No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Highcliffe Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Wellington Terrace , Clevedon, BS21 7PU
Located just 5 minutes from junction 20 of the M5 motorway The Highcliffe Hotel offers a perfect base for exploring Bristol, Bath and North Somerset. All our rooms are en-suite with some having stunning views over the Bristol channel and, on a clear day, the Welsh countryside. We have a comfortable bar, restaurant and large balcony area with undisturbed views across the Channel. Including WI-FI in all rooms (£2.00 per day) and SKY TV in the bar. Our friendly staff are always on hand to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
This hotel is ideal for the business or leisure traveller visiting Bristol, Avonmouth, Portbury, Nailsea, Yatton and Clevedon itself.
Picture of Highcliffe Hotel, Clevedon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Hotel
The Highcliffe Hotel is reasonably priced and suited us for our one night visit, primarily to visit the Victorian Pier, which was fabulous.
Cameron and his staff were extremely pleasant and helpful.
The décor was a little out of date but we couldn't fault the cleanliness of the bed, room and bathroom.
Good value in my opinion and what a lovely place Clevedon is!

Reviewed by
Julie S

From New Malden, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the room was clean and tidy with a great view of the river severn
We asked the highcliff hotel on the Saturday morning if we could check in early as we have a wedding to go to early in the afternoon. They just asked what time we wanted to check in and there was no problem. The staff were friendly and polite, the sunday breakfast was enough and freshly cooked

Reviewed by
ian j

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clevedon stop-over.
Basic but adequate accommodation. Room was clean, bedding warm and cosy, ensuite a little shabby, but it is a very old building, and difficult to update very much. Some decaff tea and coffee in the room would have been nice. Didn't try the food as we ate with our family who live nearby. Very creaky stairs, and rather claustrophobic in the tiny space on the top landing. Fine for a couple of nights stop-over, but dont expect luxury. Not bad value for money paid. Would probably use it again.

Reviewed by
Brian P

From Penzance, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
Stay was comfortable and view was excellent

Reviewed by
S Mukerji

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highcliffe Clevedon teetering on the edge
The provided linen was clean, the bath and shower worked and the bathroom tiling was almost completely whole but clean. The window had not been cleaned on the outside for some years and the window was painted shut, fast.
The pillows under their covers were stained (do people dribble in their sleep or are they used for - other purposes?) and had some sort of odour not found at home. Same comment for the mattress cover.
The mattress was so lumpy, we were pleased, as usual, that we had brought our own Tempur top mattress that gave us a good night's sleep,
More could be done to clean up the room not attended to by the daily staff routing. The owner needs to spend money on the hotel to bring it up to an acceptable standard.
Parking appreciated, views from the window - of the muddy Severn - were there, breakfast was quite satisfactory and the receptionist was most helpful and genial. Very convenient for the town and it IS value for money.

Reviewed by
Chris J

From Leighton Buzzard, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

shower was poor.room needs updating but was fine for our needs.easy to find,nice location and view.The jungle in front of the hotel could be a really nice place for guests to relax if it was sorted out.

Reviewed by
david wright

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

amazing views overlooking the sea
Good clean large room with amazing views over the sea. Bathroom was narrow but very clean. Only criticism was that the bedding and carpets could do with updating. Breakfast was delicious and all the staff were helpful and friendly.

Reviewed by
NICOLA T

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
A very tired hotel in a great position. Limited parking.

Reviewed by
Andrew W

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean friendly and comfortable

Reviewed by
Tony P

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight Stay
Hotel staff friendly and helpful, Hotel could do with a general refurbishment.

Reviewed by
Glenn R

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next