There were also 2 wedding events going on in the hotel, and we had to share the same bar. At some point, did seemed very unpersonalised to us. On the evening before the wedding day, the staff started to cut the wedding cake without asking. The bride and groom had not even cut the cake yet, nor had photographs with it. As for the room, we were very pleased to see there was a bath, as people who only have a shower at home, we enjoy staying in hotel were there is a bath and were both looking forward to having one in the morning. Unfortunately when we came to have one, we found the water was cold. When we contacted the desk, they said someone would come, which they did. However, it was explained by the staff that the hotel was full and all the water had already been used. Were told to wait for it to warm up, or we could have use of another room, though, the toilet was out of use waiting to be fixed, it had a working shower. We opted to wait, but to our disappointment, the water never warmed up, which we found very unacceptable and were very disappointed. So, will we stay here again? Probably not.

Reviewed by
nicola b

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Hotel with good access to M1 and M62.
I like this hotel. It is a bit 70's decor but nice enough. I find the restaurant a bit dark. Strange it has no windows. Food is acceptable but not noteworthy. A business stay is fine. Would I stay for recreation - probably not.

Reviewed by
Philip COZENS

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

never again!
I booked this hotel 3 weeks prior to my check in date all confirmed via late rooms and money taken the same day. At 9pm the night before my check in I was called to say they had over booked the hotel and were going to cancel my room. As anyone would I did not take kindly too been told this and said it was not good enough. The hotel kept trying to blame late rooms for the error however I have used late rooms for about 10 years and never had a problem. After a long argument on the phone they agreed to find me a hotel and pay the difference as this seemed to be the only option I accepted. To be fair to the receptionist she booked me a premier inn and agreed that Best western would pay the difference. However at 11.30 am on the day I was due to check in I was called again to say they had “managed to get me in to a room” at Best Western a “free upgrade” if this room was available why was I not just moved in to it straight away? The room its self was fine however if I had paid for the upgrade I would not of been happy it was just a standard room nothing upgraded at all. I feel very disappointed with the service from the hotel but I do need to stress the girl who took the brunt of my disapproval tried to sort out the problems to the best of her abilities and it was not her fault at all. The hotel was cheap and cheerful and adequate for an over night stay after attending a wedding.

Reviewed by
james m

From York, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Hotel - Excellent standard for the money
I have stayed at the St. Pierre a few times and it is always reliably good. Restaurant food is not quite the standard I expect, but is accetable. staff are very courteous and helpful.

Reviewed by
Philip COZENS

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over Night Stop
Stayed here whilst in the area on business so arrived late and left early, therefore cannot comment on food quality. No problems at check in, staff pleasant and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable. Unfortunately I was on the ground floor and unusually for a Tuesday night there was a wedding reception in full swing, so there was a fair bit of noise and activity outside my room into the early hours.

Reviewed by
Chris L

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Hotel with good access to M1 and M62.
I like this hotel but it wasn't quite as good this time around. The staff seemed a bit surly and not as welcoming as normal. The restaurant was a bit of a disappointment. Dinner in the evening was interupted by the tone of mobile phones and people taking calls while in the restaurant. Most of the diners at breakfast were workmen wearing a variety of clothes from vests and shorts to dirty T-shirts and jeans. Not what I expect to greet me when I come down to eat, and not a standard I would expect at a Best Western Hotel.

Reviewed by
Philip COZENS

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful customer service, best Western, only at its best when you leave.
Understaffed at check in meant delays, room poor, carpet stained, no bottled water in room. Residents had to plead with bar staff to get a drink after returning from a function late in the evening. The Best part about The Best Western hotel is leaving it and seeing it in your rear view mirror. Truly awful. Poor hotel in a beautiful area .... I would call it a blot on the landscape. Major Improvements needed

Reviewed by
j Hutchins

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best Avoided In My Opinion
Arrived just after 23.30, having indicated as such when booking on-line (which states 24 hour reception). Entrance door wide open but no-one on reception. Waiting around for a minute or two, a gentlemen finally peered around a door with a look of confusion on his face. I showed my booking reference, to which he said his computer system was down and he had no way of knowing what room I was booked into. After a 3 hour drive and an arrival close to midnight this was not the welcome I was looking for. Thankfully another colleague soon arrived, and was able to identify an available room.
On departure the system was still not available. I was informed that I would be charged £100 (my room rate was £65), and that once up and running again I would be refunded the difference and a copy of the invoice emailed. I still haven't heard anything and am now contacting the hotel to see what's happening.
The room itself was clean, but the décor dated. Hotel was quiet and bed comfortable so no complaints there. However I will certainly be avoiding this hotel in the future.

Reviewed by
L James

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel great customer service ideal location!
Really enjoyed stay! Service was good! Staff friendly!

Reviewed by
S Simpson

From Dewsbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Hotel
Nice Hotel, nice staff, clean room, good food

Reviewed by
Richard S

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next