Reviews - Apollo Hotel


Popley Way, Basingstoke, RG24 9NU

Price From 164.06 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (32)

72% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Adam W

  • November 2015

Nice hotel

Room a bit old style but a nice hotel overall with a nice spa

  • Julie W

  • November 2015

Overall good but...

All of the staff we encountered were friendly, efficient & polite.

Room was fairly small but clean & well laid out if a little tired looking. The pool, sauna & steam areas are small but nice & clean - the changing rooms could do with one of those spinners to dry your swim wear tho.

Breakfast was varied with top ups still being made at 9.30.

Overall a good value overnight break

  • J Anderson

  • October 2015

Useful Hotel

We stayed two nights in October.

We did not dine but did have breakfast.

Our room was spacious and very quiet which was just what we wanted. Decor typical of this type of hotel and perfectly fine. Comfortable bed. The bathroom was not quite as clean as we would have liked. There was a hair in the basin and the paint and wood veneer were flaking and peeling behind the door. Easy to miss if you just look in but once inside with the door closed it is obvious.

Breakfast lovely apart from the tea which was available as 'make your own' with a teabag,in a cup, from flasks of hot water. One cannot make tea except with boiling water. On the second morning we made tea in our room and carried it downstairs to breakfast which allowed us to add fresh milk. Cunning. Staff polite and helpful when we inadvertently set off the alarm in the safe!

  • s balhatchet

  • October 2015


The extractor fan did not work in the bathroom

  • N Smith

  • September 2015

Just the job for a stop-over

Not the most special hotel, pretty basic but does what it needs to.

No complaints

  • Anantha B

  • September 2015

Lovely Hotel

Nice place to stay with excellent facilities.

  • M Easton

  • September 2015

Apollo Hotel

We were very pleased with the hotel & its facilities.

  • A Fisher

  • August 2015


First class from start to finish

  • t biddle

  • August 2015

Below average weekend!!

Looking at the Apollo Hotel from the outside it looked very nice and the reception area was quite good apart from the centre carpet appeared to be a little tired.

The majority of the staff were foreign although a few did speak reasonable English. A sign of cutting corners wage wise methinks. Rather disappointed there was no draught Guinness at the bar and drink prices where a little high with half a pint of coke at £1.95. The room I felt was a little small, especially the bathroom and the toilet paper considering the cost of accommodation was of dubious quality. As far as breakfast was concerned, well self service under lights to keep food warm fried bread like a bullet, bacon very crisp, black pudding tasteless and dried up in fact had better breakfast in a B& B which wasn't self service and also was a damn sight cheaper, so overall I'm very glad our stay was for one night only and not the full week, plus the language of some of the guests was a little on the blue side to say the least and not one member of staff asked them to tone it down.

  • Victor P

  • July 2015

Great Value for Money in Basingstoke

We stayed one night at the Apollo Hotel, which was easy to find just outside the town centre.

There was free parking, an efficient check-in with polite staff. The room was clean with enough space and there was no noise. The double bed was a bit bouncy but slept OK. Breakfast was basic but there was a reasonable amount of choice. Great value for money all round.