No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Nent Hall Country House

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Nenthall , Alston, CA9 3LQ
Nent Hall is located in an area of outstanding natural beauty and offers the perfect location for a romantic getaway or as a base for exploring this beautiful area of Cumbria. Facilities include free WI-FI, Free DVD hire, local and national telephone calls, Restaurant and Bar. All rooms are en-suite with bath and shower.
Picture of Nent Hall Country House, Alston at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 91 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for family break
Really enjoyable stay for weekend break with the family over the New Year period. Staff were friendly, family room was large enough and comfortable, great that we could bring our dog.
Whether you will enjoy a stay here depends on what you are expecting. If you are looking for a good value stay, pub-type food by a log fire and away-from-it all location this is the place for you. If you want a plush 'Handpicked Hotels'-style country house hotel you would be be disappointed. We will definitely be back again.

Reviewed by
Stephen Wheatcroft

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

was a lovely location,staff really worked hard to ensure that residents really had a good experience
They were grossly understaffed but really worked hard to ensure guests had a great time. The hall is beautiful in terrific countryside. Warm fires and a warm welcome were on offer. Not a great choice on the menu but totally acceptable considering we visited between Christmas and new year.

Reviewed by
Pamela C

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great find
We had a great stay. Hotel was very nice, food was great and the staff where lovely and very helpful. Will definitely be returning!

Reviewed by
m alder

From Boston, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nent Hall Country House
Perfect place to stay and perfect rooms excellent service from staff all round good place to stay !

Reviewed by
S Morris

From Choppington, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a bir of r&r
We have used this hotel before, last time we had a great room. This we got a standard room, but still nice. May use it in the future.

Reviewed by
M Callaghan

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely relaxing stay
We had a lovely stay at Nent Hall. The room was olde worlde charm, with a lovely comfortable four poster bed and huge bathroom. The food in the bar was great. A limited menu but very good. Breakfast was delicious and the owners really friendly! Would highly recommend for a getaway.

Reviewed by
Sarah H

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb Autumn Break
Alston, is without doubt a desolate town, a stunningly beautiful 'time warp' place where life goes on as it has for generations, at a pace that leaves humanity unhurried. Perhaps it is these factors that have given folk in these parts such a kind and welcoming disposition. Nent Hall Hotel is a 40 minute walk away, via a beautiful riverside walk if you have time. It is an archetypal country house hotel, full of Edwardian charm, perfect for a relaxing break. Some of us, couldn't resist the stunning countryside on the doorstep and ventured out into the barely tamed landscape, whilst others cosseted by the warmth and tranquility of the place fell into dreamy reverie in stately Drawing Rooms. The friendliness of all the staff and management at this hotel, is commendable. This area and in particular Nent Hall can best be summed up as simply charming!

Reviewed by
robert m

From Shipley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolute Gem
We had a wonderful overnight stay. The managers Zoe and Andrew cannot do enough to help. We had a small problem with hot water and they immediately offered to carry up buckets of hot water during dinner so I could indulge in a soak! Customer service at its best! We thanked them but said we would leave it as they assured us it would be back on soon - sure enough it was. Thank you for a very relaxing stay, fabulous food, cosy fire and a wonderful bedroom. Just what the doctor ordered. We will be back.

Reviewed by
Jacqueline P

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stop for 2C2 riders
We had a very warm welcome when we arrived after a wet day on our bikes. The bar food was great and well priced. The staff were very friendly and they even got up and gave us breakfast an hour earlier than the advertised time so we could get on our way. Recommended.

Reviewed by
Andrew S

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

staff very welcoming room very clean and good value for money food was lovely and drinks were good in price lovely friendly and cosy hotel would highly recomend we will be back again

Reviewed by
k macdonald

From Bedlington, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next