No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lewtrenchard Manor

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Lewdown, , , Nr. Okehampton, EX 20 4PN
Lewtrenchard-Member of Von Essen Hotels a private collection of individual country houses in the UK, Scotland and France-Runner-up Room for Romance Hotel of the Year award 2005. A Jacobean Manor tucked away in its own secret valley. Hidden away in a wooded hollow just beneath the wild tors of Dartmoor, Lewtrenchard is a house virtually untouched by time. The original manor was mentioned in the Domesday Book, but todays impressive Jacobean dwelling, set in its own shrub filled gardens and surrounded by peaceful parkland, dates from the early 1600 s. Over the years it was home to a series of colourful characters; James Gould, one the earliest adventurers to trade on the Chinese mainland, Edward Gould the compulsive gambler and suspected murderer, and the Reverend Sabine Baring Gould, celebrated hymn writer and novelist who composed Onward Christian Soldiers at the desk that still stands in the front hall. This house, steeped in history, is large enough to be imposing, yet not so grand as to be unwelcoming. Stepping over the ancient slate floor in the impressive hallway one immediately feels very much at home.
Picture of Lewtrenchard Manor, Nr. Okehampton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A most enjoyable stay, very difficult to find any fault, would like to see a more rounded daily
a la carte style menu,

Reviewed by
John Westley

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
A wondeful experience all round. We thoroughly recommend it.

Reviewed by
Tim D

From Okehampton, England
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

owner & staff were lovely
Unfortunately they were meant to get back to me regarding a sports therapy massage as a surprise for husbands' 50th-assumed all was well until day of arrival! They did manage to find someone last minute who was excellent but it was a bit frantic and had to be the day before his birthday hence not a surprise on the day!!! Also they said they would make it special for arrival/breakfast but must have forgot- just before we finished breakfast a very small bun with a candle was brought out-the girl must have been VERY embarrassed!

Reviewed by
m russell

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Historical elegance set in pastoral charm, not to be missed.
Staying at Lewtrenchard Manor was a delightful experience. The staff were extremely warm and polite, the manager in particular took the time to ensure our stay was enjoyable; he also proved to be very informative regarding the history of the Manor. Our room was superb and looked out across the courtyard and beautiful grounds in which the buildings are set. Unfortunately my wife and I had eaten shortly prior to our arrival and we regretted not having a meal at the hotel as the menu looked very good. A sound breakfast completed our stay; would definitely return here and fully recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
j sankey

From BARNSTAPLE, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little bit of heaven
This was a wonderful second honemoon for us, having had our honeymoon here 35 years ago.
Satisfaction in every way.

Reviewed by
Peter Taylor

From Torquay, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel
We really enjoyed our stay here. We were made to feel welcome and the dinner was lovely with some really nice touches. The surroundings are beautiful and we would definitely recommend the hotel for a relaxing, 'get away from it all' break.

Reviewed by
A Payne

From New Malden, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel team were great, friendly and knowledgeable. Room was a disappointment, tired and bed covers worn. We didn't get the upgrade that was included in our booking with laterooms which added to the disappointment regarding the room itself. Had we had a better room I would have made more use of the hotel restaurant etc and lingered longer savouring the lovely surroundings and location.

Reviewed by
Joanna M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sublime
The Lewtrenchard Manor is pure luxury coupled with a journey back to an era when standards really mattered: unlike the modern and slavish pursuit of high internet star ratings at the lowest possible cost.
I cannot fault this hotel. Actually it is more of a retreat than an hotel. The owners maintain the place to a scrupulously high standard, despite the inevitable ravages of several centuries' worth of wear and tear. The surroundings are peaceful and a good night's sleep is as good as guaranteed.
The chef is a perfectionist. I had the pleasure of dining in one of Heston Blumenthal's restaurants last Christmas and the Lewtrenchard Chef(s) come a close second: the tomato consommé is divine! Breakfast is plentiful and prepared with every bit as much TLC as the dinner. My wife and I did not manage to try the Purple Carrot dining experience but I can think of no better reason to return to Lewtrenchard Manor to rectify that particular omission before very much longer.
Simply Sublime!

Reviewed by
Peter Lawton

From WINDSOR, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The best Yet
Excellent hotel very quiet & peaceful. We only had the breakfast wow!!

Reviewed by
w ratcliffe

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Jacobean Gem with Excellent Dining
We stayed in St Gertrude a wood-paneled suite. Lovely, private and very romantic.
All facilities good save the shower above the bath which lacked any power. Bath and hand held shower head fine though.
All staff extremely helpful and the dinner was remarkably good.
A gem we will return to.

Reviewed by
G Martin

From Buckingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next