No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Pheasant Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Higher Burwardsley, , Tattenhall, Chester, CH3 9PF
Welcome to The Pheasant Inn at Higher Burwardsley. Tucked in a peaceful corner of rural Cheshire, The Pheasant enjoys some of the most magnificent panoramic views in the area. Nestling in the Peckforton Hills, this is a rambler's, hiker's and cyclist’s paradise. Close by you will also find the House of Wax candle workshops, Cheshire Fishing Lakes, Chester Zoo and Beeston and Peckforton Castles. Our twelve en-suite rooms combine both style and comfort and feature modern facilities such as complimentary wireless broadband internet. The Pheasant Inn is without doubt one of the most picturesque inns in Cheshire. Our menu is designed in three sections. A light-bites section for those that fancy a quick pit-stop or a simple salad, a home-comforts section honouring time-tested traditional gastro pub food, and a main course section featuring more varied British and European cuisine. A relaxing country retreat - ideal for escaping from the hustle of city life or for enjoying a quiet romantic weekend.
Picture of The Pheasant Inn, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent food, service, accommodation and experience.
Brilliant food, great staff, 100% going to return.

Reviewed by
Martin J

From Llannerch Y Medd, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hire of the Pheasant room at the pheasant inn on 30.12.14
I have previously stayed at the pheasant inn overnight when I hired the Delamere room, I believe in June 2012.
Although the ambience and pleasant appearance of the accommodation remains I found during my stay on 30th December 2014 that there is no sound insulation between the ceiling to the Delamere room and the room directly above. I was staying at the Pheasant inn as a half way stop off point whilst walking the Sandstone trail from Whitchurch to Frodsham. I met my family at the pheasant for a meal in the evening and planned an early night with a very early start the next day on the Sandstone trial. The noise from a male and female occupying the room upstairs was incredible and went on from around 10 pm until around 2 am. The bed was rocking, the was considerable groaning and I could practically hear the conversations. I did fill in the customer questionnaire in the room but there was no space for me to leave any particular comments. I would like the Pheasant inn to be aware of my comments as they may not realise the very poor sound insulation between the ground floor rooms and the up-lying rooms.
I have said that I would stay at the pheasant inn again and would recommend to a friend however there is a proviso being that the pheasant inn should contact me to inform me that they have properly sound insulated the accommodation. If I hear nothing then I will not stay at the pheasant again and would not recommend to a friend.

Reviewed by
Gavin F

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good
Lovely place.

Reviewed by
Lilian B

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

country comfort
had a fabulous stay. lovely place packed with atmosphere. excellent food and wine. lovely staff. very comfortable accommodation. will be back.

Reviewed by
Susan B

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab time at the pheasant inn
We had an amazing time! We arrived to lovely views and friendly staff. We has dinner at night that was delish and the waitress couldn't do enough for us. We weren't rushed at breakfast we had a great stay here,would recommend you stay we have been here 3 yrs on the run now.

Reviewed by
a thompson

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

best hotel bedroom and meal
we stayed here at the end of a three day trip round York and Chester for my husband's birthday - wish we had booked the full 3 days here - wonderful room, traditional inn and fab staff. lots of choice on the menu and very well cooked and good price. all in all, we intend going back asap.

Reviewed by
A Smith

From Rossendale, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent food fantastic setting dissapointing room

Reviewed by
j shudall

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheshire Plains
We have had several lunches at the hotel in the past and my wife decided she would also like to spend a night at the hotel sometime.
We had an excellent evening meal served by friendly Staff. Our room, although a basic one was perfectly adequate, had tea asking facilities and had a lovely view of the Cheshire Plains from the window

Reviewed by
Robert H

From Wallasey, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant stay at the Pheasant Inn
Courteous, helpful staff. Fantastic meal in a characteristic setting.
Superb view from bedroom.
I would recommend this Inn to anyone/ everyone i meet.

Reviewed by
J Mckenna

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was expecting much more for the money.
I don't usually give reviews but on this occasion I was so disappointed with my stay at this hotel I think others should be made aware that this hotel will probably not be to your expectations. The room was VERY small and cold, the bathroom was tiny, dirty and tired, no signal on the telly and every noise from the room above could be heard. We were kept awake most of the night by a high pitched beeping noise coming from the corridor. Another resident had complained to the staff but the noise went on all night. The food was OK but nothing special for the money.
It was well overpriced at £110 if I had paid the full £160 then there would have been demands for a refund. This is a £60 a night B&B

Reviewed by
Simon B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next