No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Gainsborough Hotel

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
7-11 Queensberry Place South Kensington, London, SW7 2DL
The Feel of an English country home the pleasure of being close to London's finest museums, shopping, dining, living. Relax and enjoy yourself in a setting of timeless elegance. Named after the celebrated artist, the Gainsborough combines the attractive style of bygone days with an easy informality. To stay here is to enjoy the London of fashionable South Kensington, Harrods, the restaurants, and antique markets, pubs and delightful backwaters of Chelsea and Knightsbridge. You're at the capital's culture too with great museums - Science, Natural History, Victoria and Albert - nearby and for music lovers, the glorious Royal Albert Hall, just minutes away.
Picture of Gainsborough Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 88 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
59% recommended this accommodation to a friend 64% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

zzzzz
zzzz

Reviewed by
Alan S

From Broadstone, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
The location of the Gainsborough Hotel is excellent for all central London sights.
We have stayed at this Hotel before. Found the reception area and dining room very pleasant, but felt that the room didn't quite match up to the appearance of the Hotel. With the many choices of Hotels in London, we will most likely look for another place to stay next time we make a visit to London.

Reviewed by
francis M

From East Dereham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location,
Disappointed that there was no free wifi.
Small double room. Bathroom was a bit 'tired'. Needed a new bath panel as the water damaged peeling paint was unappealing. Cleanlliness of bath, basin and wc was OK, but attention to detail cleaning around wc handle, bath panel, sealant, etc. Receptionist on duty on arrival was not very welcoming. A different Receptionist on departure was very pleasant. Off-site Car parking was more expensive than stated.

Reviewed by
sandra g

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room very tired and in need of upgrading, certainly not executive!
Base wrong size for mattress, the mattress was shaped live a valley in fact a travel lodge would have been more comfortable! Certainly not 4 star.

Reviewed by
M Smith

From Hungerford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleased I didn't pay full price!
As soon as you enter the hotel you can sense that once upon a time this was a beautiful hotel. Unfortunately it is now tired and although it is nicely furnished, this hides a general lack of maintenance.
The bad things: The windows in my room did not close properly and there was considerable noise from traffic and people walking along the street, the bathroom door did not close properly, the mixer tap came off in my hand when I went to change from bath to shower, the tiles on the bathroom floor were cracked, the blinds at the bathroom window did not close properly. There was a really annoying loud electrical hum coming from the corridor outside, luckily I had earplugs with me.
The good things: Lovely comfortable bed and a good night's sleep
I would be extremely upset if I had paid full price for this room which is tired and many items are in need of attention

Reviewed by
D Constable

From West Malling, England
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good check in time as was only staying one night. Bedroom has a small leak no problem we were offered an another room which was slightly larger. Room good and quiet.

Reviewed by
Jill King

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value and perfectly situated for museum visits

Reviewed by
caroline e

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location but shabby room and overpriced breakfast
Location of hotel was fantastic, minutes from museums, Harrods, underground station etc. Unfortunately that was the best thing about this hotel. The room and bathroom were very shabby, with a "window" onto an internal service shaft. The quilt cover and upholstery were stained, and the breakfast was overpriced.

Reviewed by
H Watson

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good location
Hotel was good location, staff were friendly. Decor was a little tired and needing updating or a deep clean.

Reviewed by
felicity d

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location close to South Kensington tube station and the museums. A taxi from the West End cost £15. The hotel was clean. We booked 2 twin rooms which were small but newly decorated with good sized en suites. Staff were very helpful indeed. Would definitely book again .

Reviewed by
T Bird

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next