Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Scotland > Strathclyde > Argyll and Bute > Inverary Hotels > The Argyll Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Argyll Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Front Street , Inveraray , PA32 8XB
Few hotels in the Western Highlands have such a long & distinguished history as The Argyll. Designed in 1750 by the famous Scottish builder John Adam, the Argyll Hotel is one of most historic hotels on the west coast of Scotland. It is in a lovely location at the gateway to the Highlands, on the shores of Loch Fyne and Shira, and now offers 36 comfortable, en suite bedrooms, excellent cuisine and traditional Highland hospitality with peaty malt whiskies to savour.Whilst sitting in the conservatory, you’ll witness spectacular views over Loch Fyne. This is an idyllic hideaway and an ideal base from which to explore the beautiful Western Highlands and Islands.

Originally built to accommodate officials visiting the Inverarary Castle, the Argyll Hotel offers standards of hospitality that more than live up to its illustrious past. The Hotel Boasts a restaurant as well as a Lounge bar and Public bar that serve bar meals for Lunch and Dinner, Showing Sport on Sky Tv and also benifits from a Pool table and Juke Box.

Inveraray enjoys a picturesque setting on the shores of Loch Fyne, where it meets Loch Shira. There is a 9-hold golf course nearby, bird watching sites and wonderful walking and hiking routes. Other available activities include: clay-pigeon shooting, horse-riding, sea- and fly-fishing, land hover-crafting.
FREE WIFI and FREE PARKING available

*NEW* We are now offering our guest a mid-week EXPRESS BREAKFAST service. A Take away breakfast roll and take away hot beverage, for those who don’t have time for breakfast but are still hungry!
Picture of The Argyll Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel, Inveraray  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 67 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Argyll Hotel, Inveraray
Stayed, with my wife, for 2 nights. The hotel and rooms are "tired" but adequate.
The bar food and the breakfast was superb.
All in all good value for money at £54 a night including breakfast.

Reviewed by
Philip Hickman

From Ardrossan, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not value for the money
I have stayed in this hotel twice before that is why I booked it without looking at other places. What a bad mistake on my part. This was the worse room I have ever stayed in and looks nothing like the rooms that are shown on there website (I never saw this till I came home and was shown from a friend) The room was very small with a double bed put in it right again the wall under the window, so if you wanted to see the lovely view you had to go up onto the bed. The TV took up most of the room it was that big and just sitting on a small table in the middle of the room, so you had to walk past it to get to the bathroom. Really disappointed. I never went for breakfast but my husband did and it was a buffet breakfast which is great if there is anything there. He had to wait for things to come up, one thing at a time and then to top it off his toast arrived just as he was getting up to leave.

Reviewed by
J wilson

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Satisfactory
The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The only draw back was the bed, it was very uncomfortable and we hardly slept. The view was fantastic and very peaceful.

Reviewed by
Claire McMahon

From Motherwell, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Argyll Hotel Inveraray Scotland
A very comfortable hotel, with lovely views over the Loch. The food was fantastic and the staff always helpful. Some of the public areas of the hotel could do with a bit of refurbishment but the fact that everything was not pristine gave it a homely comfortable feel!

Reviewed by
Margaret I

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My partner & I stayed overnight to break a longer trip. We found the hotel to be in need of some T.L.C. The public areas were OK but our room would have benefitted from a complete refurb. The beds had seen better days and the room was generally run down.
We had an excellent evening meal in the lounge but breakfast was very poor. Limited choice and the cooked choices weren't as hot as they should have been. Overall it was OK for the price but, given the fantastic location I would have happily paid a higher rate for better quality accommodation.

Reviewed by
Mary C

From Forfar, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

There for Bowfest
Lovely room with four poster and large en suite. To side of hotel, but could still see the loch as on second floor.

Reviewed by
Anne C

From Dunoon, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thoroughly enjoy my stay., nice comfy room and an excellent breakfast.

Reviewed by
P Masterman

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

our room was in an adjacent annex with an outside door accessed via a security pad. it was not possible to see the pad in the dark so we had great difficulty getting the door open. the people in the next room ran a bath in the middle of the night and we couldn't sleep due the water tank emptying and refilling which seemed to take hours. the bed was as hard as the floor and as far as the room was concerned it was very unsatisfactory.

Reviewed by
john b

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mixed picture
We tried to cancel the rooms due to a family illness but missed the cancellation time by 3 hours. As one couple of the party could go we decided to do part of the trip anyway. On arriving at the hotel they gave us our room and I asked if the other room had been sold. The receptionist did not know. Later that evening our door opened without knocking and a flustered receptionist asked our names, said we had cancelled and they had another family waiting for the room. They had obviously sold on both rooms but were also keeping our money. I explained we had paid for the room, they had given me the key and unless they had another double room we were staying put! I also asked for a refund of the other room they had sold on.
It was a shame this part of the system was so duplicitous as otherwise, the food was good and the location perfect. A coat of paint in some areas would have helped too.

Reviewed by
J Ferrand

From Saltburn by The Sea, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

After enjoying our stay so much the first time i decided to book the superior double room as part if my fiance birthday. The last time we stayed we had a lovely wee twin room so we expected the superior room to be good ... Unfortunatly it was far from it, the room was old and well out dated with the wallpaper hanging off on one side of the wall, the tv was dumped on a bedside unit and the shower was nothing more than a trickle. We were disappointed with the room however did enjoy the rest of our stay.

Reviewed by
Allen D

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next