No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Gainsborough Hotel

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
7-11 Queensberry Place South Kensington, London, SW7 2DL
The Feel of an English country home the pleasure of being close to London's finest museums, shopping, dining, living. Relax and enjoy yourself in a setting of timeless elegance. Named after the celebrated artist, the Gainsborough combines the attractive style of bygone days with an easy informality. To stay here is to enjoy the London of fashionable South Kensington, Harrods, the restaurants, and antique markets, pubs and delightful backwaters of Chelsea and Knightsbridge. You're at the capital's culture too with great museums - Science, Natural History, Victoria and Albert - nearby and for music lovers, the glorious Royal Albert Hall, just minutes away.
Picture of Gainsborough Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 88 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
59% recommended this accommodation to a friend 64% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room standard
Room was very tired and showing signs of wear - especially the bathroom. hot water rather erratic.

Reviewed by
Nicola A

From Usk, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nothing like the description
Terrible.. Standard double room. having looked at the pictures we were expecting something quite reasonable. Even at a reduced rate i would have got a better room at a Travelodge. Small radiator covered by thick curtain (useless). Air con on wall with masking tape over the switch, Dehumidifier in the room (???) Toilet, No heating at all, could not face getting into the shower. Used all the towels on the floor as it was so cold. Double bed was two singles pushed together and a struggle not to fall into the ever increasing gap. no spare blankets so the electric fire we found in the wardrobe was on all night. This is such a shame as its location is great for museums, Albert hall and some very good shops.

Reviewed by
James W

From Biggleswade, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A night at the theatre
Very convenient for the Royal Albert Hall and good value.

Reviewed by
Jan H

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was about as I would expect in London. Small but adequate.
On arrival in room see there is no electrical cable for the TV - reception sorted this out within half an hour.
I then wanted a Drink but the little box had no tea bags or coffee - reception sorted this out within half an hour.
There was no spoon to stir my tea - I couldn't be bothered to ask reception again!.
Otherwise all ok.

Reviewed by
S OWEN

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good place to stay
very helpful staff - i wouldnt stay there at normal prices i wouldn't think it worth but i had large discount and thought it good for that price
shower was bit dodgy but staff excellent

Reviewed by
m f

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for the room in a great location near the Victoria and Albert Museum, South Kensington!
Room extremely small but in a great location, clean, easy to get to and very safe!

Reviewed by
Erna A

From USA
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gainsborough Hotel
Only complain I have was no plug in bath & could not get us 1 till following morning.

Reviewed by
marie k

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel in great area
The hotel is off the main road, so minimal passing traffic. The foyer area is tastefully decorated, in keeping with the building. Staff were very welcoming and as we arrived before our room was ready, offered to look after our bags, which other hotels have refused to do in London.
We stayed in a superior room, which was again nicely decorated. Our bed was a bit small, considering the cost of the room, it was barely a double and as my wife is 5 months pregnant it would have been nice to have a little bit more space. The bathroom was also shabby in comparison to the rest of the room, stained bath, splinters coming off the bath panel.
Overall though a pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
L Johnson

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointed, would never stay again.
We were told that food was available 24 hours, but when we requested a burger from the menu, they said all they had was ham sandwiches. We were starving and relied on this when we got back to the hotel. We had two separate beds pushed together which left me with a bad back as I kept falling down the middle of the two beds, and apparently, this was a deluxe room. We checked out asking for the manager who was not available. They said he would call, as we think we should have some discount, but to date, no phone call. Very bad service.

Reviewed by
Jill Fermess

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Compact but perfectly formed
I was out in London for a works Christmas party and needed somewhere to stay for the night.
I booked a deluxe single room. Room décor was clean, tidy & what was expected. Bed was a 1.5 single - big enough for me and would have been cosy for a couple.
Bathroom was a bit tired, but clean and functional.
I got exactly what a paid for through Laterooms - £79 for a room in central London - bargain!

Reviewed by
Lisa F

From Ely, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next