Reviews - Palm Court Hotel Ltd


31 Eastern Esplanade Cliftonville, Margate, CT9 2HL

Price From 129.18 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (31)

42% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Michael Linley

  • August 2015

1 night stay in Margate...

The Lady owner could not have been nicer, she was giggly and funny and a lovely person.

I would definitely recommend anyone to stay there. The Hotel was near the seafront and only a short walk to Margate Centre. Very happy to review this.

  • Jane L

  • August 2015

At the bottom end of B&B market

The room was small and very worn, clearly at the lower end of the B&B with a price set too high.

Bed was hard, TV tiny with poor reception, bathroom not modern. We were not shown or told about any facilities and have no idea how our experience squares up with the advertisement. Cereals were not branded ones and no fruit at breakfast. We had a back room and it was very quiet.

  • Andy H

  • June 2015

Pleasant Stay

We had a pleasant stay at the hotel.

Our room had a four-poster bed and a balcony with a view of the sea.The room was clean and tidy. A quiet location ensured a good nights sleep. Julie was a friendly host and provided a good breakfast.

  • Gillian Davies

  • May 2015

Night away from London

Great wee hotel, a little bit far from the town centre but a nice walk to get to with lovely views on the way.

Friendly staff and clean room; the room we had booked was taken for another night by the previous visitor so we were upgraded to a lovely room with sea views, seating area next to the window and a bath. Lovely stay :-)

  • Ron k

  • May 2015

Election Night

The lady that runs this hotel was very accommodating and offered to cook me a meal as soon as I arrived.

Because I was working overnight I never actually slept in my room but simply used the hotel as a base.The room had it own ensuite which I believe all the rooms had. In the morning I arrived outside the official breakfast hours but was still kindly offered a breakfast. This lady works very hard to maintain a hotel at a budget price in an area ( Thanet ) that has been struggling this past decade. The decor might be a little dated but this is more than compensated by the Landladies welcome and typical West African humour.

  • barbara bailey

  • April 2015

room could have been cleaner, service was very amateur they did not seem to know what they were when serving breakfast.

the landlady was very kind and pleasant but could do with some basic training on how to run a BnB

  • J Crompton

  • April 2015

Not too good old tired not very clean noisy from owners kids did not get clean towels often enough

Was not very pleased with standard of accommodation a little under par tv played up wi fi not much cop where do I begin.

Having stayed in smiths court a few times they need to get their act together no comparison. The rooms need serious clean and upgrading. In total I paid £290 for 7 nights I was looking after a sick friend next door so did not have to spend time in my room luckily.

  • D Cheetham

  • April 2015

Palm Hotel

My partner and I were disappointed by this hotel.

The landlady was friendly and efficient but the hotel was not of a good standard. It was poorly decorated, the bed was hard, the lighting dim. It was also cold. None of the furniture matched each other. We had English breakfast, which was nice but small. The kettle worked.

  • James S

  • March 2015

An enjoyable weekend!

I have never been to Margate for either business or leisure, so didn't know what to expect.

The sun was shining when I arrived though and as the hotel is located along the famous seafront, this made for a photogenic start. The place is about a 15-20 min walk from the train station, but lots of parking nearby for cars. The room I had booked online was a single, but as this was not available when I arrived, I was put in a double at no extra charge. As a student traveler, for £40 per night it was very good. Comfy bed, en-suite, good lighting, wardrobe etc. The only problem was that the TV would only get 2 channels - 4 and an African one. I only crashed in the room as I was out all day during the day, but for anyone spending more time in the room the TV may be an issue. Breakfast typical for BnB, sets you up for the day. All in all, would happily visit again.

  • Nigel P

  • February 2015

Friendly small hotel

Much of the furniture is ancient, but the bed was comfortable and the room and bathroom were clean.

The whole place could do with a little TLC, but I'd be happy to stay here again next time I'm in Margate.