Reviews - Gatwick White House

2

52 Church Road Near Gatwick Airport, Surrey, HORLEY, RH6 7EX

Price From 80.03 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (58)

66% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Adam G

  • December 2015

Short Stay - Bad Experience...

Stayed for 2 nights whilst attending a family funeral in the area.

Paid for the English Breakfast but gave it a miss on the second day - coffee decanter was cold, meal was cold/reheated and bacon was inedible. Another family member is registered disabled with a disability vehicle. Did not stop the staff from charging £12 for 2 days parking in the hotel forecourt. Returned on the first day to find a laminated note in my room, accusing me of smoking and informing me that a £5 levy would be applied. I complained and wrote up my experience in their visitors book. Would not return if you paid me to.

  • robert m

  • December 2015

value for money

The general feel of the place was old and need of a very big update.

Having said that the room was OK and the bathroom had just been updated and was to a high standard. The hotel appeared to be family run (three people) and would benefit from additional staff.

The bar and dining areas did not give you a warm and inviting feeling and with a pub not far away it would be a good idea to update these areas to encourage people to stay and have a drink. The breakfast was good with a buffet area to get fruit juices and cereals and a cooked breakfast to order brought to your table. I thought that value for money was excellent especially with the location near an airport. Would I stay there again Yes I would and look forward to seeing if it had improved. Good luck to the owners

  • Andrew Chapman

  • November 2015

Airport stayover before early flight

Excellent value and pleasant staff.

  • Marina F

  • October 2015

Not bad for a last minute find near the airport - and not in the flight path!

Super basic (looks better in the pictures).

Nothing to complain about, esp if you've got an early morning flight - it's about a 12-minute walk to Horley station, which makes for cheap transit to Gatwick

  • J Grange

  • October 2015

Basic but clean

Car parking a nightmare

  • L West

  • September 2015

Surprising

The hotel itself, the room everything nice good value for money however the staff should do with a bit of an attitude adjustment.

We're not exactly very welcoming and the staff member serving breakfast the following morning was a little rude.

  • carlos e

  • July 2015

Gatwick White House

Shame about the bit when you arrive : "6 quid extra for parking", more money for the Net, more money for breakfast - very annoying...why not just lump it all in together like most hotels and BnBs....

  • Cecile-Marie Arnaud

  • July 2015

Gatwick White House

Gatwick White House.

  • david stanhope

  • June 2015

A one stay at the White House Hotel, Horley

Very comfortable bed (memory foam) very clean room, all facilities, tea making, hair dryer, bedside lights, ensuite.

All this for just £45 a night. But there is a charge of £6 to park there,as it is mainly used for Gatwick airport holiday makers who leave their cars there all week for a charge, But you can park down the road for free. This Hotel is excellent value, in this day and age. I will certainly recommend it to my friends.

  • J Mangru

  • April 2015

Stayed one night in April for proximity to Gatwick Airport the next morning

Very helpful staff.

I wanted to sit out in the garden in the early evening as it was lovely and sunny, however I noticed the table and chairs were completely covered in birds' mess (they need to clean this) but when I asked for a clean chair one of the staff kindly carried out a very comfortable chair from the dining room with a lovely smile:-) and when I asked another staff member if he possibly had some needle and cotton he very kindly obliged very quickly:-), the outside just needs a touch of paint but I think it's currently being renovated anyway as saw signs to state this and also builders around. Very pleasant in the garden (when they clean the table and chairs) with doves cooing in the background and gentle birdsong, very calming. Just one point about the bedroom I was in, although comfortable and a lovely shower, when I looked at the mirror behind the coffee tray and kettle, what I thought was possibly a lovely peacock design in the bottom right corner, upon touching it to see if it was in fact an engraving it actually wasn't but was a few cracks instead. (and no, it wasn't upon my looking in the mirror. :-) or :-( I pointed this out immediately to Reception who were aware of it anyway so I guess they will be repairing this quickly too - if not please be aware.