No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Rewley House

4Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
1 Wellington Square , Oxford, OX1 2JA
Rewley House offers 4-star campus accommodation in the heart of Oxford, and within walking distance of Oxford's historical colleges. Nearby attractions include: the Ashmolean Museum; the Botanic Gardens; the Sheldonian Theatre and the Bodleian Library. Famous pubs, several award-winning restaurants and a variety of cocktail bars are within easy reach of Rewley House, which is part of the University of Oxford's Department for Continuing Education. Moreover, we are just a few minutes' walk from the coach and train station.

Our comfortable rooms provide en-suite facilities, flat-screen digital televisions, tea and coffee making facilities and free internet access. We offer a hot and cold buffet breakfast in our dining room, and guests are welcome to use our Common Room Bar.

Rewley House is located on Wellington Square, a quiet and attractive enclave in the city centre. It is a perfect base for exploring Oxford's wonderful historical sites. Oxford offers 5 park and ride services to the city centre (http://www.parkandride.net/oxford/html/oxford_parkandride.html) which is the most cost effective option for parking in and around Oxford. Gloucester Green underground car park is a short walk from Rewley House and a multi-storey is located in the city centre (http://www.oxford.gov.uk/PageRender/decTS/CarParksinOxfordCityCentre.htm)
Pay and display on-street parking is available, however, spaces are very limited (and can prove expensive for anything other than short stays). Unfortunately, we are unable to reserve parking spaces for guests.

While the rate you have booked is exclusive of breakfast, we can offer you our breakfast special: A full English 'all you can eat' cooked breakfast buffet, with accompanying tea, coffee, cereals, fruits and juices, at £9.90 Usually priced at £14.00.

Picture of Rewley House, Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 236 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good standard and convenient
I stayed overnight for the 3rd time and was impressed by the refurbishment of rooms that has taken place and the good housekeeping standards and equipment. The rooms are in several houses in the adjoining square. Breakfast is in the basement dining room, well set out, pleasant surroundings, well presented and to a good standard. I'm only sorry I'm not staying there for my next visit. There is, however, the possibility (as so very often) of mild noise disturbance from other guests so I would suggest (always) carry some ear plugs with you if this might disturb your sleep.

Reviewed by
Peter K

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable quiet room
I was pleasantly surprised by the comfort of the room and, as it backed onto a Garden it was very quiet. There was a decent TV and a kettle with tea and coffee etc. It is centrally located and very handy for the colleges. Only complaint was on Sunday morning the shower was not hot. But it was OK on Saturday morning.

Reviewed by
Monica Dyer

From Reigate, England
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value
For a short stay in (very) central Oxford, this is excellent value. Basic, but perfectly sufficient accommodation.

Reviewed by
Michael P

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and simple
The room was spacious and clean, with a no-frills feel. The bathroom was also very big. The shower worked well, as did the heating. The beds were comfortable. There weren't many toiletries offered (just soap, no shampoo etc) which is worth keeping in mind. However, the location of the accommodation is very convenient and there are shops just 5 mins away.

Reviewed by
C George

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic find - Rewley House
We had a great stay at Rewley House. The accommodation far exceeded expectations. Very clean and comfortable. Comfy bed and bedding. Powerful shower. Spotless room. Fantastic breakfast. Amazing value compared with other B&Bs we looked at. Although this is student accommodation, it's as good as any B&B I have been to. The central location was a bonus too. A gem of a find. Will definitely be back! We met some interesting people at breakfast, as people from all walks of life pass through the accommodation, from tourists to mature students. All very friendly.

Reviewed by
Wendy C

From Oxted, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very good central place to stay in Oxford
Rewley House is good and the staff friendly. The quality of the room was excellent. I was reallocated a different room at the last minute which meant a bit of additional changing of towels etc. This was well done but I did wonder if it would have been better to leave things as they were.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth W

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Location, Great Quality
Situated just a stone's throw from St Giles and the centre of Oxford, this was a great little find when I'd exhausted the usual options of normal hotels. Room was great quality and is situated in a house on Wellington Square of around 6 rooms. Clean and tidy, great amenities and comfy queen-size bed.
Would definitely use again for a flying visit to Oxford!

Reviewed by
Andrew D

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rewley Flat
Really good location for exploring Oxford on foot. Kitchen diner lounge was well equipped with a nice amount of extra space
The flat was beautifully quiet and the surrounding streets relatively tourist free

Reviewed by
S Golden

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent facilities, friendly staff
My experience at Rewley House was great. The receptionist was very friendly. I liked the fact that the rooms are spread over various buildings, giving you a feeling of having your own apartment. The room was light and decent. There was a hair on my pillow and the bathroom floor when I first entered the room and the bin on the coffee table hadn't been emptied, but other than that the room was very tidy. I didn't use the breakfast option and went out for a breakfast in town instead. Gloucester Green station is at walking distance and there are many lovely cafes in the area.

Reviewed by
Justine P

From Netherlands
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

CITY BREAK
Ideal location , short walk to city centre , but in a quite area

Reviewed by
Ian H

From Maldon, England
Who stayed in September 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next