Reviews - The Lismore Hotel


61 Oxford Road, Banbury, OX16 9AJ

Price From 114.67 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (25)

52% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • T Jones

  • October 2015

Fading glory

Beautiful old house, could do with a bit of designer input to go up a level or perhaps the status quo is working OK.

At least replace the tawdry plastic awning over the splendid front entrance.

  • Julie H

  • August 2015

Expected a lot more for the price!

The bathroom in particular needed refurbishment - grouting around bath not very clean.

The bedspreads needed washing and there were ants in our room. The bedroom needed updating and redecorating. The kettle and tea making equipment were on a table but with no plug socket next to it. Fire alarm went off at seven in the morning but only three or four people came out of their rooms. (The hotel was full.) The manager made no effort to carry out the correct fire procedures and seemed to think the steam from someone's shower had set the alarm off. This was never confirmed though and those people who had gone to the assembly point just wandered back to their rooms. Good thing it wasn't a real fire is all I can say!!. We did have a very tasty cooked breakfast and the staff working over the breakfast period were very helpful and efficient.

  • H WARD

  • July 2015

a bed for the night

somewhere to sleep

  • Liane M

  • June 2015

Great for one night

After reading some of the reviews I almost didn't book this accomodation but I'm glad I did.

The man on reception was exceedingly helpful and allowed me to check in and get my key early even though my room wasn't ready. He gave me all the codes I'd need to get in later that night but when I got back at gone 12 someone from reception got up and opened the door for me before I'd got half the code typed in. Excellent customer service. The room was small but clearly recently refurbished and very clean. The bathroom was a good size and contained everything we needed. I'd say this accomodation is probably a little overpriced considering the size of the room and I'd probably not pay full price for it but I would stay here again.

  • Stuart G

  • April 2015

Not worth the amount of money you pay

The room cost my boyfriend £75 for one night the bed was falling apart, walk in and you have the bed straight in front of you.

Bath mat was a piece of paper.

Girl on reception rude.

  • W Toker

  • April 2015


I stayed here one night and it was recently redecorated former pub/hotel and was reasonable price for location in Oxfordshire and good location just outside Banbury.

I would stay again nice place in expensive part of country .

  • Michael M

  • April 2015

The Lismore Hotel

Very late check in having been let down by another hotel.

Night staff very helpful and polite. Would definitely stay again.

  • Trevor Jones

  • December 2014

Comfortable room in Banbury

Warm comfortable room.

4-poster bed was okay. Guinness in the bar. I didn't choose the full English Breakfast on offer, but went for scrambled egg with mushrooms and tomatoes. Large breakfast served on a small cold plate. My only complaint - the breakfast was only £6, which would have been excellent value if served on a large warm plate.

  • S Garner

  • December 2014


Reasonable accommodation for short stay.

  • Stephen T

  • November 2014

clean, tidy, value for money.

as above