No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Express Stevenage

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
DANESTRETE, STEVENAGE, SG1 1XB
Choose the modern Holiday Inn Express Stevenage hotel in Stevenage's town centre, just 5 minutes from junction 7 of the A1(M). It's easy to get to Luton Airport , just 15 miles from the welcoming Holiday Inn Express Stevenage. We're a modern brick building situated opposite Stevenage train station in the pedestrianised town centre. Relax on a high-backed leather chair with a beer in our contemporary bar . Book a training day for up to 40 colleagues at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, where you'll find 4 air-conditioned meeting rooms with wireless Internet. Free wireless Internet is available in our colourful Guest rooms and there's a computer in the Lobby. You can go bowling or catch a movie at Stevenage Leisure Park , just 10-minutes' walk from Holiday Inn Express Stevenage . Order tasty takeaway meals to eat in our Great Room, where a buffet breakfast of pastries and hot items is prepared daily and included in all room rates.

Parking is available free of charge at the Matalan store opposite between 17:00 and 09:00 and a voucher should be collected at Reception and displayed in the vehicle (charges apply at all other times). Alternative parking is available at NCP Southgate for GBP 4.00 per night when the parking token is validated at the hotel Reception.
Picture of Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, STEVENAGE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 75 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great service as always
We have stayed at this hotel on an irregular basis over the past 3/4 years and again - the staff have surpassed themselves. My husband arrived early in the morning as he flew to Heathrow on the overnight flight from Rhihad - and he was given access to our room at 10.30am - hours before the standard check in - which made such a difference to him. Thanks it was so kind.

Reviewed by
Margaret Fordham

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Holiday Inn express Stevenage
We stayed for 2 nights, the room was superb as where the reception and bar area. Staff are very attentive and polite.
Food options in the evening are limited to pizzas( which where very nice) but the ''free breakfast'' is a bit boring.
The only reason I marked down the cleanliness was due to the lower ground floor carpet being stained and worn, the rest of the hotel is spotless.

Reviewed by
nick harrison

From Jersey, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stevenage Holiday Inn Express
Hotel friendly, access very easy, room clean & tidy, free car park opposite hotel, (with hotel voucher)

Reviewed by
Len M

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sadly, could do better
Accommodation was fine - room was secure, clean and of adequate size. What let the hotel down was the breakfast area. The self-service area was very small and the dining area seemed severely under-manned, with no-one in charge. Not unreasonable to expect that on a Sunday morning there will be a rush at the end of breakfast service, as people will want to have a lie-in. This led to a lengthy queue snaking across the dining area. Table clearing was slow to non-existent and so I ended up trying to eat breakfast from a coffee table in the lounge. Staff seemed ill-trained and struggling to cope.
Parking was also an issue, with the Matalan car-park only being free to use between 5pm and 9am - wasn't sure what happened after 9am on Sunday morning, but didn't particularly want to get up to move the car at that time of the day.

Reviewed by
Sally R

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value for money.
Very good value for money.

Reviewed by
Karl I

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
Staff we're very helpful and friendly, hotel was in a great location for transport, shopping and entertainment. Room was clean and spacious. Only complaint would be the breakfast, first day was fine as we had to be up and out early so plenty of choice but on day 2 we went down later at 9 and there was hardly any choice and no tables to sit at . Other than that my overall stay was very pleasant and would definitely stay again

Reviewed by
S Davies

From Aberdare, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
Loved this hotel, staff very friendly and helpful.Room was immaculate, clean comfy bed lovely view from window.Shops minutes walk from hotel plenty of restaurants if you didn't want to eat in hotel.
Theatre just few minutes walk from hotel good bus service to airport from close by

Reviewed by
Mary M

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
decent size room with large bed and sofa. Very god for the price and in a good central location. Food in restaurant very nice

Reviewed by
DIANE D

From Lowestoft, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor parking
I couldn't stay for breakfast as I had to move my
car due to the lack of parking. How do they get
planning permission to build a hotel with so many
rooms and yet provide only 6 car parking spaces?
The information online states 'on site parking' which
is misleading.
I booked a double but got a twin room. It was exactly
what I expected and to a good standard although
the dispensers in the bathroom were hopeless
and I gave up trying to use them.

Reviewed by
Keith F

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wouldn't stay again
Breakfast was limited, no vegetarian or fried egg, had to cue for ages , Infact gave up and left without breakfast. There was nothing personal about this motel at all. It was horrid, felt like sim city. Didn't enjoy the experience at all.

Reviewed by
S Thompson

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next