No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lismore Hotel

2Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
61 Oxford Road , Banbury, OX16 9AJ
Located off town centre quiet side of town close to M40 large restaurant menus including bar,steak, ala carte and TDH.Decking Seating with heater lamps for 50 people in front of hotel outside with pagoda swing. All rooms no smoking
We have started on a 15/09/2008 full refurishment of all our bedrooms and bathrooms total refit.Work time period per room about 3 weeks.
W e will have our main house bedrooms and bathrooms stunning.Some of the new 4 poster and double beds are stunning.
Our chalet rooms again total refurbishment all bathrooms to be changed to walk in showers.
Our top floor single rooms total refurbishment all bathrooms to become walk in showers bathrooms made smaller bedrooms made bigger.
All rooms will have flat screen tv with dvd and sky free view.
Work is in progress with little or no disruption to guests work hope to conclude in early January or before
A 5.8% charge will be added to all credit card transactions where the cardholder is not present (This does not apply to guests who present their credit cards at the hotel)
Picture of The Lismore Hotel, Banbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 40 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
63% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thankyou Paul and staff
I have to say that I was really well looked after, the evening meals where huge and really worth the money.
As a female travelling alone u can be quite isolated at times but I was made to feel really welcome by Paul and his staff

ManagementResponse

Hi, many thanks for your comments. I always show the staff the comments, they are pleased. You must go to bed with a full tummy in my hotel, we say fed and watered. Many thanks, Paul

Reviewed by
S Wilder

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room was the smallest I have ever stayed in

Reviewed by
P Cox

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A 4 poster bed bargain!
I was playing with my band at a nearby venue and booked via Laterooms. The 4 poster bed was what swung it for me as I was staying with my girlfriend. I also booked a room for my singer and his partner. When we arrived the man on reception was really friendly, very professional and likeable. I explained the other room was on my card and he delayed taking a charge direct on the 2nd room so my friend could pay the hotel (he certainly didn't have to do that). The room was perfect and I was very impressed with the bed. I didn't think I'd want to come back to Banbury but I would definitely stay at that hotel again.

Reviewed by
Tim E

From Thatcham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Work stopover
Excellent location, good parking and quiet room in the annex

Reviewed by
s easteal

From Leamington Spa, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel lismore
The hotel was very poor the room was very small and not the cleanest had one chair in room which was broken breakfast was overcooked I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone

ManagementResponse

Hello Mr Cross, Sorry the arm on the chair has lifted we have repaired it the room is at the quiet part of the hotel and this is the fist time this room has had a bad review, its not a massive room but I would not say small. As for the room being dirty the big windows never look clean as they are the same age as the property but apart from that I we through the room today and found nothing to suggest its dirty. As for Breakfast, its very rare get a complaint as we do up to 200 per week so all can say is sorry buy the morning you had b/fast we only had 6 all our other guests were early departure so I have asked the girls and they said no one complained. Sorry again. Many thanks.

Reviewed by
s cross

From manchester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

my 5th stay at the lismore
always use the Lismore now when staying in Banbury, paul the owner is a graet chap and always goes out of his way to accommodate us, rooms are always clean and warm with nice bathrooms.

Reviewed by
phill l

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Served a purpose for work

Reviewed by
John M

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rave all night!
If you want a night of deprived sleep this is the place for you. Restaurant was closed on arrival which we were not aware of. Having just completed a 400 mile journey disappointed but went out to try and find somewhere to eat. Arrived back about 10pm and had a drink at empty bar and retired 10.30pm. The music which was on a radio station started as we were nodding off.It was so loud it could have been in the room with us.By 3 am contemplated sleeping in the car! We were finally left in peace at 5.30am. Had to leave at 8.30am but no one to take our key at reception so had to leave it and our complaint at the desk.

Reviewed by
P Gackowski

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay somewhere else
Not impressed at all.

Reviewed by
Alison M

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Where was Alex Polizzi - Hotel Inspector?
Price of accommodation was OK at £65 not including breakfast for late booking, but original price of £140 would have been ridiculous! Main concern to us was that there was no interaction from the staff, especially at breakfast. They ignored the guests, avoiding eye contact, and breakfast was not good value. Only one fruit juice on offer, the only fruit available were apples, the coffee was stewed and the only toast was thin cut white bread. No-one was on the reception desk when we checked out, presumably to avoid having to cope with any adverse comments.

ManagementResponse

Firstly we do not or have ever had thin bread, only thick cut. We do not have a person full time on reception. Sorry the girls did not greet you they are normally very good, I have had a word. We have tried all sorts of fruit and apples seem the most popular and you missed all the other part of the buffet that we put out every morning.

Reviewed by
John C

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next