No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ramside Hall Hotel and Golf

4Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Carrville , DURHAM, DH1 1TD

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The Ramside Hall Hotel and Golf is an impressive hotel set within a 220 acre estate just 400 metres from junction 62 of the A1M motorway. All bedrooms are individually decorated and furnished either with two twin beds or a king size bed and include remote control teletext television (with Sky Sports) fresh fruit and much more.

With two restaurants to choose from – The Brand New "Rib Room " or Pembertons Rotisserie & Carvery – you are spoilt for choice. Comprehensive Meeting & Events facilities for up to 600 with Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The championship 27-hole golf course is complemented by a superb golf clubhouse, driving range and Golf Academy. We also offer complimentary guest parking for 600 cars.
Picture of Ramside Hall Hotel and Golf, DURHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 84 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Flatters to Deceive
This is a lovely hotel in a convenient location, the service and food were excellent, though some items are more pricey than elsewhere.
In December 2014 the photos of the hotel on the internet flattered, but the reality is the hotel complex is being extended, so if you had a room facing the front of the building your view was a building site, but if you were lucky enough to get a room facing the back, the views were of the golf course, lake and the wildlife, which was excellent.
Yes, I would recommend the hotel.

Reviewed by
Ian L

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

christmas party
We stayed over as we were attending my work christmas party. We loved the hotel and the room was gorgeous everything we needed. Clean tidy and staff were lovely made us feel at home. The beds were extremley comfortable. The room didnt have much lighting as when all lights were on it was still quite dark but apart from that it was wonderful.

Reviewed by
Susan B

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business trip
Again great service offered with polite and very helpful staff

Reviewed by
Robert Emmanuel

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Durham delight
Stayed here several times and always good value, comfortable and a pleasure. Looking forward to the new extension and Spa, plus golf. Food in Rib Room is excellent. Best steak for some time.

Reviewed by
Ian M

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Experience
The friendliness...the ambience .... the smiles and helpfulness...All first class

Reviewed by
W Daley

From , UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice 'country pad'
The type of place you would like to stay on cold winters evening. The only small issue I had is they have designer lighting in the rooms, great for atmosphere but could be brighter for working. Excellent stay though and the steak was delicious.

Reviewed by
Kevin A

From Bicester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Romantic weekend
Staff especially reception were excellent...cheerful and couldn't do enough to help
We were told that the room had been refurb end when we reported a screw jutting out of the bath and expel lair was not working...it was not a complaint more for their info as my partner borrowed a screwdriver and fixed the problem.... The girls were so friendly who could complain!!
Food... Carvery in the bar area was very poor.!!...sloppy and badly presented..
Alternatively .resteraunt was excellent!!

Reviewed by
S Simkiss

From Shipley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recommended
Opted for one of the four poster rooms - stunning room. Not a great view at the moment due to building works but that will be temporary.
Very busy at breakfast but hardly surprising as there were two wedding parties the night before. It was rather unusual to have breakfast at a low table, akin to having breakfast on my knee. Not a comfortable experience and although I would have preferred to have a proper height table was told that there might be a considerable wait. The breakfast itself was fine, nothing to write home about though and I have had much better elsewhere.
Front desk team were first class, check in and check our were a breeze. All in all I would stay again, value for money for the standard of the room.

Reviewed by
steve c

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great one night stay
What a little gem of a hotel,cosy and grand at the same time friendly staff and great food made our stay relaxing, We are thinking of booking Christmas lunch.

Reviewed by
Ian W

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel quite and relaxing, but the bed was awfull not a good nights sleep,
Hotel was let down by the bed it seemed to collapse in the middle which led to poor nights sleep.

Reviewed by
Robert E

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next