No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Vicarage Hotel

3Self Classified Town House Hotel Ratings explained
45-51 ST. MARY STREET , BRIDGWATER, TA6 3EQ
Situated in the centre of Bridgwater, the Old Vicarage offers guests all of the charm and atmosphere of a property with a 650 year history, but with the majority of facilities and services you'd expect in a large hotel. All of our 15 guest bedrooms are en-suite, non-smoking and many also have original features and furniture. Guests can park in our off-road car park and relax in our tranquil walled garden. An evening meal service is open for guests Monday to Saturday until 9pm. Our bar is also available until the close of our meal service (approx 10pm).
Picture of The Old Vicarage Hotel, BRIDGWATER at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would I stay again
Car park and photo. I was disappointed that when I returned for my second night stay all the car park spaces were reserved, I think to say car parking is available is must be there 100% of the time I know some people parked on the road. Also the entrance very difficult to get in. The photo, this is of the back garden, I was expecting a nice country hotel. The room was nice and the bed comfortable.

Reviewed by
S Morriss

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable accommodation. Good valie.
Nice room, small bathroom, but adequate. Excellent breakfast choices, very good food.

Reviewed by
Ruth H

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay
Customer service was great, the hostess was very accommodating. My shower was awesome. All in all I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

Reviewed by
Andrew B

From High Peak, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A super hotel! Excellent accommodation, friendly, attentive staff and a shower to die for.
I was very impressed with this hotel. The facilities were second to none and cleanliness was supreme for an old set of buildings having loads of character combined with maximum comfort made my stay almost perfect.

Reviewed by
John Holmes

From Harrogate, England
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good accommodation, building full of character and an excellent breakfast!

Reviewed by
R Gibson

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

would definately stay again
Staff very friendly and helpful. Room clean, comfy bed and pillows. Only trouble we had was shower luke warm at 3.30pm, tried it again when we got back from visiting rekatives approx midnight and it was hot.

Reviewed by
N Masters

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good find - last minute
Clean and tidy hotel, large spacious room with lovely character. Would stay again if I am in the area.

Reviewed by
Sophie C

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were very attentive and courteous and the hotel room and food was excellent , I would reccommend this hotel to anyone and would not hesitate to return another time ! Many thanks!!

Reviewed by
denise m

From PORTSMOUTH, England
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Appearances are definitely deceptive!
Don't be put off by the outside of the hotel. Like a lot of Bridgwater town centre, The Old Vicarage is a bit tired and shabby looking, but the inside is very different! Like another reviewer, our room was in the building across the courtyard/car park, but we were on the top floor in our own garret room, which was really nicely decorated, with genuine wobbly floors. Yes, the stairs were a bit treacherous, but hey, it's an old building, so what do you expect? Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the breakfast was delicious! Oh and the garden is through either the gate in the courtyard or through the double doors in the restaurant - very easy to find!

Reviewed by
Julia B

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very helpful staff, but where is the garden?
We saw nothing of the photos shown on the website. Was it the correct hotel I wonder? All we saw was the frontage, which was directly onto the street and a small quadrangle car park. I have to say that the woman in charge was extremely helpful and friendly, even showing us the very old room with a hidden passage. If you had a facility to upload pics I would do so to show you what the frontage looks like. Nothing like the pics.

Reviewed by
S Worden

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next