No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Apollo Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Popley Way , Basingstoke, RG24 9NU
Basingstoke's premier hotel, situated on the ring road, a few minutes from Junction 6 of the M3 motorway This 4 star, stylish contemporary hotel provides well-equipped accommodation and spacious public areas, appealing to both the leisure and business guest. The large, well-designed bedrooms have been tastefully refurbished to the highest standards incorporating facilities such as interactive TV , 2 telephones with Ddi lines, and power showers in the ensuite bathrooms. We also offer free High Speed Wifi internet throughout the entire hotel, including all bedrooms.

Horizon’s Health and Beauty is Apollo’s onsite leisure club and treatment rooms, available for use by hotel guests. We recommend treatments are pre-booked to avoid disappointment. Facilities include an indoor pool and spa with waterfall feature, fully equipped gym.
Picture of Apollo Hotel, Basingstoke at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room a little tired. lounge very nice, staff very helpful and food was good.
Overall the stay was good

Reviewed by
a plenty

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Although staff were polite, they did not seem very happy in their work, the chamber maids were constantly complaining each time we passed them in the corridor, and the bar staff (there seemed to be a trainee was not very good at her job) and the more experienced lady seemed harassed

Reviewed by
sharon k

From Glossop, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bank holiday hospital visit stay
This hotel was very close to the hospital and so was v convenient for us, we booked the suit - only to be phoned on the arrival day to be told we'd been downgraded to jar suit, the reason was unclear & we suspect it was dbl booked. Initial reception was poor as one of the desk team obviously would have proffered to be anywhere else but working there & clearly won't be in hospitality industry for much longer. The other staff though are helpful, cheerful & polite, the children loved the pool, our room was fine & breakfast was both sensibly priced and reasonable quality.

Reviewed by
Phillip C

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family room above wedding reception hall - are you max?
Function room under family rooms.....loud wedding reception until midnight on a warm evening so doors on function room open and bedroom window open ...... Children over tired and grumpy next day. Terrible stay.

Reviewed by
Lynn H

From Bridgnorth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Landing In Basingstoke
We came to stay at the hotel with the intention of using it as our base to complete some day trips in the area. The hotel staff were very welcoming and the room was great as we had a separate lounge and bedroom.

Reviewed by
James G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top hotel
Had a brilliant stay at the Apollo, the food was amazing and the service was exceptional, made full use of the pool and jacuzzi, would highly recommend for a romantic getaway

Reviewed by
christopher swann

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired room
the negatives: Tired room, small bathroom, TV poor in both picture quality and size. WIFI awful. plumbing noises from bathroom during night!
the positives: good parking. slept well until the noise from bathroom drains woke me up.

Reviewed by
Neil H

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two day stay with young children
The staff were very helpful throughout. The bedding for the sofa bed for the children was not ready but staff came up to the room and sorted it out very quickly after a phone call to reception. Booking through late rooms does not seem to automatically flag up the fact that bedding for children is needed on the hotel's computer system so it's worth mentioning when checking in. Staff were apologetic about this and were friendly and attentive throughout. The pool was lovely. The food was good and my four year old son was kept amused in the restaurant by counting lorries on the roundabout ( triple glazing cut out any noise). Book for breakfast at reception, this can be just before you go in, for the best value.

Reviewed by
clare m

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was tidy but looked very tired. Needed redecorating... bathroom need a deep clean but served the purpose.
Spa very out dated. Floor stained as was the tiles in the pool. Too much chlorine in the pool, water balance was off and stung my eyes! Gym facilities were fantastic... more than you would expect for a hotel. Considering the money we paid, I expected better but I have stayed in plenty worse!!

Reviewed by
mathew h

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything was fine except that the room was very warm
The hotel does not seem to have any air conditioning which made our stay a bit uncomfortable

Reviewed by
David G

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next