Reviews - Kingfisher Hotel, Golf & Country Club


Golf Course Buckingham Road, Stony Stratford, MK19 6JY

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (12)

75% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Gary S

  • July 2015

So Much Better Than Faceless Chain Hotels

Kingfisher Hotel Golf & Country Club is a lovely place to stay.

Friendly, clean tidy and comfortable. The staff could not be move welcoming, the whole feeling of the place was comfortable. Room was clean and well presented. Complimentary Golf, Gym, Sauna & Steam Room are a nice touch, the Golf Course is a nice little challenge after a day in the office. Give it a try, looking over the countryside beats looking over MK Central.

  • Peter R

  • January 2015

Kingfisher Hotel, Golf & Country Club

Nice place.

  • Karen W

  • November 2014

Nice hotel for the summer

This was a nice enough hotel, but nothing special.

Would not be great in winter (snow/icy weather) as the entrance to the rooms was directly from the outside, and the reception/restaurant/gym were in separate buildings. Room itself was decent enough, plenty of space, and food was fine.

  • James K

  • November 2014

Business Overnight

Good middle range hotel; the food is well cooked and the evening menu is very traditional.

The portions would challenge most appetites. The breakfast room makes a great start to the day. We had an upper room which was slightly chilly when the outside temperature fell below 0C. The staff are friendly and efficient. Plenty of parking spaces. Allow time in the morning to get through the traffic.

  • olac coombs

  • November 2014

lacking in amenities

For the money this hotel is very poor value.

One thin towel. No hairdryer. No ironing board, so if course no iron. The room was poorly heated, especially the bathroom which had a strange blow heater on the wall that had a mind if it's own. On the plus the American style motel approach is novel. .. The bar is mostly welcoming, but my evening meal was appalling. Breakfast however was very good, though there is zero service. ..

  • Simon Burrows

  • September 2014

Breakfast with an Osprey

A peaceful location, facing a lake, where I watched an osprey while I was having breakfast.

The only niggle was a creaky bathroom door.

  • R Clegg

  • September 2014

Single night stay for Moto GP 2014

All in all not bad.

Nice spot back off the main road. Got drawn in by the 'award winning chef' so went with my Dad for the Moto GP. Arrived to be told they couldn't provide dinner due to the 120 guest wedding party. We headed into Buckingham for dinner only 10 mins away but of course returned to the sound of the disco. Not a real spoiler but it would have been nice to have been informed at the point of booking that dinner was unavailable and noise was more than likely. That said the place itself was fine.

  • Jon A

  • June 2014

Solid enough

Unusual motel style layout.

Rooms very good, although TV was small and aircon was manual(OPEN THE WINDOWS). biggest problem is the cobwebs not in rooms but on the stairs and landing (which aare outside). Food very good, service friendly prices fair.

  • H Reding

  • May 2014

Not as expected unless I was booking Butlins on a golf course!

Staff very polite & offered extended check out.

Was expecting a country club experience, received a wooden chalet Butlins type. Clean basic room, once you past the cob webs that covers the wooden entrance. Very much a basic business mans place to put his head down for the night outside the main town. Club house lacked atmosphere & closed very early in the evening. Breakfast was a pleasant surprise & everything was on offer to ensure everybody had a good selection of choice. Free wifi was useless unless you stood outside or in the club house so no chance of being able to work if needed. Booked as a couple, yet only one bath towel was provided and a smaller equivalent to a hand towel. Walls are very thin and you can hear others pass on the ridged wooden walkway at all times. Was not made aware of the use of the gym or golf course included in the price on arrival which I would of expected. Overall a cheap, pleasant stay for the single male traveller.

  • J Grayson

  • February 2014

Motel type accommodation but did the trick...

This was set out like Motels on the appearance although in wood rather than pre-fab!..

Overall a good clean accommodation given although a small bathroom this was adequate for one person. The room was warm enough but didn't contain any facilities for a cuppa especially after a long journey. The meal was definitely a good choice and the Steak done to perfection. The staff were friendly and give some local advice.