You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Palm Court Hotel Ltd


31 Eastern Esplanade Cliftonville, Margate, CT9 2HL

Price From 72.35 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (21)

57% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • N K

  • October 2016

Palm Court Hotel Ltd

The room was cold, the heating came on at strange times.

The carpet didn't fit, screws coming out of the walls. No evening meal( which was an option) Not available!?. Eating out was an option but everywhere was a take away, which is ok but if it's cold out, it's not a lot of fun. TV was lacking in signal ( very annoying) when you halfway though a program. Breakfast was ok but small.

  • Martin W

  • August 2016

A pleasant stay

We stayed for one night in the family room at the top of the hotel.

From reading other reviews we were a little bit apprehensive. We needn't have been as we had a pleasant stay. The room was spacious and the beds were clean and comfortable. We all had a very good nights sleep and in the morning had an adequate breakfast. If we were the type of people to nit pick we could say that the decor could do with some updating but for a short stay we were perfectly happy with our choice.

  • V Fisher

  • August 2016

Not a good experience. Really uncomfortable and extremely noisey beds,no hot water and no breakfast

Absolutely ridiculous that you have to phone up reception in the morning to get a breakfast.

as we did not know we ended up with NO breakfast which just added to the bad experiences. Noisy and very uncomfortable beds, no hot water and tv did not work

Response from hotel

Mrs Vikki Fisher – It is very unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay in our hotel. We have checked the bed you used. You had two single beds for yourself and none of the beds in the room were making a noise. You were told when you checked in to use the free phone in your room to contact us in case of any difficulty or any complaint. You discovered that there was no hot water, instead of phoning and informing us, you did not do that. Fortunately, one reasonable guest phoned and informed us and we quickly topped up the water pressure. It did not take 5 minutes to get the hot water running again. It was the water pressure that went down. We have now tried to resolve the problem.

You missed your breakfast because you said you overslept. Breakfast is served between 8am and 10am. We told you about this when you registered to check in and the instruction was in your room with the Menu as well. You came down at 10:10am and asked if it was still okay for you to have breakfast. We told you that breakfast finished at 10am.We even tried to offer you cereal and toast. You said we should not worry.

By asking guests to phone 10minutes before coming for breakfast to order whatever they like from the Menu from their rooms, is to save them time. Not waiting for long when they arrive and also to be sure of having hot meals rather than cold breakfast. We only start cooking the breakfast when they place the order. All the guests have to do when they arrive is to tell us their room number and get their food.

Vikki Fisher, I hope you understand the explanation of phoning 10minutes before coming for breakfast and placing the order.


Julie Falade

  • Helen Smith

  • August 2016

Palm Court Hotel Ltd

The room is ok as it's Luxury but there is no hot water and the toilet is wobbly, when you sit down it feels like it falls down.

No fridge to put drinks in. The sea view is excellent with the balcony. The breakfast is a bit too small and the quality of it is low. I did not enjoy it at all.

  • V Minaeva

  • August 2016

Morning coffee was rocking

I was playing beach volleyball in Margate so had to book a room to stay for a night.

Wasn't disappointed as I had to book last minute and this was the most affordable room in Margate. Very nice, polite lady welcomed me in and the stay overall was good

  • Claire R

  • May 2016

Just skip the breakfast and you'll be ok

Good-sized room.

Reception locked when we arrived late afternoon on a Saturday. Room clean. Heating on and couldn't turn it off. Bed comfortable. Bathroom fine.

The breakfast had to be ordered 10 minutes before you wanted it and it would be hard to make it worse. The sausage probably didn't have a lot of meat in it. I ate it out of politeness. The bacon looked like it had been hanging around for a long time, and the egg was solid. There was no fresh juice on offer. The coffee was good. I have been to other places for a similar cost which offer much better fare.

  • Diane Jones

  • April 2016

Good for the price

Typical seafront hotel, narrow with fairly steep stairs.

Free parking out the front which was good. Room fairly small but fine for our needs. Landlady was really nice although she did forget our extra pillows we asked for so if you need more than one pillow, take your own as there may not be any spare ones. I had to ring twice with queries but the landlady called me back promptly. Breakfast was ok but would prefer buffet style.

  • Tammy Adnett

  • April 2016

Palm Court Hotel Ltd


  • D Weekes

  • October 2015

Oh dear!

We was met at the door by a young lady smoking a rolled up cigarette, we was told the owner was on the phone and would be out soon.

10 minutes later the owner appeared and ushered us into the reception, this was a room that looked like a storage cupboard, there were boxes piled up at one end and the general appearance was of a dark disorganised and unwelcoming place. We was given our room key and also keys for the street door and inner door and although she explained which key was which that is as far as it got, we were told our room number and was pointed towards the staircase. she did not show us to our room, she did not make any attempt to explain how to evacuate the building in the case of a fire. The room was on the top floor and although fairly clean had holes in the plaster behind the curtains. We reluctantly decided that we would stay there that night, and we left there at 6:30 the next morning, unwilling to stay any longer than was necessary.

  • D Crawley

  • October 2015


The owner very friendly and welcoming.

Whilst the hotel is rather dated and furnishings all odd, it was kind of how I expected a seaside B&B in Margate to be. Lots of stairs so no use to anyone with a problem climbing them.

Whilst my room was cold on the first night. Asked for extra bedding and this was done with no problems. Parking is out on the road and is free. Although busy, we never had a problem with parking. Could easily walk into the town (15 minutes). Far easier and cheaper than trying to park.