No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Pheasant Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Higher Burwardsley, , Tattenhall, Chester, CH3 9PF
Welcome to The Pheasant Inn at Higher Burwardsley. Tucked in a peaceful corner of rural Cheshire, The Pheasant enjoys some of the most magnificent panoramic views in the area. Nestling in the Peckforton Hills, this is a rambler's, hiker's and cyclist’s paradise. Close by you will also find the House of Wax candle workshops, Cheshire Fishing Lakes, Chester Zoo and Beeston and Peckforton Castles. Our twelve en-suite rooms combine both style and comfort and feature modern facilities such as complimentary wireless broadband internet. The Pheasant Inn is without doubt one of the most picturesque inns in Cheshire. Our menu is designed in three sections. A light-bites section for those that fancy a quick pit-stop or a simple salad, a home-comforts section honouring time-tested traditional gastro pub food, and a main course section featuring more varied British and European cuisine. A relaxing country retreat - ideal for escaping from the hustle of city life or for enjoying a quiet romantic weekend.
Picture of The Pheasant Inn, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab time at the pheasant inn
We had an amazing time! We arrived to lovely views and friendly staff. We has dinner at night that was delish and the waitress couldn't do enough for us. We weren't rushed at breakfast we had a great stay here,would recommend you stay we have been here 3 yrs on the run now.

Reviewed by
a thompson

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

best hotel bedroom and meal
we stayed here at the end of a three day trip round York and Chester for my husband's birthday - wish we had booked the full 3 days here - wonderful room, traditional inn and fab staff. lots of choice on the menu and very well cooked and good price. all in all, we intend going back asap.

Reviewed by
A Smith

From Rossendale, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent food fantastic setting dissapointing room

Reviewed by
j shudall

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheshire Plains
We have had several lunches at the hotel in the past and my wife decided she would also like to spend a night at the hotel sometime.
We had an excellent evening meal served by friendly Staff. Our room, although a basic one was perfectly adequate, had tea asking facilities and had a lovely view of the Cheshire Plains from the window

Reviewed by
Robert H

From Wallasey, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant stay at the Pheasant Inn
Courteous, helpful staff. Fantastic meal in a characteristic setting.
Superb view from bedroom.
I would recommend this Inn to anyone/ everyone i meet.

Reviewed by
J Mckenna

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was expecting much more for the money.
I don't usually give reviews but on this occasion I was so disappointed with my stay at this hotel I think others should be made aware that this hotel will probably not be to your expectations. The room was VERY small and cold, the bathroom was tiny, dirty and tired, no signal on the telly and every noise from the room above could be heard. We were kept awake most of the night by a high pitched beeping noise coming from the corridor. Another resident had complained to the staff but the noise went on all night. The food was OK but nothing special for the money.
It was well overpriced at £110 if I had paid the full £160 then there would have been demands for a refund. This is a £60 a night B&B

Reviewed by
Simon B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An unmissable view
The combination of panoramic view of beautiful countryside, most comfortable bed and an excellent evening meal made this a stay to remember. The staff were courteous, welcoming and efficient.
Over all, most enjoyable.

Reviewed by
S Davies

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
Loved the quirky accommodation and beautiful views.

Reviewed by
Gina b

From Lichfield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place
Great food and location

Reviewed by
Brian Muirhead

From Congleton, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another great stay at a beautiful place.
We've stayed here a number of times, and the Pheasant always delivers! Lovely relaxing atmosphere, great cask ales, super food, and first class service. Rooms on the small side but that didn't detract from a great stay and the view over the Cheshire plains from the room was great. Can't say enough about this place. If you've not tried it yet, give it a go, you will love it.

Reviewed by
Tony McKinnon

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next