No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Gainsborough Hotel

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
7-11 Queensberry Place South Kensington, London, SW7 2DL
The Feel of an English country home the pleasure of being close to London's finest museums, shopping, dining, living. Relax and enjoy yourself in a setting of timeless elegance. Named after the celebrated artist, the Gainsborough combines the attractive style of bygone days with an easy informality. To stay here is to enjoy the London of fashionable South Kensington, Harrods, the restaurants, and antique markets, pubs and delightful backwaters of Chelsea and Knightsbridge. You're at the capital's culture too with great museums - Science, Natural History, Victoria and Albert - nearby and for music lovers, the glorious Royal Albert Hall, just minutes away.
Picture of Gainsborough Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 87 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
60% recommended this accommodation to a friend 64% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location close to South Kensington tube station and the museums. A taxi from the West End cost £15. The hotel was clean. We booked 2 twin rooms which were small but newly decorated with good sized en suites. Staff were very helpful indeed. Would definitely book again .

Reviewed by
T Bird

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good location
Hotel was good location, staff were friendly. Decor was a little tired and needing updating or a deep clean.

Reviewed by
felicity d

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great location average accomodation
This hotel is perfect for a night at the Albert Hall-but the room we had was tiny and tired. The bed was hard and the paintwork dusty. It has all the trappings of a 4 star hotel but most of the gadgets didn't work and the bathroom was very shabby.

Reviewed by
Julia H

From Selsey, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for what I needed and very central.
Stayed 2 nights at the Gainsborough and loved its character and its location. The room was small and the bathroom miniscule but for one person it was fine. The only thing I didn't like was that there was an airconditioning unit in the room with a big outlet hose that went out the window. In order to accommodate this hose, the sash window had been lifted and block of plastic inserted with a hole at one end to give outlet to the hose. This was created a little bit of a gap making it much noisier than it would have been if the window had been tight shut. I also noticed that the lower sash was fitted with plastic instead of glass which also made it noisier. I did get used to it by the second night but being a central London hotel, there was a lot of traffic noise. Other than that, the bed was super comfy and the room was really cosy just for one. I would stay here again definitely.

Reviewed by
Serena E

From Northwich, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gainsborough Hotel Review Oct 2014
Hotel in a fairly quiet street,room quite nicely decorated,general appearance of the hotel a little shabby, needs a lick of paint and tidying up, bathroom floor tiles broken, bath badly stained, bathpanel rotten at the bottom. Boiler packed in one night leaving the hotel with no hot water
It needs to be brought back up to standard

Reviewed by
ray west

From Wells Next The Sea, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

welcoming comfortable small room

Reviewed by
Sarah W

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Feedback
Booked an executive twin room nice however no mirror in the room other than a small mirror above the sink in the bathroom. Having gone down for an awards ceremony it would have been nice to see what we looked like in our cocktail dresses. Staff very friendly. Hotel in great location.

Reviewed by
M B

From England
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location for London underground, Museums and Albert Hall
Double Bed was comfortable and water in the shower was hot. We chose it for its location and would stay there again.

Reviewed by
Roy J

From Tadworth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

awful - don't book it
The hotel is way passed its prime - its only good feature is that it is in a nice part of town!

Reviewed by
T Taylor

From Newtownards, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay and great location.
Overall a lovely room and excellent location. Shame we only stayed for one night but would definately consider usng it again.

Reviewed by
Mike W

From Holywell, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next