No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sandbanks Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
15 Banks Road , Sandbanks , Poole, BH13 7PS
The Sandbanks is the perfect choice, whether you simply want a relaxing break, need to entertain a family, want a quiet business meeting or plan a full-on activity holiday.
For families, the major attraction is perhaps the sandy beach with its Blue Flag for cleanliness, with RNLI lifeguards on duty in the summer season. There’s also the 10m heated indoor swimming pool and the organised entertainment programme that helps to keep children occupied (and gives the adults time to enjoy themselves too).
If rest and relaxation is your aim, you may be happy just sitting and wandering along t he beach.
For Watersports, our Watersports Academy is on the doorstep. Here you may take courses or just hire the equipment you need. You can choose from a wide range of activities, including windsurfing, kite surfing, wakeboarding, power boating, dinghy sailing, diving, kayaking and bike riding (and we have tow-alongs, trailers and mini-bikes for children). If you wish to venture further afield, you can also charter our 44’ sailing catamaran, or one of our ribs.
For a memorable event, or celebration, the combination of perfect location, excellent service and outstanding value is hard to beat.
Picture of Sandbanks Hotel, Poole at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our one night stay
We only stayed one night as we had a Condor booking early following morning.
The hotel was lovely our room was really nice very SPACIOUS....
My only comment would be that we arrive really late around 9pm and we were not able to get any hot food although we did have room service and sandwiches were available.
Overall our short stay was good and we would recommend it and will definately stay again and this time arrive earlier to take in the location as I'm am sure by daylight the views are stunning.

Reviewed by
debra s

From Newbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room with a view...quite some view
Had a fantastic short break, booked a deluxe room for very reasonable money and it was huge with breathtaking views across the bay. Room was very clean and in good order. Staff were very helpful, breakfast very good but didnt eat there in the evenings. Nice pool. Great access to the beach and Poole harbour for watersports, we took kayaks and enjoyed ourselves no end.

Reviewed by
richard t

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value when booked with late rooms
Great room, nice size, balcony, posh toilet paper! Niggles - 'harbour view' - no there was a tree blocking the view into the harbour, which was very frustrating. Outside bar closed a bit early. Memory foam mattress comfortable but quite hot to sleep on. Food, not great. breakfast was excellent. Atmosphere was nice. Position was fantastic.

Reviewed by
Melanie L

From Jersey, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good
Brilliant place

Reviewed by
Timothy Kemp

From Tunbridge Wells, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On the whole not a bad hotel , good position
The windows in our bedroom could have done with a good clean on the outside
and reception staff at the hotel could have been a lot more helpful i.e. The Duty Manager.

Reviewed by
Richard C

From Slough, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bad Booking Experience
I booked a twin room for me and my teenage daughter as she was looking at Bournemouth Uni to study. The receptionist gave me a rather strange look and gave me the key. On entering into our room we found that they'd given us a double bed. I went down and explained that I wasn't going to share a bed with my daughter - they debated whether I'd booked single beds when I had online confirmation. Eventually they agreed to switch my room to include twin beds, which we had to wait for it to be cleaned. The room was cold, taps were difficult to turn (as they dripped constantly) and they had a put a camp bed in the corner which my daughter slept on for the night. Also we had the joys of screaming children next door for half the night so not a great stay. I found that the hotel was a bit shabby where corridor carpets were stained. The food was good in the morning and they did sort out their mistakes politely however.

Reviewed by
Ian G

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Luxury mini break
Check in was easy and the staff pleasant, we liked the room and loved the very big deep bath. Our view was lovely, the bed was also comfortable. Breakfast was excellent but very busy. I accidentally left a phone charger there, and this caused me no end if problems to get this back, in the end it was sent to me, it wasn't mine but one very similar, unfortunately this one was faulty.

Reviewed by
nicola arnold

From poole, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel, nice staff excellent facilities!
Stayed at sandbanks hotel over my birthday weekend with my partner. Hotel was really excellent the staff were friendly and attentive at reception and over dinner. We particularly enjoyed the swimming pool facility which was surprisingly not well advertised but good for us as had a 'private pool' twice over two days! Breakfast was fantastic lots of options and well made, tasty food... at checkout time genuinely did not want to leave. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Reviewed by
c hart

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing location, average room
A really amazing location, the terrace bar is spectacular however the single rooms was a bit small and tired.

Reviewed by
Peter O

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location
Great location, nice staff, nice breakfast. The hotel is quite tired and in need of a refurb, but it's worth staying for the fab location.

Reviewed by
P Griffin

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next