No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Chester Grosvenor

5Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
56-58 Eastgate Street , Chester, CH1 1LT
An impressive black and white timbered Grade II listed building in the centre of the historic city of Chester contains a stylish, contemporary hotel dedicated to excellence.

With an outstanding Michelin-starred restaurant, a vibrant Parisian-style bistro, an ultra-chic spa and modern, bespoke meeting rooms, this is the ideal city sanctuary. Gorgeous antique oil paintings and a vast chandelier meet up-to-the-minute style and luxury. Be sure to dine at the highly acclaimed gourmet restaurant Simon Radley at The Chester Grosvenor which has retained its Michelin star since 1990 and has over 1,000 bins in its extensive wine cellars.

There are exceptional award winning attractions within easy reach of Chester including Chester Zoo and the Blue Planet Aquarium. Chester is renowned for its ancient two tier rows which house wonderful boutiques and unique shopping in the heart of the city, the hotel can is adjacent to Eastgate clock within the Roman Walls. The McArthur Glen Designer outlet village, Europe’s largest outlet centre is within 15 minutes drive of the city.

Car parking is avalible in the public car park at the rear of the Hotel and is charged at the discounted rate of £8.50 for 24 hours.

Advance reservations are essential for restaurant and spa reservations in order to avoid disappointment.

Please be advised that a pre authorisation on your credit or debit card will be required at the time of check in for your accommodation rate plus £200.00 for any extras you may incur during your stay. Please note pre authorisation cannot be taken on Mastercard Debit cards, Maestro or Visa Electron.
Picture of The Chester Grosvenor, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 47 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

my wife would like tea & coffee in the room and full English breakfast in theb&b rate

Reviewed by
robert sutton

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chester
Great hotel great food and service very central staff were extremely helpful

Reviewed by
Anne f

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wow
it was my wifes birthday and wanted to do something special for her the hotel was very friendly staff went out their way to help us and food was amazing we could not have asked for a better night there we will be back soon thanks to all the staff

Reviewed by
k murray

From Perth, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chesters Jewel !!!
From the moment you enter the hotel the attention to detail was fantastic through to the end ,it felt that you were part of a "Fairy tail" .We do stay in numerous hotels in the Uk and abroad and this one has made its mark ! The service looked and felt genuine and the rooms were very well maintained with little touches to make you smile.We will return after making this find !!

Reviewed by
Chris Day

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing mini break
Excellent!!

Reviewed by
Joe Fowles

From Birkenhead, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gorgeous hotel! You get what you pay for... Great service, everything beautifully presented and plenty of amenities including a wonderful spa!

Reviewed by
Jamie R

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simply Perfect!
A fantiastic weekend break at a superb hotel. The attentive staff make you feel very welcome and the standard of the room was up there with other 5* hotels we've stayed in. On arrival our bags were taken from us while we checked in (which was quick) and when we were shown to our room the bags were already there (not always my experience at other hotels). We dined in La Brasserie and I was impressed with the standard of the food and the amount served (I could only manage a main course!). The wine on offer was generally good quality and the staff were attentive without being intrusive (they don't ask you if evedryting is ok every 5 minutes!). We didn't use the spa facilities so cannot comment on those.
I would recommend parking on Newgate multistory as there is direct access to the hotel from the 2nd level. Also, the hotel will validate your parking ticket at a reduced rate. We were charged £8.50 instead of £10 for 24 hrs, even though we actually parked for over 30 hrs. We paid at check out but returned later in the day to have the ticket validated when we were ready to leave. A simple touch, but very helpful.
All in all, an excellent experience that I would recommend to anyone looking to stay in Chester!

Reviewed by
Phil H

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Probably the best hotel in the Uk we have stayed at. Absolutely outstanding place, fantastic staff that couldn't do enough for us. This is how Hotels should be run!

Reviewed by
A Reeley

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Feel that the hotel was out of date in relation to customer service and lack of services from parking car in car park and had to take our own bag as no concierge at the back door where the car park was. Breakfast was a rip off with additional after paying five star prices and £175 for a standard room which had an uneven floor and limited facilities for a five star
Overall wouldn't stay in this hotel in Chester again

Reviewed by
Kirsty A

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Luxury all the way
From the moment we arrived outside the hotel and the valet helped us with our bags and whisked the car away we knew this was to be a special stay. The staff at the hotel simply went out of their way to make us feel like royalty all the way. From check-in, through to pre-dinner cocktails through to the absolutely fantastic meal in the Simon Radley restaurant. The hotel room was luxurious with a well stocked bar and a very comfortable bed. This will never be an inexpensive stay as one way or another you'll end up spending reasonably serious money here, but it is definitely well worth a treat.

Reviewed by
Gordon C

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next