No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Kings Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Oxford Road,Stokenchurch , High Wycombe, HP14 3TA
A former 16th Century coaching inn, this privately owned and passionately run boutique hotel is a place where old meets new, with stylish, contemporary accommodation blending seamlessly with historic charm.

Surrounded by the picturesque village green, the hotel is centrally located in Stokenchurch, High Wycombe. The convenient location, just off junction 5 of the M40, means the hotel is easy to find. London and Oxford are within easy reach and you can enjoy great shopping in the new Eden Centre in High Wycombe.

The interior has been transformed with chic, cutting-edge design, which blends seamlessly throughout, with an attention to detail and many stylish touches. An elegant combination of neutral tones, clean lines, dark woods and sleek furnishings, the Kings is a real, exclusive find. Each room is at once traditionally elegant and strikingly modern, with plasma flat-screen TV. The en-suite Italian marble bathrooms have a bath, power shower and exclusive toiletries.

The relaxed and stylish ambience of the Kings Restaurant reflects the sophisticated feel of the hotel with a fresh, unpretentious approach to top quality dining. As well as offering the ultimate in comfort, cuisine and leisure, the hotel provides the perfect venue for your next conference, meeting or special occasion.

Picture of The Kings Hotel, High Wycombe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 49 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent customer service, lovely hotel.
I booked two executive rooms for a Sunday evening in order to celebrate my dad's 80th birthday. I contacted the hotel in advance to book a table for lunch and dinner and to request an early check-in if possible as we were going to watch Wasps vs Bath rugby match at High Wycombe.
On arrival, we received a warm welcome from Bharat. He had one room available at 1115 and another (the very nice 'King's Room') half an hour later so we were able to check in nice and early which we appreciated. Lunch was excellent, as was the evening Sunday Roast. The birthday desert they prepared for my dad was a nice touch. Special thanks to Yogi and Swapnil for that one. A good night's sleep was followed by a delicious breakfast buffet in the morning. Thanks to the breakfast girls for looking after us.
All in all a thoroughly enjoyable stay and a memorable 80th birthday for my dad. A delightful hotel with the friendliest and most attentive staff I've experienced in some time.

Reviewed by
Rod R

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

better quality room
Clearly take more pride in keeping non-smoking rooms a bit more clean. Still not 100% as rubbish was left under the bed from the occupant who stayed on the 18th and I stayed on the 26th 8 days later - things need to be moved for a good clean

Reviewed by
Cherry A

From Chinnor, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dissapointed
From the pictures, we were expecting a nice, unique and fashionable hotel room. What we had was a rather drab, boring and utilitarian room. Despite having paid for an executive room thinking there would be a bit of luxury and class to it it was just the same as the rest of the rooms.
We found out on arrival that air-con is optional and not all the rooms have it so make sure to ask for it in advance. The room was sweltering so we had the windows open all night, this meant we had all of the road noise and sound from the bar downstairs for the entire night.
The bed was perfectly comfortable however, the bathroom was useful although you couldn't have a comfortable bath in there unless you're 5ft nothing! We also found a pair of dirty socks underneath the curtains from a previous guest which was an unpleasant surprise.
Breakfast was reasonable and not at all bad for a buffet although anything other then a tea or filter coffee isn't included in the breakfast cost.
All in all the room was a little expensive for what we paid, I would liken it to a holiday in or a best western (which is what it used to be). It was perfectly useable, just disappointing.

Reviewed by
Ben O

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

expected better.
The room was a run down room, being a smoking room you would expect an ashtray but none were provided, the sink was also cracked, windowsil was filfy, bedside floor needed a good hoover. Was expecting a lot more considering the status and price of the accommodation.

Reviewed by
Cherry A

From Chinnor, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

average
the room was spacious but had to keep blinds shut as looked onto the roof with pipes and air condictioning unit . also fag butts on roof . looked straight onto other rooms as well. Taps in bathroom were broke. V clean. lunch was terrible . didnt eat there for dinner . All in all was ok been in a lot better for same money . One night was enough .

Reviewed by
lorraine s

From Bexleyheath, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

relaxing
A very nice hotel,the staff are very pleasant,very attentive,the food was excellent,a very pleasant stay of three days,

Reviewed by
kenneth victor capstick

From Accrington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room a bit on the small side, but adequate. Staff as usual very friendly and professional and the food was lovely.

Reviewed by
G Richardson

From Wembley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Faultless Again
I always stay here when rooms are available, - enough said !!

Reviewed by
Gary Richardson

From Wembley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very poor, get a B and B instead.
Booked double, first room twin. Changed room. Went out for a meal and returned to a very very hot room with frosted plastic over the window and a a tiny part that opened. Then the lift... The shaft was inside the false wardrobe, whirring and banging all night. Changed rooms again at 0200 to try and get sleep ... We were given the room the other side of the lift.
Breakfast was poor, staff more interested in talking to each other than to wipe the crud off the re-filled bottles of HP. Poor quality meat, no bacon etc... Decor nice overall.
Complained, after much arguing got a partial refund.
Would not recommend or ever use again. You have been warned.

Reviewed by
A Brown

From Torquay, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will be back!
Nice rooms, great food and amazing staff. Clean boutique-style rooms, gastropub quality food (they even make their own ice cream) and the staff,,, can;t do enough to keep guests happy. Will definitely stay here again next time I am in town.

Reviewed by
L Perez Maestro

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next