Reviews - The Old Palace Lodge

4

Church Street, Dunstable, LU5 4RT

Price From 147.46 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (31)

77% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Philippa Higgins

  • September 2014

Hidden Gem

Blown away by the look and size of the hotel, you can't see it in it's full extent from the outside, beautiful hotel, staff friendly, fire alarm went off at 4am which was only negative

  • graham w

  • September 2014

disappointing

needing to be near luton airport i thought i'd get a slightly more boutique hotel to make the blessings of the french air strike a bit less savage.

the hotel is ok, its perfectly ok but it looks a lot more boutique in its presentation. it is intact pretty big and once passed the cozy bar you're into the remnants of what feels a bit like an old hospital. the nice frontage of th building gives way to a more modern add on. its ok though, the staff were friendly, the room clean - a bit tired and not quite worth the extra money but nothing terrible. the terrible was the noise from upstairs - the ceilings being so thin that the most minute walking around sounds like elephants - it was extremely loud and not because people were running around. furthermore i was woken in the morning with a maintenance man in the room pulling open the curtains !. couldn't believe it. he said he'd knocked - then come in, then not seen a fully grown human being in the bed and clothes all over the floor and bag....until he opened the curtain. not funny at all. I'm sure it was a genuine mistake but it shouldn't happen. not all negative but not quite what it sells itself as.oh and careful - its 20 minutes from the airport not 10 as they tell you on reception - theres speed cameras everywhere too

  • Anna Cole

  • September 2014

First visit

We were very happy with our accommodation and plan to visit The Old Palace again

  • Di N

  • August 2014

Family Room with teenagers

Sadly the total lack of sound proofing in the bedroom ruined our stay to the extent that we thought other guests were actually in our room during the night which was disturbing to say the least !!!.

The put you up bed was really not fit for purpose for 2 teenage boys but the Hotel appreciated the problem and allocated an additional room on our last night. The Hotel was otherwise welcoming and in a good location.

  • L Wesker

  • August 2014

Curtains

Can I start by saying that the curtains are amazing.

They are so thick and heavy, they blotted out all light and helped me to sleep for 11 hours. I rarely sleep for 8 let alone 11. My wife slept for 12 hours. The many doors in the corridors keep the noise down so, once you close that bedroom door, you can truly shut the world out. Got a really good price on Late Rooms. Might not have booked it at full price. Slept so long, missed breakfast on both days, so I can't even comment on the food. If you feel tired and need sleep, or just need down time, I would strong advise you go here. Peace and solitude doesn't even begin to describe it. Yes, there was a wedding downstairs and wedding guests in the morning but they didn't disturb my sleep. Yes, maybe I was tired and needed sleep but the curtains are still amazing!

  • Emma W

  • August 2014

exec room not worth it!!

4 star hotel?.

Wouldn't say it was, more like 3, paid extra for exec room which is just extra toiletries dressing gown and 2 bottles of water. Couldn't get lunch as shut on Saturday. ?!. Breakfast was nice, the best thing about hotel, some staff didnt know about area and couldn't understand question. Music from wedding went on till 1am so music loud in our room even though room at back of hotel, car park full of wedding guests cars got the last one!. Surrounding area not particular nice drove to Hemel hempstead for dinner. Wouldn't stay here again would prefer the travel lodge in hemel hempstead. !

  • roger k

  • August 2014

We have stayed before, and will do so again.

A nice break.

  • Caroline S

  • August 2014

Family evening out.

Room size was ideal for the two teenagers and one mum.

The staff were very helpful and polite. Breakfast was delicious and the waiter and waitress were great.

  • W Marshall

  • July 2014

Very disappointing, not 4 star in my book.

No-one else in the restaurant which speaks volumes. Room clean but small and nothing special

  • sandra m

  • June 2014

Excellent Value

try and stay here when in Dunstable but is often fully booked and can understand why.

Great location, rooms always clean and food is really good