Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Devon & Cornwall > Devon > Exeter Hotels > ABode Exeter - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - ABode Exeter - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Cathedral Yard , Exeter, EX1 1HD
ABode Exeter enjoys a peaceful location in the heart of Exeter opposite its magnificent Cathedral. Following recent refurbishment, the hotel proudly boasts 53 contemporary styled bedrooms with the traditional values of comfort expected from such an historic property. There is plenty of opportunity to treat yourself as the hotel is home to Michael Caines Fine Dining Restaurant, Champagne Bar, Cafe Bistro and even its own traditional tavern serving local real ale.
Group bookings constitute over 6 bedrooms and the hotel may contact you to issue a separate cancellation policy
Picture of ABode Exeter - Home to Michael Caines Restaurants, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 76 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Abode-A truly luxurious break
Abode provided us with a luxury break in contemporary style. In contrast ,the view over the Cathedral Green transported us into a bygone era. Our business takes us all over the country and into an assortment of accommodation. This was by far the best.

Reviewed by
P THOMAS

From Penzance, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Hotel - Shame about the Parking
Good Hotel in a good location. Room very well furnished and very clean. Friendly staff.
Minus Points - Fire alarm sounded for 5 seconds in the middle of the night - woke everyone up with some confusion and no explanation available in the morning.
- Parking. City Centre and therefore, accept not always able to park on site. However, arrived in the dark and raining hard. Dropped my guests at the door as suggested . No turning point and therefore, had to back all the way down the road as others had parked. Not easy to see in the dark and wet, especially as two lampposts had clearly been backed into and weren't working!! Further, I was given a very poor photocopy of where the car park was. This was important as I was not able to go the way that staff told me. I compare this to the tear off colour photocopy I receive at other hotels. Arrived back soaked and had to then pay for the parking. Should at least be included in the price.

Reviewed by
Brian M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay in Exeter
Stayed at Abode for 2 nights in October. The hotel is ideally placed for the cathedral and access to shops.
There is no parking on site but we travelled by train and the hotel is a short walk from Exeter Central station.
The room was decorated to a good standard and generally comfortable. We had a great breakfast but did not dine in the hotel otherwise.
There is a lot of noise in the hotel at about 6am onward which is great if you need an alarm call but annoying if you want a lie in.
All things considered I would stay here again.

Reviewed by
John C

From Torquay, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business Diner invitation
Great service, great food and lovely wine. Bed was clean and comfortable.

Reviewed by
karen b

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay for a friends wedding
Great hotel and amazing staff...I could not fault this hotel....Well, may be a later check-out?

Reviewed by
Sean F

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly staff well presented well situated hotel

Reviewed by
Alex Leslie

From Scotland
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Impressed
We booked late but the room was excellent, big comfy bed and great service.
The restaurant was outstanding with the breakfast being one of the best we have had.

Reviewed by
Stephen S

From Exmouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had an excellent stay, staff so helpful, hotel so convenient to centre of Exeter.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Staff so helpful. Disabled room very comfortable. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
J Penrose

From Ramsey, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great service
checking in eaisy and friendly staff the room was nice even tho the view from window less desirable as it was a brick wall.

Reviewed by
k jenkins

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not worth the money
I was so disappointed with this stay. It was our 11th anniversary treat and because I wanted to eat at Michaels restaurant we booked in to the hotel so we were on site.
The pictures of the bed in the standard room are very deceiving. They look like super king, which is what I have at home and talk about the most comfortable beds you will ever sleep in. Well unfortunately that is not the case, they are standard doubles and the mattress is akin to a trampoline. Every time one of us rolled over in it we feared we would bounce the other one onto the floor.
The room itself slopes significantly, which means basically you are at an angle whilst lying in bed and both of us had mild headaches in the mornings. I appreciate this is a very old listed building so the rooms wont be exactly square but had I suffered with arthritis of the hip rather than the back it would have been impossible for me to walk around the room on a slope. I wont mention the lift, again old building and the lift is very quaint, we often had to walk to the third floor because they had left the gate open but that really didn't bother us.
The bathroom wasn't cleaned properly, shower gel was used up on first day and never replenished throughout our four day stay. Unfortunately I dropped a piece of tissue (Clean) and it fell under the sink on the first day, I cannot bend very easily because of the arthritis and my husband was not in the room at the time so I could not ask him and then forgot to do so. That tissue was still on the floor on our third morning.
We used the milk on the second morning from the tea tray and it was not replenished until the fourth morning. On our last night we did not receive our complimentary bottled water, which I will add was a lovely touch had we of received it every day that we were there.
We like to lie-in when on holiday so we never have breakfast and also like to sleep with the window open. Well the noise up until about 1am and then starting again at about 5am was horrendous. We had a front room with an excellent view of the cathedral, which was stunning but the noise from the delivery and collection lorries outside was pretty unbearable. The other guests would then seem to use raised voices whilst walking past the room on the way to the lifts, in the very early hours of the morning, didn't know you could even have breakfast that early! I must also add after about 09.30am you then had the cleaning staff who insisted on calling down the corridor to each other and banging about a lot, so all in all because of the noise my husband and I really didn't have much sleep over the four night stay.
You must visit Michael Cairns restaurant though. I have been fortunate enough to eat at five Michelin rated/starred restaurants in the last few years and this was excellent and the staff were professional and attentive, food was amazing.
If I had not got a special offer on some of my nights and paid the full 4 star prices I would have been very upset. If you can afford it I would highly recommend the suites, I am sure you would have a much more comfortable stay but if at the front and enjoy open windows, then I think you too would be disturbed by the noise.
May I add though that the hotel staff were outstanding. They were all very well dressed, polite, helpful and always had a friendly smile for you whatever the time of day.
One last note its cathedral policy that you can not drink a bottle of wine or any alcohol whilst in cathedral square unless you have a main meal with it. As we were eating in Michaels restaurant we did not want to eat and so we could not sit outside the hotel or along that strip and enjoy a bottle of wine before dinner. Of course not everybody drinks but I wanted to warn people as I have not read that on any of the reviews and we had to find outside seating in the town or by the quay every time we just wanted a drink.

Reviewed by
Claire-Louise C

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next