No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Windsor Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
41-43 South Parade, Whitley Bay, NE26 2RF
The Windsor Hotel is centrally located on South Parade, a 2 minute walk from the beach and the town centre. The Hotel has 69 bedrooms, all of which are equipped with facilities you would expect of modern 3-star accommodation. The Hotel has a secure private car park for guests. Bazil Brasserie is available to guests for breakfast and evening meals. Bazil has an extensive menu and daily specials offering quality international dishes and fine wines. Bazil has acquired a prestigious Dining Award from the RAC and is fast gaining a reputation as the finest place to eat in the region.

Please note that no group bookings are accepted over two rooms.
Picture of Windsor Hotel, Whitley Bay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 87 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Old Days
Before I retired 4years ago, the Windsor was the hotel to stay in whilst in the area, however the memories I have of it were sadly dashed by this stay, the place looked tired, the hotel sign had letters missing, the foyer smelled of cooked food, the receptionist did just enough to welcome us, the lift was dirty, and our room was in need of refurbing especially the bathroom, in fairness the bed was comfy and the bedding clean.

Reviewed by
Janet W

From Mansfield , UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The windsor hotel whitley bay
The rooms in this hotel are very very dated, in desperate need of decorating, the food was disgusting we were charged £54 for a room for one night that didn't include breakfast, then charged £17 for 2 breakfast we ordered, the bacon and sausages were burnt to a crisp and the black pudding was like hockey puck! do not stay in this hotel or you will be disappointed!

Reviewed by
r Smith

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

on strip no sleep ok if want night on tiles if not dont expect to sleep

Reviewed by
k simpson

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good sized room with super bathroom, clean and tidy.
Fitted sheets might have been good, recommend.

Reviewed by
P Moores

From Nottingham, England
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

this hotel was and is disgraceful
The hotel needs updating, cleaning and a manager that is customer focused. We stayed in a room for a night and got no sleep due to the nightclub right in front of the hotel. When we complained they were not interested and we left but didnt stay our 2nd night. Asked for a refund and was declined and told to send an email to mgr. He still hasnt responded. Do not stay here its an absolute mess, carpets full of holes, tired and needs totally updating. Not even a 2 star. Needs reassessing.

Reviewed by
b mottram

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Suitable hotel but disappointing service.
The hotel was suitable for the price paid, however, only having a tea bag, a sachet of coffee and enough milk for two drinks per person is not sufficient considering booking in is from 1pm and booking out is 11am the next morning. Breakfast was a big disappointment as it was dry and looked liked it had been pre-cooked and heated when ordered. The grilled tomato was too difficult to cut! It was so shameful to see the bin in the restaurant was falling to bits and also the tubs in which the cereal is stored were ill fitted and caused spillage. If these issues were rectified it would be a good place to stay.

Reviewed by
S Myles-Wilson

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable and spacious
The hotel reception was very pleasant and the room we stayed in was very spacious. I found it comfortable and clean, although it has more of a B&B feel than a hotel. A continental breakfast was included and the staff very helpful. Parking was very easy and it is very close to the seafront
Overall, I am very satisfied with the choice of hotel.

Reviewed by
Nick W

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the hotel was very good and clean we had a large room at the very far end of the hotel no wifi anoye
Apart from the wifi not working it was fine.

Reviewed by
P Cottam

From Accrington, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All the employees at the Windsor were really friendly and made myself and my daughter feel really welcome. It's an excellent place to stay if you have young children. My only negative point is that our room wasn't clean. But as soon as staff were made aware it was cleaned immediately although I feel they should have noticed the mess before putting someone in the room.

Reviewed by
Donna G

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel is in a great spot near to the waterfront. It is quite in need of a makeover. The staff are very friendly and attempt to be accommodating. The 1st room we were assigned was horrible.......huge stains all over the carpet, toilet hard to flush and phone not working. The second room was better and had a large newish bathroom. The noise from the street was horrible.....it was like Mardi Gras from 1am to 4am........as well as noise in the hallway from people returning from the bars.....not a chance of trying to get any sleep. Breakfast would have been great if it wasn't swimming in grease.

Reviewed by
Vivian C

From Surrey, Canada
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next