No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Gainsborough Hotel

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
7-11 Queensberry Place South Kensington, London, SW7 2DL
The Feel of an English country home the pleasure of being close to London's finest museums, shopping, dining, living. Relax and enjoy yourself in a setting of timeless elegance. Named after the celebrated artist, the Gainsborough combines the attractive style of bygone days with an easy informality. To stay here is to enjoy the London of fashionable South Kensington, Harrods, the restaurants, and antique markets, pubs and delightful backwaters of Chelsea and Knightsbridge. You're at the capital's culture too with great museums - Science, Natural History, Victoria and Albert - nearby and for music lovers, the glorious Royal Albert Hall, just minutes away.
Picture of Gainsborough Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 84 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
59% recommended this accommodation to a friend 64% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay and great location.
Overall a lovely room and excellent location. Shame we only stayed for one night but would definately consider usng it again.

Reviewed by
Mike W

From Holywell, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Conveniently located in S. Kensington
A genteel and quiet hotel close to the S. Kensington museums. I booked one of their smallest single rooms but it was quite adequate for an overnight.

Reviewed by
Alison W

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location location location
Location was fabulous so it was easy to get to local amenities - Royal Albert Hall on this occasion - room was comfortable, staff were extremely helpful and it was nice to have 24 hour room service as well as a bar - would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Ann F

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Boutique hotel in this case appears to be code for tatty
The hotel is in a great location and the facade is lovely, beautiful georgian architecture and looking well maintained.
The problems start once you are up the steps and through the front door. The reception area was obviously once a grand reception for a georgian house. Now its badly decorated, with a cheap and badly maintained reception desk plonked at a jaunty angle next to the bay window. The free glacier fruit sweets were nice, but I did have a chance to eat more than I wanted to while the receptionist took what felt like an full day to register me and find me my keys. It all would have been so much more bearable had the air conditioning been working, but alas it wasnt so I sweated through my suit and sucked sweets.
My room was on the first floor and thankfully there was a lift and equally thankfully i was the only guest using it, as it was so small that myself and my small suitcase completely filled it. The corridor on the first floor was so narrow and dark that had i met another guest I am not sure how we would have passed each other.
The Room itself was a bit of a curates egg. The good bits were the decoration, (sumptuous) and the bed (very big and very comfy). The bad bits however will take longer. In no particular order, were as follows. The room came with doors onto a balcony which neither unlocked top allow access or locked properly to provide security for the room. There was no iron or ironing board available (presenting at a conference in suitcase creased clothes is always a way to make a good impression). The bathroom was shabby and there was mold in the grout in the corners. There had obviously been a leak in the bathroom above at some point and this had been repaired but not well finished. The toilet was so close to the towel rail that you had to sit at 45 degree angle, which would not have been too bad had the seat been secured to the bowl. The wobbly nature of the seat meant it would not stay open unless you were sat on the toilet, so discarding used toilet paper was more of a chore than necessary. The soundproofing between the floors left something to be desired and trying to get to sleep listening to the poor guest in the bedroom above coping with his (or her) bout of food poisoning was difficult. I used the sound of the TV to mask the sound as best I could but unfortunately the TV stopped working at 9:30PM (an aerial problem I was told) and was not fixed until the next morning. More expensive than a travelodge but with poorer facilities.
Such a shame as it has so much potential

Reviewed by
Alistair Walker

From Brandon, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bill
Reviewed receipt and charged 108 rather than 88, hope the add 20 is not going to show on credit card bill

Reviewed by
David Madgwick

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location terrible everything else

Reviewed by
C Thompson

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable but noisy..
I liked the hotel and my room was pleasant but asked for a quiet room and there was lots of noise above my room until 2.30 am in the morning so I didn't get a good nights sleep!!

Reviewed by
C Valin

From Eastbourne, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
Located in a lovely part of London, the hotel staff are very pleasant, very helpful and the hotel is everything you want. We were very pleased with the whole of the stay and would highly recommend.

Reviewed by
KIM B

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

location, location, location and great value too
wonderful wide georgian street. great location, just a stones throw away from the natural history and science museums and a short walk to south kensington tube. this hotel was welcoming, efficient and economical. would definately stay here again.

Reviewed by
Lorraine Wilson

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good all round hotel
I enjoyed staying at the Gainsborough it was in a good location, the room was clean and well equipped and the reception staff were very friendly.

Reviewed by
Denise Dorley-Brown

From Ryde, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next