No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Aberdeen Douglas Hotel

3Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
43-45 Market Street , Aberdeen, AB11 5EL
Built in 1848 at the height of the Victorian era the Aberdeen Douglas Hotel is one of Aberdeen's oldest hotels. A listed building makes it a much loved and well appointed Landmark in the city centre.

Privately owned this contemporary style hotel offers a warm and welcoming environment. Centrally located with the Train/Bus station just a minute's stroll away.

With 98 rooms, conference facilities for up to 400 person and Bistro. An ideal location for the Business Traveler. We offer complimentary WIFI Access. The hotel is also adjacent to such attractions as the Aberdeen Maritime museum and Aberdeen shopping centre just on the door step.

The ideal choice whether you are traveling for business or pleasure combining personal service and genuine hospitality.
Picture of Aberdeen Douglas Hotel, Aberdeen at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 94 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for one night stay
We arrived at the hotel and got a twin room instead of a double but it was no problem as when we went downstairs to reception they changed our room immediately. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean, bed was comfy, and there was a big tv (bonus). Only negative points were that we ordered two bowls of chips to the room which would only be around 4 pounds but they added 5 pounds onto this for service charge which I think is ridiculous! Also the bathroom light wasn't working which made it a bit hard to navigate at night!

Reviewed by
morgan g

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We would not go back there
Room was extremely warm even though heating was off. I think we were above the kitchen at the rear of the hotel, room 303. When we entered the room the window was open wide and the heat was terrible. The double bed was two singles pushed together with the annoying seam of the two mattresses, and had a wheel coaster missing and sloped. We had booked a double. When we went out for a meal, we could not leave the window open due to the metal fire escape outside, so not secure. We informed the reception, and they said they would put a fan in the room....not much use unless they turn it on !!! On our return we had to open the windows due to the excessive heat, and then of course the Aberdeen seagulls kept us awake all night ! Breakfast was forgettable and the hotel was full of people working offshore. In short, this is the sort of place oil-riggers spend a night before going offshore ( I know as I work offshore) I am just glad my company do not use this hotel.

Reviewed by
Andrew Tunn

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

staff at reception was very nice andalso helpful.lovely hotel and near to everything.

Reviewed by
j weir

From Fraserburgh, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room quite small but very clean and comfortable, only downside was that shower not very good but did not report until leaving day. Only stayed for 3 nights and would stay again.

Reviewed by
Irene E

From Alcester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


Reviewed by
Martin R

From Selkirk, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
A very warm and welcoming hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. The room and facilities were very clean and presentable and the bed was very comfortable, I would recommend this hotel to any visitors of the area and will be going back when I am next planning to stay in the area.

Reviewed by
A McGregor

From Peterhead, Scotland
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth the money
Found all staff to be very polite and helpful. Room was very spacious with king sized bed which was lovely. Room was well decorated but slightly tired with some staining to carpets. Bath and shower were just brilliant and complementary shower gel and shampoo dispensers are always welcome. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful. All in all a lovely stay marred only by the very rowdy pub across the street which was an unfortunate consequence of having a street facing room

Reviewed by
R Tocher

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good
Very good

Reviewed by
H Morton

From Motherwell, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very friendly and pleasant staff
I enjoyed my stay at Aberdeen Douglas hotel and I will be booking it again, staff were very helpfull, room service and cleaners respectfull of privacy will not just walk in unlike some hotels I have been in, very clean room and ensuite, had issue with toilet but cleaning crew fixed as I could have done myself but didn't want to incase something else went wrong, need to keep upto date on milk in rooms as 2 went off in coffee but expected with heat in rooms with window closed, bed was very comfortable indeed I slept like baby when I got in from work and slept most of first days stay, so I rate Aberdeen Douglas 10 out of 10 for service and quality, I will definitely be advising my friends to stay when in Aberdeen.

Reviewed by
Charles Doyle

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one word excellent
Excellent

Reviewed by
Rae Johnson

From , UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next