Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Devon & Cornwall > Devon > Exeter Hotels > ABode Exeter - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - ABode Exeter - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Cathedral Yard , Exeter, EX1 1HD
ABode Exeter enjoys a peaceful location in the heart of Exeter opposite its magnificent Cathedral. Following recent refurbishment, the hotel proudly boasts 53 contemporary styled bedrooms with the traditional values of comfort expected from such an historic property. There is plenty of opportunity to treat yourself as the hotel is home to Michael Caines Fine Dining Restaurant, Champagne Bar, Cafe Bistro and even its own traditional tavern serving local real ale.
Group bookings constitute over 6 bedrooms and the hotel may contact you to issue a separate cancellation policy
Picture of ABode Exeter - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 68 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay. Will definitely stay here again.
Staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Jamie A

From Yeovil, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

second visit, would visit agin
A very pleasant stay, lovely cocktails in the bar. The room was clean and reasonably roomy with a good comfy bed. Slight problem that one of the milk cartons was off when opened it, I then noticed the date was 11/2013. I did inform reception who offered fresh milk but we went out for coffee instead.

Reviewed by
S Dowle

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel centrally located in Exeter with views of the cathedral. Comfortable rooms and excellent service. Make sure you book a table in Michael Caines restaurant. We went for the a la carte menu. It was superb and the restaurant service was impeccable. Thoroughly enjoyable break.

Reviewed by
s wiltshire

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect Base
The hotel is an ideal base to explore Exeter, overlooking cathedral green and close to all food, shops and entertainment. Its facilities are first class.

Reviewed by
Ray W

From Torrington, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location in Exeter
This hotel is a lovely old building in a great location in Exeter, just opposite the cathedral.
The staff were helpful and polite and the room clean and spacious.
The food at Michael Caines's restaurant is great, and with the earlybird deal is great value.

Reviewed by
Richard H

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel is of a very high standard, the only fault with it is unless you have a room at the front of the property overlooking the cathedral then the view is nonexistent. Quality of the rooms is great and love the character baths in the room. Didn't stay in the hotel for dinner but breakfast was superb. Staff were very helpful throughout.

Reviewed by
Andrew D

From Eastleigh, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great central location
The hotel is in a great position in the city centre with views to the cathedral. The only draw back is that there is no on site parking. You can park outside for 30 mins to checkin and drop off luggage then park in a nearby multistorey car park. It was only a couple of minutes walk away so wasn't a problem. The room was well furnished and the bed was very comfortable. I particularly enjoyed a long soak in the bath in the bedroom - luckily it wasn't possible to see the TV from the bath as England were losing in the World Cup! We were made to feel welcome by all the staff who were very friendly and helpful. We had the set dinner in the restaurant - good choice of dishes all of which were high quality and again the service was friendly and professional.

Reviewed by
Andrew P

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One Night Stay
Arrived very late. Staff helpful and friendly and lucky for us gave a free upgrade so we had views overlooking the Cathedral. Had a comfortable nights rest, battery recharged for the busy day ahead. Cannot fault the staff, room or where hotel situated.

Reviewed by
Lorna B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth it!
This was such a lovely place to stay. The situation was wonderful, right on the cathedral close. Our room had no view but that could never be expected at such a reasonable rate. It was exceedingly quiet, no traffic noise all night, (the speed limit on the close is 5 mph so traffic should never be an issue). The room was the cleanest it could ever be! Perfect! The bathroom was small but no problem, as for the shower .... If I could have taken it home with me .... I would!

Reviewed by
catherine O

From Weymouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exeter trip
We stayed at the abode Exeter whilst on a shopping trip and had a fantastic time the hotel is right opposite the cathedral and we could look at it whilst in our bed, great hotel great time :)

Reviewed by
Leigh N

From Barnstaple, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next