No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Palace Lodge

4Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Church Street , Dunstable, LU5 4RT
Located in the historic Market Town of Dunstable, The Newly Awarded 4 Star Old Palace Lodge Hotel stands as it has for several hundred years with warm old English charm.

With 68 en-suite spacious bedrooms, designed to a Standard or Executive level, and three Meeting and Event suites, offering the perfect fit for Business Seminars and Private Functions, the hotel has been described as a Jewel in Dunstable and, it really is....

The Popular Henry Restaurant, has welcomed Andrew Hill the new Executive Head Chef. Andrew and his brigade have comprised a set of exciting brand new menus, from the A La Carte, wedding, Banqueting, to the Room and Lounge. The superb presentation and accompanied of course, with our new selection of fine Wines, these mouth watering dishes would compliment any palate.

The Old Palace Lodge offers complimentary on-site car parking, gym onsite and WI-FI internet access.

Ideally located, The Old Palace Lodge is in walking distance to Dunstable Town and situated only 10 minutes drive from the hustle and bustle of the nearby Town of Luton and London Luton Airport. The M1 junction 11 is located 5 minutes drive away.

Dunstable Town 2 Minutes Walk
Luton Airport Only 5 Miles
Woburn Abbey 8 Miles
Whipsnade 4 Miles
Picture of The Old Palace Lodge, Dunstable at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family evening out.
Room size was ideal for the two teenagers and one mum. The staff were very helpful and polite. Breakfast was delicious and the waiter and waitress were great.

Reviewed by
Caroline S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointing, not 4 star in my book. No-one else in the restaurant which speaks volumes. Room clean but small and nothing special

Reviewed by
W Marshall

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Value
try and stay here when in Dunstable but is often fully booked and can understand why. Great location, rooms always clean and food is really good

Reviewed by
sandra m

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value and close to whipsnade zoo
Great hotel and quality of exec double room very good. Would have liked more vegetarian options on evening menus, but otherwise ticked all the boxes.

Reviewed by
Anna B

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice clean hotel
Everything was great but they need a new chef and menu, I would have also expected an offering of real ale at the bar.

Reviewed by
D Bradford

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great stop over.
The hotel is in a good location close to the motorway. There is plenty of parking in the private grounds. An attractive building with lots of character. Our bedroom was large with a huge, very comfortable bed and a good bathroom with a large bath. Staff were friendly and very helpful. The hotel was busy but despite this we were made to feel very welcome . We had to leave early so did not have an opportunity to sample the breakfast but we certainly will next time we stay.

Reviewed by
Jo C

From La Celle Dunoise , France
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasantly surprised

Reviewed by
L GILES

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice hotel, only shame was the so called 24 hour room service.
I stayed there as a little treat for me and my partner to relax for a night away from kids.
Was greater well and room quality and finishing was great.
I stayed in the executive suite.
The bed was massive and gave us both a good nights sleep, the tv and radio was good. Nice modern feel.
Only down point was I went to ring for room service at around mid night to which I found my room telephone didn't work. I then used my mobile to contact the hotel and tried placing an order off the clearly labelled 24 hour menu. To which I got a reply of the chef has gone home I can only do you a sandwich or lasagne as he's left nothing else for me.
I understand they may not want to pay a chef for 24 hours but don't offer a menu offering hot food if you can't provide.
But breakfast in bed in the morning was nice, the room service people were very polite.
Overall a good night stay just wouldn't get your hopes up over room service menu.

Reviewed by
Jamie E

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Downside
We felt guest's dining in on the Saturday night played second fiddle to the Wedding function going on and we left without having a sweet or coffee, but returned to our room. The table of eight or ten in the room had booked a special event and we could overhear how critical they where.

Reviewed by
Brian Doig

From Bakewell, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Nice
Apart from a grumpy receptionist, the stay was very nice, lovely breakfast, had a nice stay.

Reviewed by
Billy Idol

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next