No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Edgemoor

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Haytor Road Lowerdown Cross, Bovey Tracey, TQ13 9LE
Welcome to The Edgemoor website. Formerly a school, this historic building oozes atmosphere that sits ideally with the award winning restaurant and luxurious hotel rooms. On the literal edge of Dartmoor (jump over the hedge and you're there), yet still only 15 miles from Exeter; Edgemoor is perfectly located to take advantage of everything this beautiful part of the country has to offer. Set in one of the most glorious regions of Devon, the Edgemoor Hotel is one of the premier Devon hotels. There are plenty of Devon hotels and Dartmoor hotels to choose, from, but Edgemoor Hotel stands out as one of the most luxurious country house hotels to pick for a very special break in the beauty that is Dartmoor. We can also cater for a picture-perfect Devon wedding or, if your business takes you to the city of Exeter, our location is ideal as an Exeter hotel, allowing you to relax after a hard day's negotiation in tranquil surroundings. By choosing to stay with us rather than an inner city Exeter hotel, you really can take advantage of the best of both worlds. Our policy is to encourage our guests to stay, indulge and explore. Stay in one of the best Dartmoor hotels, indulge your senses in our elegantly appointed rooms and restaurant and explore the surrounding countryside. Sixteen charming, luxurious and comfortable bedrooms await you at The Egdemoor. Ranging from single bedrooms to the modern Woodland Wing, they differ in style and character, but all offer the special Edgemoor experience. All bedrooms are en-suite with tea and coffee making facilities and television. WiFi is available free of charge in most rooms and all common areas. Feel free to bring along your dog, we have superb facilities . With large grounds and the proximity to Dartmoor, dogs will have plenty of options to enjoy themselves! Our modern yet traditional country house hotel offers all the amenities you would expect from a first class Devon hotel. We look forward to welcoming you.
Picture of The Edgemoor, Bovey Tracey at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 15 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant hotel on the edge of the moor
Nice hotel in lovely setting. Food was very good, although maybe a bit pricey (dinner), super cooked breakfast.
Room was good size - and the mini "personal" patio at the back was very pleasant for sitting out in the early evening. (We were in the Woodland Wing, which you went down a very narrow and low-ceilinged corridor to get to, so we preferred going round the outside of the building afterwards) . Bed was a bit of a strange shape - very wide but not very long! The furniture was a little tatty and there was evidence of where things had once been on the wall that had been moved (lots of holes with filler in them!), so could probably do with redecorating. But overall clean and tidy and had everything you needed.

Reviewed by
Louise B

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We have nothing but praise. We were very impressed from the beginning throughout the whole of our stay. We highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
R Saunders

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful country house hotel
Very friendly staff, great surroundings and tasty breakfast. One of the most idyllic places we have stayed in.

Reviewed by
n sammons

From Weymouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly place
This is a super place. Close to Bovey Tracey but really in the country. Very nice public rooms, comfortable, warm, well decorated, and our room (number 10) was fabulous with a huge bed and a lovely bathroom. The staff could not have been more helpful. As a base for touring Dartmoor Edgemoor would be great.

Reviewed by
Mary W

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One Winter Night in Devon
We were delivering goats to Widdecombe and wanted one night of luxury and freedom after a long day. We certainly achieved this in this lovely hotel. We had been previously in the summer when they were busy and found it good enough to return, but this time we had 2 dogs with us . We were made very welcome ,including the dogs ,in a quiet section of the hotel with a separate entrance so no guilt about wet mutts . Blankets bowls and towels were provided for the dogs which, although we always take our own,was extremely welcome and helped keep dogs comfortable and the hotel clean!..as for ourselves we had a great stay in a tastefully decorated and comfortable room. Food was excellent and even though we were the only ones eating in the restaurant..the atmosphere was comfortable. Service also excellent with staff very helpful and informally friendly without being obsequious..would have no hesitation in recommending and good for non-dog lovers too!

Reviewed by
Lisa H

From Dolgellau, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Value with Great Service
I really enjoyed this hotel. We had Room 3 - a superior room overlooking the front garden. Lots of space with a seating area to watch the TV.
The staff were amazing - service was very personal, very friendly - just great; I really felt they cared that I had a good time and we're not just going through the motions.
Just as an example for breakfast I ordered scrambled egg and the waiter wanted to know if I wanted it on toast (yes), white/wholemeal, buttered or unbuttered, and finally the scrambled egg on the toast itself/ or side by side?
Excellent value for money; I would definitely be very happy to stay again, and though this was a business trip next time I hope to take some of my family with me.

Reviewed by
Jane Thurnell-Read

From Penzance, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellant service, friendly but professional
Excellent family run hotel, we would defnately visit again, especially once the the pottery is up and running, what a novel idea and totally in keeping with the history of the area too.
We are planning a spring break here.

Reviewed by
Maria Bartlett

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The dog friendly room ( honeybags) was very dark could do with stronger lighting, otherwise it was good.

Reviewed by
kenneth d s

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Edgemoor Hotel, Dartmoor
Nice old hotel set in well maintained grounds. Comfortable room and lovely clean bathroom. Not many staff on duty but they were all friendly and helpful. Great access to Dartmoor.

Reviewed by
Stuart W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First time to Dartmoor, enjoyed staying at this hotel. Very friendly.

Reviewed by
Hazel H

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next