No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN The Bell Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
High Road Epping,, London Epping, CM16 4DG
The main hotel building is a 16th Century Coaching Inn with a Modern Bedroom Block.It is located within walking distance of Epping Town Centre and only 30 minutes away by underground to Central London. Epping under ground tube station is just over 1 mile away from the hotel. Only 10 mins away from the M25 and M11. London Stansted airport is 30 minutes drive by road. Close to Excel exhibition centre in London. Harlow town centre is just over 4 miles from our hotel.
Picture of BEST WESTERN The Bell Hotel, London Epping at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 46 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 62% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wedding party
one of our party wanted scrambled egg at breakfast but there was none and! did she have to order it?

Reviewed by
Terry Emery

From Clacton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My experience at the Bell Hotel Epping
I'm afraid I will never stay at the Bell Hotel or recommend it to anybody. I was booked for two nights with my daughter. The hotel is clean but very tired looking. There was only1 bath towel in the room despite it being a double room. We went to have breakfast on first morning only to find that breakfast finished at 9am. The information brochure in the room stated 9.30. We had dinner in the evening and the choice was very limited. My daughter booked a wake up call for 6.30 (which incidentally the receptionist wrote down). At 5.30 the following morning she received her wake up call. When I checked out, I explained to reception my grievances. He just said sorry and that the night porter must have got it wrong. I also think it was very expensive for what it offered.

Reviewed by
L Wheal

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight Stay
I had a great deal through Laterooms. I have stayed dozens of times but have never eaten in the hotel. The rooms are comfortable and spacious but some of the plumbing is dated and the toilet didn't flush very well.
The kettle was tiny but there was plenty of tea & coffee as well as toiletries in the bathroom.
The television reception/signal was poor which was particularly disappointing because of the World Cup and England were playing.
Overall I had a pleasant stay for the price I paid so it was good value on that day.

Reviewed by
Keith F

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel looks very tired , needs refurb, mouldy bathroom did not think it was at all value for money
Very disappointed not the quality I was expecting

Reviewed by
Kaye S

From Braintree, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bell Epping
Good all round.

Reviewed by
Martin H

From York, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very helpful staff both over the phone and in person, we enjoyed our stay and breakfast was good

Reviewed by
g attfield

From Wickford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Factors outside hotel control
Noise was major problem - main road outside is a B road but is actually Epping High st and it stays busy until very late at night. We stayed on a Saturday night and a group of young people staying on the same corridor decided to continue the party until around 3.30am, banging on doors, shouting - all quite jolly but the time of day was not fun for us. We rang reception a couple of times and they did their best but in reality we just had to wait for the young things to wear themselves out.
Oh, and then the intermittent fire alarm went off for about 5 seconds at 07.30h, Sunday morning - just long enough to jolt us all awake.

Reviewed by
Lucy C

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
Not the usual late room standards! The 1st room we had was disgusting! The shower didn't work, after speaking to reception they finally moved us. The 2 nd room was slightly better but a word of warning don't look at the matteresses! Couldn't bring ourselves to eat here! Avoid like the plague

Reviewed by
Justin B

From Oakham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On crossing a dirty concrete area littered with cigarette buts I entered the room (5) and the first thing I saw was a cigarette burn on the net curtain. The curtains had come off their hooks, and everything felt shabby and in need of maintenance. I doubt if I would ever re book.
There were spelling mistakes on my booking form

Reviewed by
Janet M

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I got an electric shock from the kettle! I'm taking this to health and safety the last time it was PAT tested was 2011! This Hotel is an embarrassment!

Reviewed by
C Lucas

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next