Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Scotland > Strathclyde > Argyll and Bute > Inverary Hotels > The Argyll Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Argyll Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Front Street , Inveraray , PA32 8XB
Few hotels in the Western Highlands have such a long & distinguished history as The Argyll. Designed in 1750 by the famous Scottish builder John Adam, the Argyll Hotel is one of most historic hotels on the west coast of Scotland. It is in a lovely location at the gateway to the Highlands, on the shores of Loch Fyne and Shira, and now offers 36 comfortable, en suite bedrooms, excellent cuisine and traditional Highland hospitality with peaty malt whiskies to savour.Whilst sitting in the conservatory, you’ll witness spectacular views over Loch Fyne. This is an idyllic hideaway and an ideal base from which to explore the beautiful Western Highlands and Islands.

Originally built to accommodate officials visiting the Inverarary Castle, the Argyll Hotel offers standards of hospitality that more than live up to its illustrious past. The Hotel Boasts a restaurant as well as a Lounge bar and Public bar that serve bar meals for Lunch and Dinner, Showing Sport on Sky Tv and also benifits from a Pool table and Juke Box.

Inveraray enjoys a picturesque setting on the shores of Loch Fyne, where it meets Loch Shira. There is a 9-hold golf course nearby, bird watching sites and wonderful walking and hiking routes. Other available activities include: clay-pigeon shooting, horse-riding, sea- and fly-fishing, land hover-crafting.
FREE WIFI and FREE PARKING available

*NEW* We are now offering our guest a mid-week EXPRESS BREAKFAST service. A Take away breakfast roll and take away hot beverage, for those who don’t have time for breakfast but are still hungry!
Picture of The Argyll Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel, Inveraray  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 67 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My partner & I stayed overnight to break a longer trip. We found the hotel to be in need of some T.L.C. The public areas were OK but our room would have benefitted from a complete refurb. The beds had seen better days and the room was generally run down.
We had an excellent evening meal in the lounge but breakfast was very poor. Limited choice and the cooked choices weren't as hot as they should have been. Overall it was OK for the price but, given the fantastic location I would have happily paid a higher rate for better quality accommodation.

Reviewed by
Mary C

From Forfar, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

There for Bowfest
Lovely room with four poster and large en suite. To side of hotel, but could still see the loch as on second floor.

Reviewed by
Anne C

From Dunoon, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thoroughly enjoy my stay., nice comfy room and an excellent breakfast.

Reviewed by
P Masterman

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

our room was in an adjacent annex with an outside door accessed via a security pad. it was not possible to see the pad in the dark so we had great difficulty getting the door open. the people in the next room ran a bath in the middle of the night and we couldn't sleep due the water tank emptying and refilling which seemed to take hours. the bed was as hard as the floor and as far as the room was concerned it was very unsatisfactory.

Reviewed by
john b

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mixed picture
We tried to cancel the rooms due to a family illness but missed the cancellation time by 3 hours. As one couple of the party could go we decided to do part of the trip anyway. On arriving at the hotel they gave us our room and I asked if the other room had been sold. The receptionist did not know. Later that evening our door opened without knocking and a flustered receptionist asked our names, said we had cancelled and they had another family waiting for the room. They had obviously sold on both rooms but were also keeping our money. I explained we had paid for the room, they had given me the key and unless they had another double room we were staying put! I also asked for a refund of the other room they had sold on.
It was a shame this part of the system was so duplicitous as otherwise, the food was good and the location perfect. A coat of paint in some areas would have helped too.

Reviewed by
J Ferrand

From Saltburn by The Sea, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

After enjoying our stay so much the first time i decided to book the superior double room as part if my fiance birthday. The last time we stayed we had a lovely wee twin room so we expected the superior room to be good ... Unfortunatly it was far from it, the room was old and well out dated with the wallpaper hanging off on one side of the wall, the tv was dumped on a bedside unit and the shower was nothing more than a trickle. We were disappointed with the room however did enjoy the rest of our stay.

Reviewed by
Allen D

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a shame
The hotel is really in need of a facelift, the wallpaper in the bedroom was held together and on the wall with cellotape and you could write you name on the dust built up on the drawers which the tv was on. We were really disappointed as this is a hotel we have passed on many occasion and always wanted to stay in.

Reviewed by
Y Miller

From Wishaw, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Staff were very friendly and polite , Rooms were average, In general I was pleased and would certainly stay again.

Reviewed by
Roy B

From Halstead, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely relaxing hotel
Staff were friendly and helpful. 3 course set menu was very tasty and excellent value for money. We would definitely go back.

Reviewed by
Tracy B

From Clydebank, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff polite and helpful. Room with view of loch, which was good. Neither bedside lamps worked-one had no bulb!

Reviewed by
M Pickstock

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next