Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Central England > West Midlands > Birmingham Hotels > CityQuarters at Shaftesbury House Serviced Apartments
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - CityQuarters at Shaftesbury House Serviced Apartments

4Self Classified Serviced Apartments Ratings explained
59-61 Station Street , Birmingham, B5 4DY
The stylish, great value Shaftesbury House Serviced Apartments are within 2 minutes of New Street Station, The Hippodrome, The Chinese Quarter , Selfridges and the Bullring Shopping Centre.

All apartments were refurbished in April 2011 and benefit from secure access along with CityQuarters’ hassle free 24-hour automated check-in system. Each of the apartments are tastefully furnished and come with a fully equipped kitchen, living area with a Flat Screen TV, Free Wi-Fi and sleeping area.

If paying with American Express, City Quarters will add a 3.35% additional charge.

Payment will be taken in full at time of booking. Your booking will not be confirmed until payment has been taken in full. Once payment has been received, CityQuarters will issue you with a 4-digit pin which will gain you access to the building.

CityQuarters reserve the right to take a £150 security deposit for all 1 or 2 night bookings. If the costs associated with damage caused exceed the damage deposit you will be liable for any outstanding balance. A damage deposit of £150 will be taken for all 1 and 2 night weekend bookings. The deposit will be refunded the next working day once the apartment has been checked for damage and there has been no evidence of parties or disturbance to other guests.
Picture of CityQuarters at Shaftesbury House Serviced Apartments, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hidden £150 deposit that was not clear on laterooms

Reviewed by
steve redmond

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
Excellent staff. Good accommodation and excellent siting in the City. Lot of building work going on outside which was a little irritating.

Reviewed by
B Osborne

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Apartment was nice, more space than a hotel room. All I needed was a bed for the night so it was perfect. I was a bit worried about the noise from New St Station but the secondary glazing worked well. I noticed the pub next door does live music so you might not be so lucky when there's a band on.
Had everything you needed except, bizarrely, no toilet paper.

Reviewed by
Tom L

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Serviced Appartment Experience
This was my first experience of City Quarters. The key pickup did not go too well as I had to wait in the rain for 10mins for staff on the emergency number to call me back. The overall experience was good with a convenient location so I would use them again.

Reviewed by
Jonathan H

From Surbiton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


Reviewed by
Nick D

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bit expensive, but good quality apartment
As above

Reviewed by
q bhatti

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Underwhelming. Poorly furnished and musty air
This was not a good experience. The decor and quality of the furnishings is not nice. The room was dark and the quality of the air terrible. My clothes stank the next morning of a damp musty aroma. I would not return or recommend this place for anyone staying on business.

Reviewed by
Nick D

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Customer Service
I arrived late to the aprtment, the key was in the safe and i got into my room with ease. However when i went to go to sleep, there was a party going on in a nearby room making it impossible for me to sleep!!
i called the number in the guest book and told the lovely chap on the end of the phone my issue. He was extremely understanding and offered me another oom at the back of the block (away from the noise!)
he was quick and efficient and i was in another room within 15 minutes of the phone call (it was nearly 1am by this point so i was pleased!)
i was very pleased with the way he dealt with the problem and was very polite and extremely appologetic.
thankyou.

Reviewed by
S CORKING

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lucky to gain access to the rpoom
We stayed at shaftsbury house over may bank holiday and arrived to the entrance of the apartment at 3:30pm. There was a keypad on the entrance asking for a 4 digit code. I had not been sent any confirmation from city quarters with a entrance code on and therefore presses the bell with no answer. There were 2 phone numbers that stated it would offer 24 hour assistance. I tried ringing both of them to which no one answered. I left a message on the answer phone explaining who i was, that i was stood outside and could not gain entrance to the building and would it be possible for someone to call me back asap. Some guests were on there way out and gave us access to the entrance hall so at least we were not stood on the street with our bags. After ringing the numbers provided for the serviced apartment with no response. I rang late rooms. they too could not get in touch with anyone. After a further hour there was a guest walking through the lobby we explained our situation to which she stated that the site manage was off till tuesday and therefore he would not be of any assistance till then. she managed to assist us on getting out key out of the safe. we got in our apartment at 5:45pm this being after 2 hours of our arrival and made us late for our meal reservation. I had spoken to some one at shaftsbury house during the week regarding a parking space and the person explained it was a busy bank holiday weekend so he could not guarantee me a parking place, If the management company knew it was a busy weekend and they had people staying why would then not have anyone able to answer their phone lines?/ When we got in to the apartment it was lovely, clean and modern its a pity we had such a negative and un-organised first impression. I dread to think what would happen if we had not spoken to one of the other residents. It has been a few weeks now and i have not even received a courtesy response from the message that i left.

