No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Amherst Brighton

4Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
2 LOWER ROCK GARDENS , BRIGHTON, BN2 1PG
Virtually on the sea front and only 5 minutes walk from Brighton’s lively and vibrant centre. Amherst Brighton offers stylish contemporary en suite accommodation. All the rooms are individually designed with double or king size beds, direct dial telephones, either LCD or widescreen TVs, DVD/CD players, free wireless and hard-wired internet access, mini bar and complimentary tea/coffee making facilities and snacks. A continental breakfast is served in the morning and a full English breakfast is available at £6.00 per person. The Amherst Brighton takes great pride in its high-quality accommodation and its excellent standards of comfort and service.
Picture of Amherst Brighton, BRIGHTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 40 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
99% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent choice!
Loved it!
We were made very welcome and ours hosts could not do enough for us.
A lovely room, and we could see the sea! If we go to Brighton again, Amherst would be our first choice!

Reviewed by
P Brice-Stevens

From Welwyn Garden City, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A wee gem
I think the fact that Marcus and Lee get a lot of return business says it all. They have created a welcoming home from home with good sized, well presented and comfortable guest rooms, but it is the hosts' gregarious natures and cheerful bonhomie that make this place extra special.

Reviewed by
Alison S

From Elgin, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
We made a last-minute booking for Amherst, and found that it definitely lived up to the excellent reviews. We were made to feel very welcome, and were pleased to be given an upgrade to a junior suite on arrival. The room was very pleasant and well-appointed, and Lee and Marcus were very friendly hosts throughout our stay. The hotel is also in a great location for town centre, beach, pier and restaurants. We would definitely recommend this to others.

Reviewed by
Andrew H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Friendly lovely place to stay
from the moment we rushed in with our bags until we left what a warm lovely greeting would stay again

Reviewed by
Sharon P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a lovely stay, very friendly and made us feel at home. We had the top floor room, so was able to work off our breakfast, and saw some very big seagulls from our window, but we could see the sea too! Complimentary nibbles in the room too! Good location for the sea front, pier, wheel and not too far from restaurants, convenient stores and The Lanes and main shopping centre. We went to visit Brighton for the Football and Ipswich won, so that was a bonus!

Reviewed by
Erica Ross

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent! I would stay here again!
Excellent! The proprieters were very welcoming. Their genuine interest in the guests was evident.
The accommodation was above average, well equipped (beer, wine & crisps) was a nice touch.
Well positioned although not quite overlooking the pier but I can't complain because it was priced accordingly.
Again the customer service is what won it for me as it is all too often lacking.

Reviewed by
E Dodd

From Sutton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous place to stay
We have just spent a lovely weekend in Brighton, and we were so glad that we chose the Amherst. We could not fault it. We had a very warm welcome on arrival and our room was spotless clean. The linen was to die for you would not get better if you were staying in a top class hotel. There was nothing more that you could want for in your room with free tea coffee crisps and biscuits. Also a lovely supply of toiletries. The position of the hotel is ideal because it's only a short walk from every where but far enough away to get a good nights sleep.

Reviewed by
R Chinn

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolute gem
Super friendly hosts without being intrusive. Lovely quiet back room very tastefully decorated and with great attention to detail. Felt like being at home.

Reviewed by
valerie cottrell

From Liskeard, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant surprise!
We only wanted 'a room for the night', we expected cleanliness and a basic cereal and toast breakfast. We received: a very warm welcome, an extremely comfortable mini suite with all facilities. The personal waiter service at breakfast was a delight and the full English worth every penny of the small extra charge.

Reviewed by
T Wells

From Staplecross, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend trip
This hotel is a delight. Well located and friendly staff. Room was neat and tidy and very comfortable bed

Reviewed by
J Weston

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next