No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Pheasant Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Higher Burwardsley, , Tattenhall, Chester, CH3 9PF
Welcome to The Pheasant Inn at Higher Burwardsley. Tucked in a peaceful corner of rural Cheshire, The Pheasant enjoys some of the most magnificent panoramic views in the area. Nestling in the Peckforton Hills, this is a rambler's, hiker's and cyclist’s paradise. Close by you will also find the House of Wax candle workshops, Cheshire Fishing Lakes, Chester Zoo and Beeston and Peckforton Castles. Our twelve en-suite rooms combine both style and comfort and feature modern facilities such as complimentary wireless broadband internet. The Pheasant Inn is without doubt one of the most picturesque inns in Cheshire. Our menu is designed in three sections. A light-bites section for those that fancy a quick pit-stop or a simple salad, a home-comforts section honouring time-tested traditional gastro pub food, and a main course section featuring more varied British and European cuisine. A relaxing country retreat - ideal for escaping from the hustle of city life or for enjoying a quiet romantic weekend.
Picture of The Pheasant Inn, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was expecting much more for the money.
I don't usually give reviews but on this occasion I was so disappointed with my stay at this hotel I think others should be made aware that this hotel will probably not be to your expectations. The room was VERY small and cold, the bathroom was tiny, dirty and tired, no signal on the telly and every noise from the room above could be heard. We were kept awake most of the night by a high pitched beeping noise coming from the corridor. Another resident had complained to the staff but the noise went on all night. The food was OK but nothing special for the money.
It was well overpriced at £110 if I had paid the full £160 then there would have been demands for a refund. This is a £60 a night B&B

Reviewed by
Simon B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An unmissable view
The combination of panoramic view of beautiful countryside, most comfortable bed and an excellent evening meal made this a stay to remember. The staff were courteous, welcoming and efficient.
Over all, most enjoyable.

Reviewed by
S Davies

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
Loved the quirky accommodation and beautiful views.

Reviewed by
Gina b

From Lichfield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place
Great food and location

Reviewed by
Brian Muirhead

From Congleton, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another great stay at a beautiful place.
We've stayed here a number of times, and the Pheasant always delivers! Lovely relaxing atmosphere, great cask ales, super food, and first class service. Rooms on the small side but that didn't detract from a great stay and the view over the Cheshire plains from the room was great. Can't say enough about this place. If you've not tried it yet, give it a go, you will love it.

Reviewed by
Tony McKinnon

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very busy on a sunny weekend-a popular hostelry because of its excellent location. Attentive staff with good food and accommodation ideally suited to ramblers and cyclists, although the restaurant/hotel was upmarket by our standards and is a nice place if you are just travelling through or having a day out.

Reviewed by
D Barnes

From Stourbridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stopover on return from holiday
Excellent views, very good accommodation and food. This was our second stay and both have been a lovely experience.

Reviewed by
W Riggs

From Spalding, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful and welcoming
We made a last minute reservation at the Pheasant Inn and was pleasantly surprised when we arrived, everything about the place had character. Sand stone walls, beamed ceilings and good views.
All of the staff were very friendly, the room was cosy and unusual (the old arrow slits in the outer walls had been transformed into little windows which when opened on the inside let in a nice cool breeze as well as the morning chorus of birds)
The food was fantastic and overall we had a brilliant stay.
The only downside was that the room we stayed in wasn't very sound proof and could hear people in the next room and doors closing etc. This wasn't so much of a problem for us as we were tired and full from our lovely meal and so fell asleep quite easily on the comfy beds.
Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Reviewed by
K Wakefield

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A country retreat at the Pheasant
From the moment you arrive at the beautiful located Pheasant, pleasant staff are quick to welcome you. The environment is warm and relaxing, service efficient and the open fires give a lovely atmosphere. We were given our room key and directed to the room which was within the main building. We normally stay in the Tabley, located in one of the out buildings but this time we were in Eaton, a room in the main building. It was a lovely room, very clean and with a wonderful view, great bathroom.....if anything it was difficult to get it warm enough during the evening ( bearing in mind it was really cold outside that night) but otherwise it was very comfortable. We had a beautiful meal followed by an equally excellent breakfast the following morning. All in all another most enjoyable stay at the Pheasant thank you!

Reviewed by
V Marshall

From Wirral, England
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful place - will find any excuse to go back again!!
My second stay, and as the title of this review suggests, I absolutely love this place. From the moment you arrive and get a wonderful welcome, are then shown to a lovely (albeit compact) bedroom with en suite, to discovering the magnificent restaurant area, to tasting the absolutely delicious food - I was in heaven. Everything on the menu that I tried was excellent - but special mention must also go to the breakfasts which must rank amongst the very best I have ever had - made doubly special by eating them looking out onto the most glorious countryside.

Reviewed by
Mandy T

From Marlow, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next