No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Swan Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
46 Greengate Street, Stafford, ST16 2JA
Located in the centre of Stafford, The Swan has been lovingly restored to include 31 luxurious bedrooms, two of which are 4 poster suites, all are en-suite with internet points, most are air conditioned and non-smoking. Our four executive rooms have Plasma TVs, DVDs and Freeview.

You will experience some of the finest food in Staffordshire in the award winning Brasserie Restaurant. Only a 10 minute walk from Stafford Train Station, The Swan offers spacious accommodation including family rooms, suites and facilities for the disabled traveller.
Picture of The Swan Hotel, Stafford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 32 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a good stay and lovely meal. This hotel is a nice place stay and had no real problems. The only negative was the radiator in the room was either boiling hot or cold and the thermostatic valve didn't seem to change it, I woke up in the middle of the night as the room was baking hot, although this didn't affect my stay.
The hotel is lovely, with good staff and nice food.
Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Samuel L

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

my second stay here and will return
My second stay at the Swan and my preferred hotel when staying in Stafford. Good room and wide choice at breakfast but overall really helpful well trained staff.

Reviewed by
D Bell

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent one night stay
Although we only stayed one night ( hotel full for other nights) we ate there several times. Excellent food and great breakfast. Staff charming and helpful. As I work away from home a great deal this was a refreshing change. Next time I am in Stafford I will book ahead to stay here.

Reviewed by
D Bell

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recommended
Only stayed one night as in transit from Scotland but very happy with accommodation. Missed out on evening meal as we had not booked and restaurant clearly very popular. We had a font room on the third floor which was quite quiet despite the efforts of a male soloist busking in the street! Rear car park a little tricky to find but AA instructions on the ball.

Reviewed by
John Fox

From Twickenham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

execellent
have stayed here before and always come back to this hotel the staff are very nice and nothing is to much trouble.

Reviewed by
shirley spiers

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, efficient and extremely clean.Pleasure to stay there.
As the title says this friendly hotel, is the most pleasant place to stay. The hotel was really clean, bedding bathroom dining area - everywhere. Staff were efficient and friendly. Amazing that here was a hotel tucked away in Stafford, how I wish others were of this standard. Many thanks we will certainly recommend here to others.

Reviewed by
Amy F

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
Stayed for one night at this hotel, the customer service was fantastic they were very helpful. The restaurant and bars were beautifully decorated and of a high standard. We ate in the restaurant and the service and quality of the food was excellent. Breakfast was fantastic with a wide choice of breakfast items. The only thing that let the stay down was the room, we booked a superior room and didn't feel like that is what we got, it was spacious but very old and tired looking and not what was expected as the rest of the hotel was excellent.

Reviewed by
K Malins

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice city centre hotel & pub
THe Swan is very convenient for Stafford, as it is right on Greengate, the main pedestrian precinct. It has excellent bars and food, though it was busy while we were there due to a real ale festival. The room was small but clean and pleasant.

Reviewed by
Ederyn Williams

From Kenilworth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wish it hadn't been a flying visit!
Booked The Swan as it was a convenient, well-priced hotel for a very short overnight stay. I now wish I'd booked for the weekend! From our late (11pm) arrival to early (6.45 am) departure, the experience was perfect. Beautiful room, clean and spacious. Staff were friendly, courteous and helpful. A lovely place where the guests are well looked after.

Reviewed by
Sarah E

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming friendly efficient staff.
Really relaxing accommodation.
Efficient staff
Excellent service
Excellent food , breakfast lunch and dinner
Lovely room ...loved the bear!

Reviewed by
Christine H

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next