No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Grosvenor Pulford Hotel and Spa

4Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Wrexham Road,Pulford, Chester, CH4 9DG
Winner of Visit Chester & Cheshire's Large Hotel of the Year 2007.

The privately owned Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa is ideally located just a 5 minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. This beautiful hotel, set in its own grounds, has 73 superb comfortable bedrooms, all with en-suite facilities.

Within the hotel there are two dining venues from which you can choose. Ciro's Brasserie is a Rosette rated Mediterranean themed restaurant offering modern European cuisine. On a Sunday we serve a traditional roast carvery luncheon and dinner. Alternatively, you may prefer to relax in Nelson's Bar where you will find a good selection of gastro style bar food and fine traditional ales.

Take time during your stay to step through the doors of Spa by Kasia where we provide natural, holistic and organic treatments to completely nourish, rebalance and repair the face and body. This exclusive retreat includes 6 indulgent treatment suites including a VIP couple's suite with hydrotherapy bath, 3 relaxation rooms, a traditional Turkish Hamman, an Arabian Rasul, Rejuvenation Skin Clinic, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, state of the art Technogym gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique and Spa Eatery. Residents are strongly advised to book their treatments in advance.

If the spa isn't for you, why not practice your swing on the nine hole golf course adjacent to the hotel.

The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout.
Picture of Grosvenor Pulford Hotel and Spa, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ideal stopover
great hotel with lively friendly atmosphere
ideal for visiting chester

Reviewed by
p lewis

From Beaumaris, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Love the hotel have been going for the last 6 years highly recommended a must to visit and stay
have recomend to friends and family love comming every year , customer service is brilliant do everything to help , the food is excellent in both the bistro and pub , facilitys are excellent and very clean such a relaxing holiday wouldnt go anywhere else always come back to here carnt fault

Reviewed by
t thomas

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very enjoyable stay , Although the bedroom could do with a coat of paint it ws looking abit tired. The spa and pool and gardens were very impressive .

Reviewed by
Jane L

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Autumn Wedding
We attended a wedding function at the hotel and had a two night stay. We were surprised that payment was demanded in advance at beginning of stay. The hotel has ample parking and is spacious. Our room was clean. We both found the bedding very hard and heavy to manage, heavy pillows, heavy bedspread. Our heated towel rail was on all the time and didn't switch off when we tried - so our room became very hot. (we did not complain about this, so it may well have been rectified if we had.) Some of the staff seemed impatient and unhappy and a bit rude to u. These were cleaners, bar staff - not reception. However, there was a choice of places to eat, there was a lovely spa which we did not use, but were given a tour. Also a pleasant garden which must be wonderful in summer months.

Reviewed by
Jo H

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A stop over on a long journey
Clean, comfortable and welcoming. Pleasant grounds to walk around or to chillout

Reviewed by
Robert D

From Okehampton, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a lovely hotel
The sun shone but this Hotel didn't need it to improve on it's quality or location even though it was a little further outside the City of Chester than we anticipated. A well appointed venue for a special weekend. The staff were courteous and helpful, our evening meal in the Bistro was very good. The gardens were beautiful, ideal for photographs and taking a relaxing break from the world outside. Would like to have had a shaving mirror in the bathroom to assist those of us who required glasses these days!

Reviewed by
Susan R

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Even better than expected!
I treated my girlfriend to a night at this wonderful hotel because we didn't manage to find anywhere abroad, but it was definitely worth the trade-off. The hotel itself was fairly easy to find if you're comfortable with roundabouts every five minutes, and was set in beautiful grounds. Our check-in staff were very friendly and gave us her full attention which is something I've noticed doesn't always happen elsewhere. The dinner we received in the Ciro Restaurant was one of the best dining experiences we've ever had, cooked to perfection with a variety of options, and portions were perfect. Smaller appetites may have found it a little overbearing but staff seemed willing to adjust for that if asked beforehand. Breakfasts looked great too, although I'm not much of a morning eater my partner said hers was wonderful.
We also took a Spa experience whilst we were there, something I've never done before. We had booked for a couples' hydrotherapy bath and back massage for 10am before we left, but they had double booked the room because of a computer error apparently, and offered us the same treatment at 12:30, which we eventually agreed upon (check out is 11am so we were planning to be heading home by then). Kasia Spa staff were extremely understanding and helpful, we agreed to the time change, and received complementary spa samples and a full body massage, for the same price as the normal treatment.
For us, this hotel was absolutely perfect. A hidden gem that has it all. Beautiful grounds, friendly staff, fantastic food, a relaxing spa, pool and other leisure facilities. We would definitely recommend visiting for a romantic weekend away from it all.

Reviewed by
A Long

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice break from reality
A little expensive and more than 5 mins from Chester ity centre but gardens and spa AMAZING, room was hard to access as we had a spiral staircase which was lovely but difficult in heals and getting bags up and down on arrival and departure,

Reviewed by
R Upton

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute break
We stayed the Thursday before August bank holiday, overall a nice hotel, the only issue we had was the room was in the loft and therefore quite hot and had a damp smell in the bathroom. Food was nice but at breakfast the waitress turned the light off litterally at 9.30am and half the food had been removed prior to that! Luckily we had got down at 9.15 but by the time we went up for the fried breakfast the light was off and it was very unwelcoming.

Reviewed by
A Devine

From England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic hotel and lovely stay
On first impressions the hotel is lovely and the reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The excellent part about the hotel was the Japanese garden which is a real plus point. That night we had a meal at the restaurant and really cannot fault the food or the service. We will definitely be coming back to stay again and will recommend to family and friends.

Reviewed by
J Jervis

From Newtown, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next