No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Chester Grosvenor

5Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
56-58 Eastgate Street , Chester, CH1 1LT
An impressive black and white timbered Grade II listed building in the centre of the historic city of Chester contains a stylish, contemporary hotel dedicated to excellence.

With an outstanding Michelin-starred restaurant, a vibrant Parisian-style bistro, an ultra-chic spa and modern, bespoke meeting rooms, this is the ideal city sanctuary. Gorgeous antique oil paintings and a vast chandelier meet up-to-the-minute style and luxury. Be sure to dine at the highly acclaimed gourmet restaurant Simon Radley at The Chester Grosvenor which has retained its Michelin star since 1990 and has over 1,000 bins in its extensive wine cellars.

There are exceptional award winning attractions within easy reach of Chester including Chester Zoo and the Blue Planet Aquarium. Chester is renowned for its ancient two tier rows which house wonderful boutiques and unique shopping in the heart of the city, the hotel can is adjacent to Eastgate clock within the Roman Walls. The McArthur Glen Designer outlet village, Europe’s largest outlet centre is within 15 minutes drive of the city.

Car parking is avalible in the public car park at the rear of the Hotel and is charged at the discounted rate of £8.50 for 24 hours.

Advance reservations are essential for restaurant and spa reservations in order to avoid disappointment.

Please be advised that a pre authorisation on your credit or debit card will be required at the time of check in for your accommodation rate plus £200.00 for any extras you may incur during your stay. Please note pre authorisation cannot be taken on Mastercard Debit cards, Maestro or Visa Electron.
Picture of The Chester Grosvenor, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
Beautiful hotel in a beautiful city . Brilliant location right in the high street and walking distance to all shops , bars , restaurants . Rooms very spacious . Didn't eat there but had a lovely cocktail . Will be back

Reviewed by
Sarah D

From Sawley , UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous stay at the very swanky Grosvenor!
Beautiful hotel, staff excellent- attentive but not overbearing. We stayed as a birthday treat and it was everything we hoped and more, a real treat!

Reviewed by
abigail swainston

From Denbigh, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend break at Chester Grosvenor
Great hotel, first class staff, professional but friendly.The hotel is sited right in the middle of the Chester shopping area, brilliant position, the food was excellent, you pay a premium but well worth it.
We will definitely go there again.

Reviewed by
John Kitchingman

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I had a fantantic stay at the hotel everything was spot on i only wish you get a full english breakfast as a choice aswell as the continantal breakfast at no extra fee.

Reviewed by
helen s

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great British 5 star supreme ! Expensive but well worth it ! Stunning service
Upgraded our room to a suite which was incredible , this was due to the hotel being fully booked and my pregnant wife needing a bath in our room. Service was incredible .

Reviewed by
Bryan M

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

5 Star
Superb hotel service. First class food. Excellent

Reviewed by
A HUGHES

From Stonehaven, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very elegant and perfect location
From the minute of checking in you could feel the luxury oozing out of every corner of the hotel. The decor is absolutely stunning and the chandelier is breath taking.
Size of room was a little on the small side, but was very modern and clean.
Only downside to the hotel is that we had a room which over looked the street. We stopped mid week but were regularly woken throughout the night from people shouting in the street. If you want a quiet room, request for one not over looking the street.
Staff were all very welcoming and professional. I was made to feel a valued customer and not just a number, or someone just happening to be stopping at the hotel.
We had a full English breakfast for the morning and the food and portions were perfect. It was impressive that it wasn't self service like most hotels. You ordered what you wanted and then the waiter brought it to our table.
Overall this is definitely a hotel I would recommend to family and friends and would stay at again.

Reviewed by
Peter Q

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect
Absolutely perfect stay, great room, service was very good and a real gem.

Reviewed by
Alan Norman

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay!!

Reviewed by
R Thomas

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything you would expect staying in a luxury hotel
A very enjoyable stay for one night at the Grosvenor Hotel Chester. I had booked the hotel for my husband's birthday and we were not disappointed. On arriving at the Hotel we were greeted by very friendly and attentive doormen. The attention to detail was superb, from the luxurious room to the wonderful meal at Simon Radley restaurant and a great choice for the breakfast. Again the staff were very attentive and it appears they had great job satisfaction. I would highly recommend this hotel who wish to book for a special occasion.

Reviewed by
ANGELA EVANS

From England
Who stayed in January 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next