No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Palace Lodge

4Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Church Street , Dunstable, LU5 4RT
Located in the historic Market Town of Dunstable, The Newly Awarded 4 Star Old Palace Lodge Hotel stands as it has for several hundred years with warm old English charm.

With 68 en-suite spacious bedrooms, designed to a Standard or Executive level, and three Meeting and Event suites, offering the perfect fit for Business Seminars and Private Functions, the hotel has been described as a Jewel in Dunstable and, it really is....

The Popular Henry Restaurant, has welcomed Andrew Hill the new Executive Head Chef. Andrew and his brigade have comprised a set of exciting brand new menus, from the A La Carte, wedding, Banqueting, to the Room and Lounge. The superb presentation and accompanied of course, with our new selection of fine Wines, these mouth watering dishes would compliment any palate.

The Old Palace Lodge offers complimentary on-site car parking, gym onsite and WI-FI internet access.

Ideally located, The Old Palace Lodge is in walking distance to Dunstable Town and situated only 10 minutes drive from the hustle and bustle of the nearby Town of Luton and London Luton Airport. The M1 junction 11 is located 5 minutes drive away.

Dunstable Town 2 Minutes Walk
Luton Airport Only 5 Miles
Woburn Abbey 8 Miles
Whipsnade 4 Miles
Picture of The Old Palace Lodge, Dunstable at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 63 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight airport stay
Perfect for close vicinity for airport. Unfortunately, we arrived late so could only take advantage of the room and had to leave before breakfast. We would like to go again to spend more time in the hotel and enjoy the excellent facilities. Perhaps one of the premier rooms would be worth a look. The gentleman on reception could not have been more helpful. Good staff training.

Reviewed by
Pauline Twist

From Alrewas, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hidden Gem
Blown away by the look and size of the hotel, you can't see it in it's full extent from the outside, beautiful hotel, staff friendly, fire alarm went off at 4am which was only negative

Reviewed by
Philippa Higgins

From Leighton Buzzard, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disappointing
needing to be near luton airport i thought i'd get a slightly more boutique hotel to make the blessings of the french air strike a bit less savage. the hotel is ok, its perfectly ok but it looks a lot more boutique in its presentation. it is intact pretty big and once passed the cozy bar you're into the remnants of what feels a bit like an old hospital. the nice frontage of th building gives way to a more modern add on. its ok though, the staff were friendly, the room clean - a bit tired and not quite worth the extra money but nothing terrible. the terrible was the noise from upstairs - the ceilings being so thin that the most minute walking around sounds like elephants - it was extremely loud and not because people were running around. furthermore i was woken in the morning with a maintenance man in the room pulling open the curtains !! couldn't believe it. he said he'd knocked - then come in, then not seen a fully grown human being in the bed and clothes all over the floor and bag....until he opened the curtain. not funny at all. I'm sure it was a genuine mistake but it shouldn't happen. not all negative but not quite what it sells itself as.oh and careful - its 20 minutes from the airport not 10 as they tell you on reception - theres speed cameras everywhere too

Reviewed by
graham w

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First visit
We were very happy with our accommodation and plan to visit The Old Palace again

Reviewed by
Anna Cole

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

exec room not worth it!!
4 star hotel?? Wouldn't say it was, more like 3, paid extra for exec room which is just extra toiletries dressing gown and 2 bottles of water. Couldn't get lunch as shut on Saturday? ?!! Breakfast was nice, the best thing about hotel, some staff didnt know about area and couldn't understand question! Music from wedding went on till 1am so music loud in our room even though room at back of hotel, car park full of wedding guests cars got the last one!! Surrounding area not particular nice drove to Hemel hempstead for dinner. Wouldn't stay here again would prefer the travel lodge in hemel hempstead! !

Reviewed by
Emma W

From Basildon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We have stayed before, and will do so again. A nice break.

Reviewed by
roger k

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Curtains
Can I start by saying that the curtains are amazing? They are so thick and heavy, they blotted out all light and helped me to sleep for 11 hours! I rarely sleep for 8 let alone 11! My wife slept for 12 hours! The many doors in the corridors keep the noise down so, once you close that bedroom door, you can truly shut the world out! Got a really good price on Late Rooms! Might not have booked it at full price? Slept so long, missed breakfast on both days, so I can't even comment on the food! If you feel tired and need sleep, or just need down time, I would strong advise you go here. Peace and solitude doesn't even begin to describe it! Yes, there was a wedding downstairs and wedding guests in the morning but they didn't disturb my sleep! Yes, maybe I was tired and needed sleep but the curtains are still amazing!

Reviewed by
L Wesker

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family Room with teenagers
Sadly the total lack of sound proofing in the bedroom ruined our stay to the extent that we thought other guests were actually in our room during the night which was disturbing to say the least !!!! The put you up bed was really not fit for purpose for 2 teenage boys but the Hotel appreciated the problem and allocated an additional room on our last night. The Hotel was otherwise welcoming and in a good location.

Reviewed by
Di N

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family evening out.
Room size was ideal for the two teenagers and one mum. The staff were very helpful and polite. Breakfast was delicious and the waiter and waitress were great.

Reviewed by
Caroline S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointing, not 4 star in my book. No-one else in the restaurant which speaks volumes. Room clean but small and nothing special

Reviewed by
W Marshall

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next