No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Clarendon

4Self Classified Town House Hotel Ratings explained
34-37 Bedford Place, London, WC1B 5JR
The Clarendon is a 4-star boutique hotel in the Grange Hotels boutique collection, peacefully nestled in central Bloomsbury. Formerly a 16th century Georgian townhouse, The Clarendon has since had its period detailing immaculately restored.

The hotel features 51 individually appointed bedrooms fitted with a range of modern amenities. Many rooms are additionally accented by four-poster beds and ornate fireplaces. Popular nearby attractions include the British Museum, Piccadilly Circus, Theatreland and Covent Garden.
Picture of The Clarendon, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel and what a lovely location in the heart of Bloomsbury with its quaint bars and parks.
Would heartily recommend the hotel as lovely and quiet and well appointed throughout. The restaurant has a lovely leafy park and view to the rear which was great.

Reviewed by
Stephen Bennett

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay
Great Hotel - loved my stay.

Reviewed by
M Jones

From Blackburn, England
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grange Holborn
Upgraded from The Clarendon to a sister hotel. The Holborn. Really good in every way.

Reviewed by
Paul Monaghan

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a very pleasant stay at the Clarendon hotel. We only stayed for one night as we went to the theatre. Hotel was very close to all amenities and only a shirt walk to theatre land would recommend this small but friendly hotel

Reviewed by
Tracy L

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was supposed to stay at the Clarendon hotel, when we arrived we were told we were staying next door at the Buckingham. Had a lovely large room. Only complaint not enough tea bags /coffee had to ask twice for more. Both agreed we had an enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth S

From Southend on Sea, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Late night porter was extremely helpful

Reviewed by
G B

From Aldershot, England
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect
We were having a very short one night break following our wedding on the Friday before.
After booking the Clarendon we expected it to be a nice and clean hotel but for the price we could not hope for much more than that.
How wrong we were!! This Hotel is a lovely place to stay.
The rooms are clean, spacious and very well decorated. The decor is of a high standard and everything you need is in the room
We will be staying here again soon.

Reviewed by
James M

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous upgrade
Lovely surprise by an unexpected upgrade to a fab spacious room. Very clean. Staff was very professional. Made us feel very special. Lovely period building.

Reviewed by
ewa g

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clarendon
We got upgraded from another group hotel next door. Room large, and well decorated. Only downside was loud extractor fan in toilet which was permanently on.

Reviewed by
Russell B

From Ruislip, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant staff
Very pleasant staff on reception. I was soon through the process and in my room which for the money was absolutely fine. I had requested a 'nice quiet room' as I always do and all was well as I overlooked the garden..
I returned later that evening with a work colleague who had decided to stay over in London also at the last minute. They soon arranged a room for her.
Neither of us slept well at all, her room was down on the basement floor next to a bathroom and opposite the lift.The bathroom was used regularly during the night and of course the lift also In the end she got up and left before 7am. I could literally hear people above me walking on the floorboards it was as if I was in the same room. So I'm not sure if I would stay again or not.

Reviewed by
T HARTLEY

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next