No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lismore Hotel

2Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
61 Oxford Road , Banbury, OX16 9AJ
Located off town centre quiet side of town close to M40 large restaurant menus including bar,steak, ala carte and TDH.Decking Seating with heater lamps for 50 people in front of hotel outside with pagoda swing. All rooms no smoking
We have started on a 15/09/2008 full refurishment of all our bedrooms and bathrooms total refit.Work time period per room about 3 weeks.
W e will have our main house bedrooms and bathrooms stunning.Some of the new 4 poster and double beds are stunning.
Our chalet rooms again total refurbishment all bathrooms to be changed to walk in showers.
Our top floor single rooms total refurbishment all bathrooms to become walk in showers bathrooms made smaller bedrooms made bigger.
All rooms will have flat screen tv with dvd and sky free view.
Work is in progress with little or no disruption to guests work hope to conclude in early January or before
A 5.8% charge will be added to all credit card transactions where the cardholder is not present (This does not apply to guests who present their credit cards at the hotel)
Picture of The Lismore Hotel, Banbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 42 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
62% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Moto GP weekend
Stayed here on a visit to Moto GP The chalet we were in was small but adequate for what we needed, The staff were all very pleasant and helpful, ideal location and very nice town.

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review.

Reviewed by
robert s

From Leek, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a pleasant stay
I had a pleasant stay and would use this hotel again although I wouldn't purchase the breakfast option again as very greasy and did not enjoy.

Reviewed by
Paul Williams

From Lydney, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

horribly overpriced
The people were very pleasant and it was kind of the manager to wait up until we were home. However the cost was high for very mediocre accommodation. Everything was tired and, in places, dirty - fortunately, bedding was clean. The breakfasts were also overpriced at £27 / couple per night and very poor. The first was dried out / overcooked; the other two were so greasy, I may not have another full English for some time to come. I had thought previous reviewers must have been mean but I realised after arrival that they were giving pretty accurate feedback

Reviewed by
Pat M

From Rochdale, England
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fairport's Cropredy 2014
Nice and convenient place to stay during Cropredy 2014

Reviewed by
Stein Erik J

From Norway
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful experience
We are regular travellers both in this country and abroad and this hotel is the worst we have stayed in! The hotel looked lovely from outside but we were given a 'chalet' room at the back in the car park. Chalet no.53. It was the smallest room I have ever seen with a 2foot area around the bed. We are slim and my husband and me could not pass each other around the bed to go to the bathroom. There was a lump of plaster missing off the wall by the door. The whole ceiling was so cracked it looked like it would fall on us any minute. The carpet was so filthy I would not take my shoes off. The bath had a hole in the side and the shelves and corners were filthy. There were cobwebs and large spider on the ceiling. The one window looked directly onto the cars 4 feet away and the second window looked at a diy dump. We would have slept well had the car alarms not gone off 3 times in the night. The double bed was against the radiator and wall which my husband hit every time he turned over. The heat in the room and must was so bad we sat on a chair in the car park to stay cool. On arrival we were booked in and told we had not ordered breakfast. Lucky I had the paperwork to prove I had. Room cost £65 and breakfast approx. £14. We did not eat the breakfast as it looked like it had been cooked 2 days before. The small part we did eat we regretted as felt stomach cramps and nausea for the rest of the day. Dirty laundry on the floor outside dining room. We went for breakfast at 08.50 so no excuse for pre-cooked food. Never seen a breakfast like it!!! I am not a fussy eater either. If the room and breakfast had cost £20 I might not have made such a fuss but this hotel is a total ripoff!! A refund would be appreciated.

Reviewed by
wendy r

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was ok but a bit tired. Obviously hadnt been hoovered as there was a sweet under one of the bed

Reviewed by
Neil McKinnon

From Hastings, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thankyou Paul and staff
I have to say that I was really well looked after, the evening meals where huge and really worth the money.
As a female travelling alone u can be quite isolated at times but I was made to feel really welcome by Paul and his staff

ManagementResponse

Hi, many thanks for your comments. I always show the staff the comments, they are pleased. You must go to bed with a full tummy in my hotel, we say fed and watered. Many thanks, Paul

Reviewed by
S Wilder

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room was the smallest I have ever stayed in

Reviewed by
P Cox

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A 4 poster bed bargain!
I was playing with my band at a nearby venue and booked via Laterooms. The 4 poster bed was what swung it for me as I was staying with my girlfriend. I also booked a room for my singer and his partner. When we arrived the man on reception was really friendly, very professional and likeable. I explained the other room was on my card and he delayed taking a charge direct on the 2nd room so my friend could pay the hotel (he certainly didn't have to do that). The room was perfect and I was very impressed with the bed. I didn't think I'd want to come back to Banbury but I would definitely stay at that hotel again.

Reviewed by
Tim E

From Thatcham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Work stopover
Excellent location, good parking and quiet room in the annex

Reviewed by
s easteal

From Leamington Spa, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next