No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Swan Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
46 Greengate Street, Stafford, ST16 2JA
Located in the centre of Stafford, The Swan has been lovingly restored to include 31 luxurious bedrooms, two of which are 4 poster suites, all are en-suite with internet points, most are air conditioned and non-smoking. Our four executive rooms have Plasma TVs, DVDs and Freeview.

You will experience some of the finest food in Staffordshire in the award winning Brasserie Restaurant. Only a 10 minute walk from Stafford Train Station, The Swan offers spacious accommodation including family rooms, suites and facilities for the disabled traveller.
Picture of The Swan Hotel, Stafford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 44 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wish it hadn't been a flying visit!
Booked The Swan as it was a convenient, well-priced hotel for a very short overnight stay. I now wish I'd booked for the weekend! From our late (11pm) arrival to early (6.45 am) departure, the experience was perfect. Beautiful room, clean and spacious. Staff were friendly, courteous and helpful. A lovely place where the guests are well looked after.

Reviewed by
Sarah E

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming friendly efficient staff.
Really relaxing accommodation.
Efficient staff
Excellent service
Excellent food , breakfast lunch and dinner
Lovely room ...loved the bear!

Reviewed by
Christine H

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The best in Stafford without a doubt - just ask the locals
It's great to find an independent hotel of such good value (£80 per double room) offering such high quality. The service, accommodation and food were superb - we ate in the bar by the open fire in welcoming contemporary surroundings on Saturday afternoon and enjoyed a superb quality breakfast on Sunday morning (Andrew Woolley sausages are recommended) with a beautiful view out on to the old church on Greengate Street from the restaurant. The hotel, restaurant, bars and our room (213) were clean throughout and the room was very comfortable with plenty of space. A highly recommended hotel for anybody staying in Stafford!

Reviewed by
Sarah H

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A visit to Stafford
Hotel accommodation and Bar/reception/restaurant area excellent. Food a little dry and over cooked

Reviewed by
P Byham

From Torpoint, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything excellent , clean and food is great would stay there again

Reviewed by
Nicola R

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reunion Stopover
I can't rate this hotel high enough. Will definitely return. Perfectly located in the town centre. A little frustrated that some thought wasn't put to the location of my room as had asked somewhere quiet. Didn't hear a thing inside the hotel all night, however but the town has a church that has bells that chime every 15 minutes, all thru the night! The reception gets a bottleneck of people at peak times and couldn't move early evening for non residents arriving and waiting to dine. Apart from that, a great stay! Well done! I'm not the easiest to please.

Reviewed by
Stephen Heath

From Southam, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very welcoming.

Reviewed by
D Monk

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Couldn't fault it!! 10 out of 10!!
Made very welcome by the lovely receptionist, nice quick check-in. The room was absolutely lovely, very clean and tidy and much bigger than expected!! Can't fault my stay. Breakfast was lovely too, though a little cold but nothing worth complaining about! Will definitely stay next time I'm visiting!!

Reviewed by
H Smith

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel with friendly staff
Room was clean and spacious.Massive bed.Only problem was one of the windows didn't close,but as the room was well heated it wasn't a big problem.Bit disappointed that even though we booked a table for dinner,we were seated in what was the reception area even though there was room in the main dining room.The staff were attentive but not intrusive.The chicken wasn't cooked well enough for me,but that is just my personal taste. If I get to visit Stafford again it is the first place I will try to book.Right in the centre so there are other places nearby to have dinner.The cooked to order breakfast was very good,a good range of choices

Reviewed by
julie Patrick

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel would happily stay there again
Great hotel me and my girlfriend were very happy staying a night at The Swan.The staff were really nice and helpful and we really liked the room,we had a fridge in room which was very useful keeping our bottle of wine chilled and a good breakfast to see us on our way next morning.

Reviewed by
a shaw

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next