No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Highcliffe Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Wellington Terrace , Clevedon, BS21 7PU
Located just 5 minutes from junction 20 of the M5 motorway The Highcliffe Hotel offers a perfect base for exploring Bristol, Bath and North Somerset. All our rooms are en-suite with some having stunning views over the Bristol channel and, on a clear day, the Welsh countryside. We have a comfortable bar, restaurant and large balcony area with undisturbed views across the Channel. Including WI-FI in all rooms (£2.00 per day) and SKY TV in the bar. Our friendly staff are always on hand to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
This hotel is ideal for the business or leisure traveller visiting Bristol, Avonmouth, Portbury, Nailsea, Yatton and Clevedon itself.
Picture of Highcliffe Hotel, Clevedon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highcliffe Clevedon teetering on the edge
The provided linen was clean, the bath and shower worked and the bathroom tiling was almost completely whole but clean. The window had not been cleaned on the outside for some years and the window was painted shut, fast.
The pillows under their covers were stained (do people dribble in their sleep or are they used for - other purposes?) and had some sort of odour not found at home. Same comment for the mattress cover.
The mattress was so lumpy, we were pleased, as usual, that we had brought our own Tempur top mattress that gave us a good night's sleep,
More could be done to clean up the room not attended to by the daily staff routing. The owner needs to spend money on the hotel to bring it up to an acceptable standard.
Parking appreciated, views from the window - of the muddy Severn - were there, breakfast was quite satisfactory and the receptionist was most helpful and genial. Very convenient for the town and it IS value for money.

Reviewed by
Chris J

From Leighton Buzzard, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

shower was poor.room needs updating but was fine for our needs.easy to find,nice location and view.The jungle in front of the hotel could be a really nice place for guests to relax if it was sorted out.

Reviewed by
david wright

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

amazing views overlooking the sea
Good clean large room with amazing views over the sea. Bathroom was narrow but very clean. Only criticism was that the bedding and carpets could do with updating. Breakfast was delicious and all the staff were helpful and friendly.

Reviewed by
NICOLA T

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
A very tired hotel in a great position. Limited parking.

Reviewed by
Andrew W

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean friendly and comfortable

Reviewed by
Tony P

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight Stay
Hotel staff friendly and helpful, Hotel could do with a general refurbishment.

Reviewed by
Glenn R

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Visit to Family March 2014
Have stayed at Highcliffe Hotel before due to convenience when visiting family in the area. Good sea views but feel the rooms could do with a bit of updating although everything was clean and comfortable and service was good. Good value for money.

ManagementResponse

It was a pleasure to welcome you back. Thank you for your positive feedback. Look forward to seeing you next time.

Reviewed by
Caroline W

From St Neots, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly Atmosphere
Staff were really welcoming and accommodating. Lovely location unfortunately our room was below ground level so appeared dark and stale. Great value if you need somewhere to stay for a night.

Reviewed by
Thomas U

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Conveniently located with 'on site' parking. Pleasant member of staff at reception. We were pleased to have a view of the estuary from our room, which was quiet and comfortable. It would however have been helpful if there had been a power point located closer to the mirror on the dressing table.

Reviewed by
Gerry D

From England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice view but......
Room was nice with a stunning view of the sea. Good quality bedding etc. bathroom looked clean and fit for purpose. However, when I returned to the hotel later that night, I discovered the bathroom carpet was soaking wet! So wet in fact that I had to wear shoes. When I mentioned it to staff the next morning, there was no apology only an 'I'll make a note of it' comment. I was not impressed!!

ManagementResponse

Sorry that you were affected by the severe weather we had that evening. We have now managed to fix the problem. It was unfortunate that you didn't inform us on your arrival back later that night, as we could have managed to find an alternative room for you. We are very sorry that you met with this unfortunate incident. We are disappointed, and embarrassed, that you felt you were not properly treated on your departure after informing us. The staff member tells me that they did apologise, although evidently not clearly enough, for which we can only apologise now. Thank you for bringing this to our attention; a few words and a little extra training required.

Reviewed by
tanya t

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next