Reviews - The Fox Goes Free


Charlton, Near Goodwood,, Chichester, PO18 0HU

Price From 204.54 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (16)

94% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Barbara R

  • July 2015

The Fox Goes Free

Perfect place to get away from it all,lovely meal fantastic views, friendly staff and a walk away from the Textile barn.

And the sun was shining. Only regret we couldnt stay longer.

  • Guy C

  • April 2015

Very British

Delightful village of flint walled cottages and rolling countryside.

A picture postcard pub with inglenooks, snugs, beams and history. Good food and wine and a thronging clientele to add further colour. No juke box, fruit machines or other distractions to take away from the idyll. A lovely place to stay

  • Ian Deumayne-Jones

  • November 2014


A great place to stay.

Wonderful old premises that concentrates on the detail really well. Friendly and efficient with super room and facilities. I'd stay here again.

  • P Robinson

  • October 2014


Really nice place.

Friendly efficient staff

  • Susan Mager

  • September 2014

Mid week break

Lovely old pub with great friendly service by staff who made you very welcome.

Just a couple of minor matters occurred which were quickly rectified when pointed out. We would like to make a special mention of the manager (lady with dog) who was extremely helpfull.

  • J Torrance

  • August 2014

Great place to stay.

Great little pub, good food, lovely rooms.

My only criticisms are the lighting in the bar and restaurant are very poor, a bit cold and not welcoming, need to improve the lighting, also the chairs in the bar are not comfortable for an evening quiet drink, need more comfortable seating. The church seats are hard and too low. Otherwise an excellent place to stay and eat.

  • Malcolm A

  • August 2014

Enloyable stay but ....

Decided to stay here since very convenient to Goodwood.

We were made very welcome and the food was really enjoyable with a good choice. It is clearly very popular with plenty of people eating on the night we were there.The interior is very quaint albeit a little tired with a nice garden area available for outdoor eating. We were put in room 1 which was unexpectedly large and nicely appointed but is subject to noise from equipment below cutting in and out. My wife slept through this but as a light sleeper I did not. Hence the low room rating. I would stay there again but not in room 1.

  • V Callow

  • July 2014

Great place

Lovely pub accommodation, spotlessly clean, good breakfast, great dinner.

We stopped on a night when there was live entertainment in the pub, which was excellent. However it was not noisy when we went to bed as the music stopped at 11pm. Lovely place in a lovely village, would definitely go again.

  • Steve Roake

  • May 2014

Nothing Not To Like

Have known this pub for many years from my visits to Goodwood racecourse.

This is the first time I have stayed over. Room fine, food and service excellent as always.

  • Tony A

  • May 2014

faultlessand friendly

A truly great pub wonderful food served till 10p.m.Staff who all were very friendly .Live music made for a fantastic atmosphere.Great location comfortable rooms