Reviewed by
laura m

From salford, England
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great apartments in great location.Some issues with TV+internet which were resolved for next time.
Stayed at Shaftesbury House for one night on a Saturday in April 2013 with my best friend.
Booked through late rooms which had the best price at the time. As I was staying for only one night on a weekend they do take a £150 deposit from you, and mine was refunded within 4 days of my Departure. They even sent me an email on the Monday telling me it would be refunded which is always a nice relief!
Had rung for information before arrival; staff were friendly and helpful on the phone.

TOP TIP: for parking your car the city council Pershore Street Car Park, which is about a 5minute walk to the apartments is the best value at an amazing £3.50 for 24hours, which for the centre of Birmingham is an absolute bargain. Everywhere else is charges considerably more, with some car parks not allowing 24 hour stays.
Pershore Street car park is about 150 yards from Debenhams Bull Ring, opposite Arcadian and next to the ice rink. You would probably miss it unless you were looking for it as it's not well signposted. If someone who is leaving sees you arriving they often hand you their car park ticket to use anyway for free!! The apartments do offer a car park a bit closer which is £12 for 24 hours.
The location is really great. You are about 1 minute from the Bull Ring, and 5minute walk from Arcadian Centre/Hurst Street. 5minute walk to New Street Station. These apartments are past the Holiday Inn, round the corner. Use street view on google if you are not familiar with the area beforehand as I did which was helpful.
I was really impressed at the location given the price we paid for two was £40 each, as it was £80 for one night stay. Loads more space than the hotels located almost immediately next door charging more for less space. I know other reviewers have mentioned the apartments are small, but I chose the one bedroomed apartment and this was a really great size.
On arrival I followed instructions on email easily, you enter a four digit code to enter the building. Same code to open the safe by the entrance, which has your name on an envelope containing your keys. It did take me a moment to find my room number 3.4 on the paperwork, this could have been made a bit clearer or bigger.
I went to floor three via the lift and was immediately confused! There was one room on the floor which did not say 3.4. I tried to open it with my key unsuccessfully, and a nice lady who was staying in that room came out and told me there was a door just by the lift which had more apartments in!! That door by the lift does not have any sign or notice explaining there are more apartments behind the door, hence me thinking it was some sort of fire exit!! I think the layout is the same for each floor, so do make sure you notice the door immediately on the right as you come out of the lift. This door leads to more apartments.
Anyway, eventually found my apartment and went inside and it was a lovely place. It was a good space and furnished really well. I felt it was really good value in terms of space, furnishings and location, compared with a local hotel room. The apartment I had booked was the one bedroom apartment. Looked exactly like the photos. It was very clean, modern and beautifully furnished. The bedroom was spacious with a wardrobe, shelves, bedside cabinets and the all important full-length mirror!
The bathroom was a good size with handwashes provided (bring your own shower gel/shampoo), nice shower with bath. The kitchen/living area was lovely. The kitchen comes with toaster, microwave etc and good stock of cutlery and crockery so you don't need to bring your own like I did!
However I did have two negative issues whilst there! One was the fact that the TV did not appear to have good signal, as after hours of trying to locate channels I finally only managed to get Channel 3 :( This was echoed by my neighbour in room 3.2 who I made friends with, who had the same problem and could not sort my TV or his either. There was no guide/Samsung instruction manual for the TV that I could find.
The second problem was the internet which was very temperamental, it kept losing connectivity throughout the night which was really frustrating. As they are advertised as the sort of accomodation that is "home from home" for city professionals, I had booked assuming they would have would have excellent TV and internet facilities.
I could have rung the 0845 phone number for help (its 24hour helpline) but I checked in rather late and it was around 10pm when I reached the end of my tether with both TV and internet, and honestly I did not want to bother the staff at this late time, perhaps I should have, maybe that's my fault!
These two issues really disappointed me in what was otherwise excellent accomodation. It's a shame that what seems to be relatively minor things to me have let Shaftesbury House down for me. I don't know if it was just my misfortune to have this apartment with bad connections, or if these issues were the same in all of the apartments.

I did contact CityQuarters a few days after I departed and told them about the TV and internet. The manager emailed me back to apologise and said he would personally look into it and email me back.
Conclusion: if you have problems with their internet you can ring the 0845 number in the welcome pack and ask for a different internet network: apparently they have "other protected networks available in the building for business guests that have problems with connection speed". I would be inclined to ask for this pre-booking if you will need reliable internet, save you the faff of having to call them once you're there.
The TV issue the manager said: "The issue with the TV signal has been resolved. We have had to replace a signal booster as a few of the extensions off it had stopped working." And he kindly offered me 10%off next stay as goodwill gesture! Very friendly and helpful, responded quickly to emails.
Overall would I stay here again or recommend to others? Now that internet and TV sorted: definitely yes :)

Reviewed by
R Mehra

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next