No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Whitewater Hotel Spa & Leisure Club

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Backbarrow , Newby Bridge, LA12 8PX
There could hardly be a more attractive setting for a Hotel than here in the South of the English Lake District !Nestling in a valley on the banks of the River Leven, which flows from the southern end of Lake Windermere in the English Lake District, just over a mile away, The Whitewater Lake District Hotel can meet the many and varied needs of the discerning guest, whether for leisure or on business.Your stay gives you membership of 'Cascades' our own health and Fitness Club. Enjoy a swim in the ozone-purified pool, or really unwind in the whirlpool, sauna, steam room or solariums. The more energetic may prefer the championship squash courts, or in the grounds you can enjoy the all-weather tennis courts, a putting course and driving net. To explore locally, Mountain Bikes are available for hire.On the first floor we are justifiably proud of the purpose built exercise studio and spacious new air-conditioned gymnasium, containing the latest resistance and cross-training' cardiovascular exercise facilities. Our friendly, qualified instructors offer a full fitness assessment and inspired by the ever-changing river views we will help you create your own personalised and balanced training programme.To really spoil yourself or a loved one, visit our second floor Health Spa, where our fully trained Beauty Therapists offer an extensive range of specialised treatments including aromatherapy, cathiodermie, massage, manicure and facialsAfter you have explored the area, treat yourself to a Lakeland Dining experience. the Riverside Restaurant menu reflects the wealth of fine produce this wonderful county has to offer. There are 2 menus available, the a la carte and a daily changing Chef Recommends. The wine is arranged by style of wine with notes on grape type and country of origin. Our own riverside Fisherman's Bar offers an informal atmosphere for a bar lunch. Watch the wildlife on the river and admire the steam trains from the terrace.
Picture of Whitewater Hotel Spa & Leisure Club, Newby Bridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tasty food but room needed refurb
Booked a standard room but hotel directly called us and offered an "upgrade" to 4 poster room, which we took. Room itself was fine but not great. Decor was tired and dated and whilst the room was very clean, some of the fixtures had stains and the couch was worn on the arms. The TV was poor and the sash window also rattled all night. However view of the river from room was stunning, staff very helpful & food tasty & decent value for money.

Reviewed by
M Lysons

From Newton-le-Willows, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very relaxing stay
My husband and I had a lovely couple of days at this hotel, the room was really nice with a four poster bed and double size spa bath in bathroom which was a nice surprise, the leisure center was everything that was described, we only had one small issue but after speaking to the duty manager he managed to change a negative to a positive and nothing was too much trouble. Really enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
c skimming

From Dumfries, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Told to upgrade would be perfect for a couple was told wrong as it was an awful upgrade very unhappy
Stayed at whitewater before in April 2014 in a standard room
Was perfect no complaints we just came back from whitewater at the weekend we was advise to upgrade our room so we did saying would be £15 pn but then when bill come in at the end was £30 bloody discusting the room was dirty four poster bed dropping to bits curtains hanging off it didn't look like bathroom had been clean very un happy as before when we come was lot cheaper and lot nicer we've payed more to stay in something so bad tried telling someone at the reception but they just fob us off was bad experience we really like whitewater but after that just put a downer we was charged £358 for the dirty room for two nights and I think that's ridcilious and discusting customer service at this hotel is rubbish we would of rather stayed In another standard room was 100% better we came to stay for my birthday the hotel just ruined it!!!!!

Reviewed by
craig t

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

With a little supervision this could be excellent
Having booked a family room we arrived to a (very nice) double room. The staff eventually found an extra bed which the room could easilly accommodate. We are quite tolerant and found this solution very acceptable.
The hotel is nicely presented, and very convenient to access the southern lakes. The leisure centre is very well appointed and a great amenity for anyones stay.
We had one meal in the restaurant which would have been ok had the steak been cooked rare as I ordered rather than well done. Two mistakes with 2 refunds.
During our stay we became aware that mistakes of this kind were very frequent, and must be causing a significant loss to the owners. I would suggest that a little more direct supervision of the staff who were universally very young would lead to better service and less dissatisfied customers.

Reviewed by
steve williams

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not impressed
Dining room service very slow. Waited 45 minutes for our breakfast. Had to
wait for drinks in the Dolly Blue Bar, while they cashed up at 5.00pm!

Reviewed by
J Jackman

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend break
the room was very pleasant some of the staff were very slow to react to requests especially at breakfast time. had an evening meal in the main restaurant, my meal was absolutely terrible no care had been taken as to the standard of food being presented i complained to a member of staff and got little to no reaction

Reviewed by
brian b

From Berwick upon Tweed, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thumbs up for Whitewater
We have stayed at this hotel lots of times. It provides comfortable accommodation and is a very nice location. Best if you have a car though. The food in the main restaurant is superb and the service overall is very good. My only concern has been the Wi-Fi. Still very difficult to connect particularly if you own an Apple device. Overall I do recommend this hotel but much better value going through late room than paying their standard rates.

Reviewed by
R Lawrence

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not as expected
We booked the hotel for a romantic getaway after being inspired by the pictures and the services available. However, our room was very small and the floor wasn't very clean. The room we got looked nothing like the pictures of the double rooms.
The staff was mixed. The lady who received us was very moody, whereas the lady when we checked out was very friendly.
The breakfast is ok, it has a lot of meat- but not much for vegetarians. We had to wait for about 15min before we could sit down and another 15 min to get our coffee and toast. They were extremely busy in the morning.
The spa facilities are nice. The gym and pools were good standard.
There is not a lot to do in this specific area and the views are not as nice as over by Windemere.

Reviewed by
M Marshall

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Deserved Weekend Break
OK so its not the chepaest hotel in the Lake District but the staff and service were excellent, the hotel and rooms have real character. The setting by the River Leven is really nice and quiet with local walks available. We ate in the Dolly Blue Bar and the food was very good indeed with local produce and genuine friendly staff. Lesisure centre is very good with a decent size pool and sauna , we didn't use the gym or squash courts but can vouch for the pool being very good.
The only downside was we had very poor wifi signal in our room but hey its a break from norm so that didnt trouble us too much. Overall rating Very Good

Reviewed by
Martin D

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend away
The room was a family room? For two of us? Bathroom was clean, but the room needed a dust. Spa receptionist was uninterested with customers. Beware that CCTV is in operation in the pool area, much to my surprise. Our restaurant table was given away so we had to wait for an extra table to be brought up. The food was served lukewarm and was to a rosette standard in my opinion. At breakfast the next day our cutlery was dirty, the staff were very blunt and in need of customer service training. My wifes tea was cold, and we were told this was because the boiler was new and a bit dodgy! As if I needed to know that! I have emailedthis to the management and await a response. Ps. The cost of our evening meal was deducted from our bill.

Reviewed by
C I'Anson

From Northallerton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next