No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Palace Lodge

4Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Church Street , Dunstable, LU5 4RT
Located in the historic Market Town of Dunstable, The Newly Awarded 4 Star Old Palace Lodge Hotel stands as it has for several hundred years with warm old English charm.

With 68 en-suite spacious bedrooms, designed to a Standard or Executive level, and three Meeting and Event suites, offering the perfect fit for Business Seminars and Private Functions, the hotel has been described as a Jewel in Dunstable and, it really is....

The Popular Henry Restaurant, has welcomed Andrew Hill the new Executive Head Chef. Andrew and his brigade have comprised a set of exciting brand new menus, from the A La Carte, wedding, Banqueting, to the Room and Lounge. The superb presentation and accompanied of course, with our new selection of fine Wines, these mouth watering dishes would compliment any palate.

The Old Palace Lodge offers complimentary on-site car parking, gym onsite and WI-FI internet access.

Ideally located, The Old Palace Lodge is in walking distance to Dunstable Town and situated only 10 minutes drive from the hustle and bustle of the nearby Town of Luton and London Luton Airport. The M1 junction 11 is located 5 minutes drive away.

Dunstable Town 2 Minutes Walk
Luton Airport Only 5 Miles
Woburn Abbey 8 Miles
Whipsnade 4 Miles
Picture of The Old Palace Lodge, Dunstable at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 49 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We have used this hotel before whilst visiting friends.The service and room quality are consistently good and we will not hesitate to book again on our next visit to Dunstable.

Reviewed by
James Entwistle

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pritty good, but food left a lot to be desired
The accommodation was great, and the staff were lovely, couldn't do enough for me. I Ordered room service as I can't stand eating in a restaurant alone. When it arrived it was cold, the burger was under cooked and the bun bloody! To be fair, the receptionist was great, very apologetic and reimbursed me.
This is a good hotel, but id pop to dominos down the road if your eating.

Reviewed by
Andrew P

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent staff

Reviewed by
anthony norman

From Biggleswade, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Away
The Hotel rooms were very clean and of an excellent standard. Breakfast was excellent quality, and the service at breakfast was prompt and efficient. Where the service fell short was in the evening. The first night we found the restaurant closed, at 7.45pm, after travelling for 4hours. The bar food however was of excellent quality and good value. Saturday we found the restaurant open only for bar food, the explanation being that there was a party on - the party was approx 20 guests. We were advised on arrival that the restaurant would be fully open on Saturday evening. For a 4 star hotel I find the lack of a restaurant with good menu (which was still advertised outside and on the website) to be very poor, and it lets down what is otherwise a very pleasant hotel.

Reviewed by
Kevin W

From Knutsford, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was very quiet, probably because it was between Christmas and New Year, I only saw one family staying. The restaurant wasn't open but food was available, however we didn't plan to eat at the hotel so didn't sample the food. Lovely old buidling with very nice Christmas decorations - only downside for me was our room was a long way from reception and the lights in the corridor were motion sensored which didn't always work, therefore you found yourself in a pitch black corridor until the lighting kicked in and initially the room was freezing cold, central heating was not on, this was fixed by the hotel staff but not a pleasant welcome! Otherwise, everyone was friendly and helpful the price was great!

Reviewed by
Erica B

From England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
This is a great hotel and I used it quite regularly before flying out early on Monday morning. I never stayed longer than 8 hours so never tried the food. Everything about the place was great and I even got upgraded once to the honeymoon suite due to me getting up so early and them offering to put me in a room out the way. Unfortunately, since the turn of the new year the prices have increased and places closer to Luton Airport are more viable.

Reviewed by
M Millar

From Wantage, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little gem
We have been staying at this hotel manyl times over the last 2 years.Fantastic warm happy good service amazing food.All of thoes and more.On the odd occasion when things havnt been right they have sorted it out very quickly.Thanks for many great stays and more to come.The park and stay for luton airport is just the best.

Reviewed by
a bowering

From Nottingham, England
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel wonderful staff
Very impressed with the bar and resturant staff, their quiet attention was exceptional.
Hotel was warm and comfortable. the bed was large, and the room well equiped.

Reviewed by
Ian Rowlands

From Skelmersdale, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good comfortable room, except for weak shower. attractive communal rooms enjoyable breakfast

Reviewed by
S Jones

From Marlborough, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5