Palm Court Hotel Ltd

2

31 Eastern Esplanade Cliftonville, Margate, CT9 2HL

Price From 76.91 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (36)

56% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • J Crompton

  • April 2015

Not too good old tired not very clean noisy from owners kids did not get clean towels often enough

Was not very pleased with standard of accommodation a little under par tv played up wi fi not much cop where do I begin.

Having stayed in smiths court a few times they need to get their act together no comparison. The rooms need serious clean and upgrading. In total I paid £290 for 7 nights I was looking after a sick friend next door so did not have to spend time in my room luckily.

  • D Cheetham

  • April 2015

Palm Hotel

My partner and I were disappointed by this hotel.

The landlady was friendly and efficient but the hotel was not of a good standard. It was poorly decorated, the bed was hard, the lighting dim. It was also cold. None of the furniture matched each other. We had English breakfast, which was nice but small. The kettle worked.

  • James S

  • March 2015

An enjoyable weekend!

I have never been to Margate for either business or leisure, so didn't know what to expect.

The sun was shining when I arrived though and as the hotel is located along the famous seafront, this made for a photogenic start. The place is about a 15-20 min walk from the train station, but lots of parking nearby for cars. The room I had booked online was a single, but as this was not available when I arrived, I was put in a double at no extra charge. As a student traveler, for £40 per night it was very good. Comfy bed, en-suite, good lighting, wardrobe etc. The only problem was that the TV would only get 2 channels - 4 and an African one. I only crashed in the room as I was out all day during the day, but for anyone spending more time in the room the TV may be an issue. Breakfast typical for BnB, sets you up for the day. All in all, would happily visit again.

  • Nigel P

  • February 2015

Friendly small hotel

Much of the furniture is ancient, but the bed was comfortable and the room and bathroom were clean.

The whole place could do with a little TLC, but I'd be happy to stay here again next time I'm in Margate.

  • N payne

  • September 2014

Amazing stay, we had 4 rooms in total and all of them were lovely.

Our family room was massive and had more beds than we needed, which is a 1st for my family of 5. My sister and family hade a huge room with a lovely corner bath, my parents had a 4 poster bed with a corner bath and all of us had brilliant sea views, my grandparents also had a great room with a shower, with the only 1 moan from my Nan was about the stairs, but there were no more or less than you would expect. We all had a great time. Julie was fantastic and helpful and the breakfast was fab. We will be back,

  • J Adams

  • September 2014

Disappointed and dissatisfied.

I was shown to my room I was disappointed to find it so cramped and dingy.

The shower cubical is tiny and barely room to turn around and there was no hot water. The tile grouting and shower base were black and grimy. the bed was comfortable enough. Breakfast was disappointing and the coffee instant. Fresh coffee in the morning would have gone a little way to making amends.. When I went to check out I was asked how I enjoyed my stay and so I told them I was disappointed and about the cold water and the dirt and how I felt that the room was over priced. the charming gentleman behind reception offered me a complimentary stay in a different room which I declined as I will never go back to that hotel. the manager was less charming and quite confrontational pointing her finger in my face.. told me that I was wrong and that the room was not overpriced and it was my fault as I booked online and she assumed I was two people so £60 was right. (The hotel info stated the room as a single) Had I rung the hotel direct I would have got a discount. As I paid on arrival that argument doesn't really hold water. she gave me a £10 refund and asked me 'You happy now?' I didn't reply and I just left. I am not happy now. but I did not want a stand up row with the woman in the reception area.

  • d culling

  • September 2014

very basic but clean room.

food cooked to order very good. No hot water from tap or shower no hairdryer i think it needs to be cheaper for what you get

  • Ursula I

  • August 2014

Not what was expected

I feel a bit bad to have to do this review as the woman who runs this Hotel was very nice and I am sure that she does her best but...

a business does not only run on good attitude. The Hotel is seriously dated, the so called Spa is chargeable and its not really a Spa but more of an old sauna and small jacuzzi in a room inside what it seems to be the lady's living area. The décor of the room was very old and nothing match, it looked like a old persons room in which an old TV and other old furniture and appliances have been put together. The bed was very squeaky and the bedding looked really old. The room was not dirty but it was not clean either, there were cob webs and dirt. The doors slamming and the noise from the guest upstairs woke us up both mornings. The location of the Hotel is good but in all fairness the rest of Hotels and B& B's around the area charge around the same amount of money (some even a bit less) and seemed to be in much better condition. The Hotel has potential but it needs serious refurbishment.

  • Jenny S

  • August 2014

Ok for a couple of nights

Clean, bit out of way for where we needed to be, but suitable for a couple of nights

  • G KIGGINS

  • August 2014

Very helpfull & freindly staff

room was clean, but decor a bit tired in places, (balcony room)