Reviews - ABode Exeter - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants


Cathedral Yard, Exeter, EX1 1HD

Price From 144.15 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (58)

86% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • M King

  • November 2015

ABode Exeter - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants


  • S Gale

  • August 2015


Being our first night away on our honeymoon, we decided to book through late rooms and secure a night to break up our journey to Cornwall.

Booking was easy and price was reasonable. Quick call to the hotel to explain we were newly weds so to see if we could get a nice room....ended up with a free upgrade to the envy room, personalised greeting card from owners and complimentary chocs on the side. Our view was Exeter cathedral in all its glory.... Staff were very pleasant and hotel very clean....just mind out for the quirky uneven floors as th building is really old. Big thumbs up from Mr & Mrs G

  • Caroline C

  • June 2015

Cathedral views

We stayed for our honeymoon and were delighted to find that we had been upgraded to a fabulous room with amazing views of the Cathedral, with a thoughtful card from the Manager.

The bed was huge and really comfy

We ate in the Michael Caines restaurant on one evening, food and service excellent and a definite special treat. There are plenty of other caf├ęs and restaurants within a few mins walk, offering a range of choices too

  • Claire H

  • June 2015

End of term

Standard double compact.

No bath robe (maybe because no bath!). Think room must have been next to air conditioning unit or something as was an on and off engine noise throughout the night.

  • Mike L

  • May 2015

A Relaxing Break

A very nice hotel in a nice setting.

The room was well presented and the staff were very helpful (including a complementary upgrade to a Superior Room). Would definitely stay here again

  • patrick c

  • May 2015

Pokey room

Room was pretty small with a frosted window and no view of anything as a result.

Would have preferred to have been told this at booking stage , so could have looked elsewhere.

  • John W

  • April 2015

Great hotel in a great spot

  • Sarah H

  • April 2015

Good value

  • Jo M

  • April 2015


I was disappointed as I have stayed there many times before, but the kettle was broken, open preused sugar sachets in hospitality tray, and very dusty basket of crisps and drinkds etc in the room.

The staff brilliant, and as things were discovered they were quick to put things right.

  • Jon B

  • March 2015

Standard room very comfortable

Lovely position with period features and a lovely low key atmosphere.

Left the kids with grandparents and had a lovely relaxing night away with my wife, spot on.