Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Buckinghamshire > Wicken Hotels > Kingfisher Hotel, Golf & Country Club
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kingfisher Hotel, Golf & Country Club

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Golf Course Buckingham Road, Stony Stratford, MK19 6JY
Kingfisher Country Club is a unique, privately owned family operated, Conference & Banqueting venue - offering an excellent service for corporate or social guests alike. Free car parking. Free wifi throughout the hotel and Old Clubhouse. In a rural, tranquil, setting but just 8 minutes' drive from Central Milton Keynes northwards along the A5 between the historic towns of Stony Stratford and Buckingham. Situated with excellent roadways 7 miles from Silverstone and 8 miles from Towcester

Another of our attractions is the Lakeside Restaurant with award winning Chefs who prepare freshly made food purchased from local suppliers. Please ask our staff for any information on the food served from our extensive menus. Xmas, New Year, St Valentine, Mothering Sunday and Easter Sunday bookings are advised as early as possible. A popular wedding venue with civil license . No appointment is necessary to view the premises.

Golf course, golf driving range, fishing lake, Swedish sauna and Turkish Steam room, fully equipped gymnasium and classes operated by a professional Personal Fitness Instructor. Beauty Rooms and holistic treatments. Helipad outside the Clubhouse and Special Events areas for motorized vehicles - plus more. Standard Terms & Conditions apply.

Picture of Kingfisher Hotel, Golf & Country Club, Stony Stratford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast with an Osprey
A peaceful location, facing a lake, where I watched an osprey while I was having breakfast. The only niggle was a creaky bathroom door.

Reviewed by
Simon Burrows

From , UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Single night stay for Moto GP 2014
All in all not bad. Nice spot back off the main road.
Got drawn in by the 'award winning chef' so went with my Dad for the Moto GP. Arrived to be told they couldn't provide dinner due to the 120 guest wedding party! We headed into Buckingham for dinner only 10 mins away but of course returned to the sound of the disco!
Not a real spoiler but it would have been nice to have been informed at the point of booking that dinner was unavailable and noise was more than likely.
That said the place itself was fine.

Reviewed by
R Clegg

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Solid enough
Unusual motel style layout. Rooms very good, although TV was small and aircon was manual(OPEN THE WINDOWS). biggest problem is the cobwebs not in rooms but on the stairs and landing (which aare outside). Food very good, service friendly prices fair.

Reviewed by
Jon A

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not as expected unless I was booking Butlins on a golf course!
Staff very polite & offered extended check out. Was expecting a country club experience, received a wooden chalet Butlins type. Clean basic room, once you past the cob webs that covers the wooden entrance. Very much a basic business mans place to put his head down for the night outside the main town. Club house lacked atmosphere & closed very early in the evening. Breakfast was a pleasant surprise & everything was on offer to ensure everybody had a good selection of choice. Free wifi was useless unless you stood outside or in the club house so no chance of being able to work if needed. Booked as a couple, yet only one bath towel was provided and a smaller equivalent to a hand towel. Walls are very thin and you can hear others pass on the ridged wooden walkway at all times. Was not made aware of the use of the gym or golf course included in the price on arrival which I would of expected. Overall a cheap, pleasant stay for the single male traveller.

Reviewed by
H Reding

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Motel type accommodation but did the trick...
This was set out like Motels on the appearance although in wood rather than pre-fab!..
Overall a good clean accommodation given although a small bathroom this was adequate for one person. The room was warm enough but didn't contain any facilities for a cuppa especially after a long journey.
The meal was definitely a good choice and the Steak done to perfection.
The staff were friendly and give some local advice.

Reviewed by
J Grayson

From Billingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really enjoyed my stay at Kingfisher Hotel, Golf & Country club. Really friendly group of staff & excellent food on the menu. Great to have the free use of the gym, although would recommend getting in there early if you can & really wish I'd brought my golf clubs with me. Shame about the road in to the premises, although I understand that this isn't something that can be addressed by the Hotel. All in all a great place to stay & would certainly stay there again when visiting the MK area.

Reviewed by
Carl B

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing and Quiet
In between stressful business appointments, this is an excellent escape. Clean rooms, cozy, nice bar, peaceful surroundings, excellent breakfast!

Reviewed by
Ute F

From USA
Who stayed in September 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great country escape in the city!
Being so close to central Milton Keynes this hotel is a great escape from the centre itself. With its location in the countryside it offers a great chance to relax whilst still being only 15 - 20mins from the centre of Milton Keynes by car. Great hospitality too!

Reviewed by
M Lindsay

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice accommodation, bed a touch uncomfortable, could do with a "topper". Other than that it was fine.

Reviewed by
Gary J

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had not stayed for a couple of years but will certainly be back soon

Reviewed by
L WOOD

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.