Reviews - Ramside Hall Hotel and Golf


Carrville, DURHAM, DH1 1TD

Price From 318.90 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (56)

91% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Chris M

  • July 2015

Great location

A very comfortable hotel.

The service was excellent with a very wholesome breaKfast. Dinners were average .

  • Nigel J

  • April 2015


Tired and ageing hotel.

Room looked over building site. We asked to be moved and we were but we should have been allocated room as hotel wasn't full. Breakfast good but staff were woeful

  • Anna B

  • April 2015

Nice people poor experience!!!

Breakfast was awful.

We went down at 9.35 and it was nearly over. No plates/ bowls / juice. Food cold and staff all stood round chatting. No offer of tea or coffee - shame as the reception staff were great, friendly and accommodating. Diggers outside our room at 8am on a Saturday morning also poor and not stated on the website!!!!

  • M Casey

  • March 2015

Rooms lovely food not so

our room was absolutely fab.

nothing to fault whatsoever however there is not much choice on the food in the rib and grill other than that there is a carvery which was not to my taste as it maybe for others. we paid extra for the breakfast which for the price of our room 165 I would of thought it would be included but paying for breakfast took the cost to 190.98 which was not worth it as was not so nice.

  • Adam L

  • March 2015


Happily catered for me being vegan.

  • Bernardette Moore

  • January 2015

excellent hotel

I have never received such excellent service, I am sight impared & they removed any furniture from room that I could fall over, ensured I had a walk in shower !.

the food was very good value & so well cooked. bar staff friendly & had a good rapport, in fact all the staff were so helpful & friendly.

  • H Gormley

  • December 2014

Christmas break

Met up with friends from the U.S.

had a fantastic time, delux room was excellent, over looking the golf course, staff very friendly & helpful, had a birthday cake made for my son which was amazing. All in all a great time in fantastic surroundings, can't wait to go back.

  • Ian L

  • December 2014

Flatters to Deceive

This is a lovely hotel in a convenient location, the service and food were excellent, though some items are more pricey than elsewhere.

In December 2014 the photos of the hotel on the internet flattered, but the reality is the hotel complex is being extended, so if you had a room facing the front of the building your view was a building site, but if you were lucky enough to get a room facing the back, the views were of the golf course, lake and the wildlife, which was excellent. Yes, I would recommend the hotel.

  • Kevin A

  • December 2014

Nice 'country pad'

The type of place you would like to stay on cold winters evening.

The only small issue I had is they have designer lighting in the rooms, great for atmosphere but could be brighter for working. Excellent stay though and the steak was delicious.

  • Susan B

  • December 2014

christmas party

We stayed over as we were attending my work christmas party.

We loved the hotel and the room was gorgeous everything we needed. Clean tidy and staff were lovely made us feel at home. The beds were extremley comfortable. The room didnt have much lighting as when all lights were on it was still quite dark but apart from that it was wonderful.