No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hempstead House Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
London Road,Bapchild , Bapchild , ME9 9PP
Privately owned, Hempstead House Hotel and Spa exudes the kind of convivial atmosphere that over the years has earned it an enviable reputation for genuine country hospitality alongside professional service.Set back within ample grounds and overlooking attractive Kentish countryside. Hempstead House's unmistakable ambience of open log fires and antique furnishings is the epitome of classic Victorian charm. Brand new Spa and Fitness suite opened in October 2008 and all the facilities are avaialable to resident guest. With one AA Rosette, the award winning cuisine is superb. A tempting variety of Classical English and French dishes caters for traditional as well as more adventurous tastes, everything is carefully prepared using locally produced fresh fish and meat, with fresh fruit and vegetables delivered from covent garden each day. The cellar boasts a selection of over 200 wines.

Set in the elegant surroundings of Hempstead House Hotel, ‘AquaManda’ is the perfect place to retreat, relax and unwind, work on your fitness and indulge and pamper yourself. Our philosophy is wellness as a result of a healthy lifestyle as opposed to a solitary fitness regime. With us you will find everything you need to enhance your well-being and awaken your senses.
AquaManda has been designed to create a calm and inviting environment to make you feel at ease while achieving your health and fitness goals. Our approach is to devise individual training and beauty programs which are tailored your needs. Your program will be constantly reviewed and you will receive on-going professional consultation to achieve your desired results.
We regret that children under the age of 16 are not allowed to use our spa facilities.
15 Meter indoor swimming pool
Jacuzzi
Hydrotherapy pool
‘Technogym’ with cardio and resistance equipment
Fitness Studio featuring the ‘Technogym Kinesis’ and the innovative ‘Powerplate’
Sauna
Steam Room
5 treatment rooms, one of which will accommodate two people
Exclusive PEVONIA signature treatments and products, JESSICA Nails, ARTDECO Make up And St.Tropez tanning
Relaxation Lounge
Hair Dressing and Make up
Manicure and pedicure area
Fitness Instruction and Personal training
Disabled access to all areas including the pool.
Picture of Hempstead House Hotel, Bapchild  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hempstead House Heaven
We stayed here a family wedding and the venue was perfect. We were warmly greeted by Rita when we arrived, shown to our lovely room in the old part of the hotel. The bed was sooo comfy. Dinner was delicious and the wedding reception beautifully catered for. It is a warm, friendly, family run hotel and I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone and stay there again... 1st class all the way !

Reviewed by
charles romaine

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay in sittingbourne
Very homely atmosphere in what was/is a family home. My room was large and airy with a good size clean bathroom . The wall mounted TV was a little small for the size of the room-but that is minor. Very helpful staff at reception and in restaurants. I opted for an evening meal in the braserie as the main restaurant was a little pricey and I did not want al a carte. I had an excellent steak with a gorgeous pepper corn sauce, fresh cut chips and all the trimmings. That is a straight forward meal but what made this different was that the chef knew what he/she was doing and it was all freshly cooked-not freezer to microwave/fryer to table. The sweet was also home prepared and excellent. My breakfast was also very good. I will be staying again.

Reviewed by
michael b

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mad if you stay anywhere else
Fantastic experience at the hotel, room was great, food was lovely, fantastic gym,sauna, jacuzzi and steam room. Would not stay anywhere else within 30 miles off it

Reviewed by
P Fitzpatrick

From Birkenhead , England
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a little close to home but a pleasant stay
We came here for a wedding reception and had a wonderful evening so must say the venue was very good in that respect.
Our room was in the old part of the grounds and although in places decor was looking a little neglected and the room creaked and groaned a bit it all seemed to add to the character of the place. The room was clean and presentable and uniquely furnished which worked well with the age of the house.
We took advantage of a late bookout on the sunday and used their spa facilities to relax and recover from the night before which was very pleasant and well thought.
In ways I would stay here again but due to the fact its so close to home I would only stay for a similar function. However if you are not a local and are looking to stay somewhere away from the typical big chains of well known hotels I have no doubt you'd be happy with your decision to stay here.

Reviewed by
Noel P

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hempstead house
my room was in the older part of the hotel and I had forgotten how hot it is at this time of year (May) and as there is no air conditioning found it very difficult to sleep. the mattress on occasions was too soft and uncomfortable. when I opened the window to cool the room down the noise from the road is quite loud and doesn't stop, as well as the pigeons cooing. overall it wasn't a great experience.

Reviewed by
n perera

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pre Warning
Please be aware there are no lifts in the original part of this hotel and its like climbing the eiger! Was informed at check in that this should have been established by myself on booking but obviously I am very naive as I took it for granted that all hotels more than ground floor level would have lifts!I have suffered with my disability now for ^6 years and this is the first time I have encountered this. The receptionist was far from helpful just continuously reminding us that we booked through an agent so not her problem - had a feeling she didn't like this despite informing her that the hotel was full when we attempted to book direct. The moral being check first

Reviewed by
Jacquelyn B

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Friendly
We felt really at home from the moment we arrived. A great nights sleep and a lovely breakfast.
It was a last minute booking and we arrived late, but we were told we could use the spa after we checked out the day after our stay. Great spa too.

Reviewed by
martin p

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok
This was a cosy and welcoming hotel but I think that it was a little overpriced. The reception staff were kind and friendly but sometimes did not seem to know what was going on and were a bit confused. Our bed was comfy and the room was nice enough but I felt the bathroom was a little dated. The beeping noise by the main entrance door drove us mad when we were having a drink in the lounge before we left the hotel, it must drive the reception staff mad too. The pool is lovely but not very relaxing as the noise of the water coming out of the high-pressure jets is very very loud. We had a nice lunch in the restaurant by the pool but we did comment that the bread tasted more like cake.

Reviewed by
SARAH T

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pefect for a wedding
Stayed for 2 nights for a wedding in June and it was great. We were in a room in the main building which had no aircon on a hot day - nuff said! - Also, no fridge or safe - nuff said! Bed was a little hard and the bedding was more winter than summer. Great place though.

Reviewed by
Alan H

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay
We had a lovely day at Hempstead House, we enjoyed using the pool and Jacuzzi. The staff were very friendly and professional, nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was excellent and well presented.
We would definitely use the hotel again and recommend to our friends.

Reviewed by
R Bartlett

From Sittingbourne, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next