No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Rewley House

4Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
1 Wellington Square , Oxford, OX1 2JA
Rewley House offers 4-star campus accommodation in the heart of Oxford, and within walking distance of Oxford's historical colleges. Nearby attractions include: the Ashmolean Museum; the Botanic Gardens; the Sheldonian Theatre and the Bodleian Library. Famous pubs, several award-winning restaurants and a variety of cocktail bars are within easy reach of Rewley House, which is part of the University of Oxford's Department for Continuing Education. Moreover, we are just a few minutes' walk from the coach and train station.

Our comfortable rooms provide en-suite facilities, flat-screen digital televisions, tea and coffee making facilities and free internet access. We offer a hot and cold buffet breakfast in our dining room, and guests are welcome to use our Common Room Bar.

Rewley House is located on Wellington Square, a quiet and attractive enclave in the city centre. It is a perfect base for exploring Oxford's wonderful historical sites. Oxford offers 5 park and ride services to the city centre (http://www.parkandride.net/oxford/html/oxford_parkandride.html) which is the most cost effective option for parking in and around Oxford. Gloucester Green underground car park is a short walk from Rewley House and a multi-storey is located in the city centre (http://www.oxford.gov.uk/PageRender/decTS/CarParksinOxfordCityCentre.htm)
Pay and display on-street parking is available, however, spaces are very limited (and can prove expensive for anything other than short stays). Unfortunately, we are unable to reserve parking spaces for guests.

While the rate you have booked is exclusive of breakfast, we can offer you our breakfast special: A full English 'all you can eat' cooked breakfast buffet, with accompanying tea, coffee, cereals, fruits and juices, at £9.90 Usually priced at £14.00.

Picture of Rewley House, Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 199 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value in central Oxford
Great value for such a central location, just down the road from the Ashmolean, so convenient too. Quiet, clean, with friendly reception staff. This isn't designed to be hotel-style accommodation but does the job of a central location to head back to at the end of a long day. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
A Michael

From Warwick, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A real find
Fantastic location in a quiet square. Easy walking distance to Jericho, canal and city centre. Large airy room and big bathroom with pleasant views over the rooftops of Oxford.

Reviewed by
Alison Green

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleased with the room & cleanliness of the accommodation perfectly situated in the town centre.
Ideal for the Theatre which was why we booked it.

Reviewed by
Angela T

From Southam, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value ceentral Oxford
Clean, comfortable, excellent, quiet location. Decent buffet breakfast. 37 stairs to bedroom.

Reviewed by
Valerie Purcell

From Teddington, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Central
Very central location. Refurbished room, clean, comfortable. Would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Mary P

From Altrincham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, comfortable, nice bedroom

Reviewed by
m tres

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm, Clean and Comfortable

Reviewed by
Andrew J

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central and comfortable in Oxford

Reviewed by
Mike M

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfy, clean and quiet but no wifi
The lobby for the hotel looks like the entrance to some sort of student union. I had to ask "is there a hotel here?" the receptionist then told me that there is "accommodation" which kind of got me worrying. Once inside the room within a house down the street, i was pleasantly reassured by the clean and professional interior. I would describe it as student accommodation for very rich kids, so it really felt like a piece of Oxford. Own bathroom, tea & coffee, TV but no wifi though, oh who cares about wifi, go out and see Oxford.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback about Rewley House. We do offer free Wi-Fi to all our guests at Rewley House, and I apologies you were not made aware of this when you checked in. I apologise if we did not, on this occasion, meet all of your expectations, but I do hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve your future accommodation needs next time you are in Oxford. With best wishes, Mark Bedford, Conference & Facilities Manager

Reviewed by
James MacLean

From , UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for my needs
I wouldn't recommend this accommodation for many types of trip but it was perfect for mine.
I was in Oxford for a conference and needed a room with minimal frills. The room itself was spacious and comfortable and the location is excellent.
My only complaint was that the WiFi was part of a secure network and it occasionally dropped my VPN connection to the office. Not a major issue and not much that can be done about it I suppose, but it is worth knowing if you need to work with a VPN.
All in all a good experience and I would stay here again in similar circumstances.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your comments and positive feedback regarding our accommodation facilities and amenities. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us .We are currently in the process of strengthening Wi-Fi connections around our building as part of an on-going refurbishment project. We hope you will think of us next time you visit Oxford and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rewley House. With best wishes, Mark Bedford, Conference & Facilities Manager

Reviewed by
Stuart B

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next