Reviews - Comfort Inn City Centre Birmingham


Station Street, Birmingham, B5 4DY

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (143)

65% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Heidi B

  • November 2015

Comfort Inn City Centre Birmingham

Fantastic service.

Can't fault it.

  • Ruth H

  • October 2015

Great location, good value for money

Excellent city centre location.

clean and tidy room. would recommend for a great value city break.

  • Jon L

  • October 2015

Business stay in Manchester..

The hotel is very dated and my business group had rooms in the rafters of the hotel that were awkwardly laid out and the showers had no pressure, rendering them almost useless.

  • Terry H

  • October 2015

Comfort Inn City Centre Birmingham

On arrival I was a little concerned as there appeared to be no room allocated !!.

The young lady did sort out a room, and by good fortune I had a printed copy of the Late Rooms booking. Had I not had the confirmation I know not what would have happened as the rate on the day was £79 and not £55.

  • Sally H

  • September 2015

Very disappointing

I stayed overnight in Birmingham as I had a two day intensive course and needed a good nights rest at the end of day 1.

As hotel is by New St station - construction noise until 3am. I know that they could not control the construction noise, BUT I should have been advised that it may disturb me so that I could have chosen to go somewhere else. In addition to this noise, the room i was given was clearly close to the boiler, it came on/ off all throughout the night and woke me nearly every time. It was SO hot in the room that I had to leave early for fear that I may actually pass out, There was hair in the bath, that was not mine, the bin in the bathroom was broken but also dirty and the lampshade over the tv was stained. The shower was so pathetic I would have taken me an hour to rinse my hair, so i had to bath.... The lift frightened the life out of me and looked as if it belonged in a council tower block with graffiti scratched into it. My room - for a woman on her own - was right away from anywhere, through dingy corridors and quite frankly I was a little bit scared to stay there. The stairs were untidy/ not hoovered and ladders and other equipment were stored on the landings. I find this very disappointing and NOT value for money. I wasn't asked if i enjoyed my stay, probably because they get so many complaints. I was told the manager would ring me, but so far - they have not, i have emailed but so far no response.

  • Andrew D

  • September 2015

Outside influences

This hotel is a basic inexpensive hotel that suffers greatly from work going on outside.

I stayed for three nights and got very little sleep due to the 24hrs road works going on. This apparently has been ongoing for two years and there is no end in sight.

Unfortunately and rather surprisingly the room I was in only had single glazing so the noise was deafening. At one point i had the television up full volume and could not hear it over noise of a steam road roller right outside. Not the fault of the hotel but would not return until road works completed. Staff were excellent throughout.

  • A Owen

  • August 2015

The hotel was clean though a little dated and in need of a facelift

  • Barbara Bowie

  • July 2015

Overnight stay

Loved this little room.

It was clean and had everything you need for an overnight stay. Only negative was that the shower took too long to heat up. (Also there was work going on in the station building across the road, although this didn't bother me too much as I just needed a place to lay my head.) But lovely clean little en-suite.

  • Shawn C

  • July 2015

loved every single second

  • Liam Coughlan

  • June 2015

Price has doubled ... for no improvement?

I stayed here at Christmas for 3 nights and wrote a very positive review.

I returned this weekend for one night. The price had essentially doubled since I stayed over Christmas, and I put that down to the mention of a 'refurb' within the hotel. When I stayed at Christmas it was around £35 p/night, and considering the location of the hotel (right next to new st) that was perfect. When I saw the price at £75 p/night, I thought that was unreasonable for the standard of hotel I experienced previously (ie; clean but very simple, a bit dated, a few rough edges) but I figured there must have been a big refurb and raising of standards to justify the new price. After staying there for one night the only change I noticed at all within the hotel is they now have electronic key cards to enter the rooms, whereas previously it was an old-fashioned key that you had to turn. I don't think a single thing was different about the room (I incidentally stayed in exactly the same room as previously). For that reason, I have to say the value for money was poor. When it was cheaper, I was perfectly happy to pay that price for a no-frills hotel in a great location. When it is charging the same as some more luxurious, modern places, I would definitely go elsewhere in future.