The Hallam

0

12 Hallam Street, London, W1W 6JF

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (134)

36% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Ian W

  • May 2015

Terrible

Where to start...

Shower did not work, room was unclean, mattress must of been 20 years old, very noisy hotel, and the staff were not helpful or accommodating.

  • steve h

  • May 2015

5 hours only

I needed somewhere in W1 after a late dinner with clients and to make a 6 am start so wasn't too fussy about what it was.

It was a good location the lift worked which was just as well as I was on the top floor. The cats head would have been badly bruised if I had attempted that exercise but not a problem. The main issue was the heat. It wasn't a warm night but even with the windows open I couldn't get the heat below 23 degrees. Clearly the residents in the rooms below had their radiators on full blast..

  • Dario A

  • May 2015

Great location, good value

The hotel sits just behind the BBC building on Portland Street and so is minutes away from the West End.

I was attending a recording at the BBC and, on Saturday, going to the Royal Academy. All walkable. The price indicates you won't be getting a 'lap of luxury' experience but the room was clean and serviceable. A hairdryer and fan were bonus items to find - not that I used either but wasn't expecting to find them there. Breakfast was very quickly served and perfectly good. The rooms, apart from reception, are all a bit 'tired'. Whilst I was thrilled to have en suite facilities it was the most 'tired' aspect. The handbasin had a serious crack across the bowl, the shower dripped constantly into a puddle of water which never cleared and then when it came to use the shower it was very weak and only warm...still good value for this location though!

  • Nicki D

  • April 2015

lovely staff

The receptionist couldn't have been more helpful with hotel info and details of local amenities.

The breakfast staff was also very friendly and helpful.

  • Deborah T

  • April 2015

Cheap, basic but brilliant location

I read a lot of the negative comments prior to booking but was not put off because the price was unbeatable.

Having stayed at the hotel, I wonder why some people felt the need to be so negative. It's fine. Really. For such a low price, it's not going to be the Ritz but the room was comfortable, fresh clean linen and perfect location to stay overnight if you're having a night out in central London.

  • Tracy bluemore

  • April 2015

A great location, easy reach of two stations and pleanty of pubs nearby. suited my needs perfectly

The hotel itself was perfect for my needs.

located three streets away from my exam location. The man on the desk was helpful and polite. A very chilled out atmosphere which I liked. The room suited my needs. The linen on the bed was crisp and white very clean. I slept well. The breakfast was an English breakfast which I enjoyed very much. I thought for what I paid for my husband and myself with breakfast included, in the location in which the hotel was in it was a great deal. The only thing I didn't like was that there was only one plug socked so only one of us could use phone charger etc, Also I wasn't keen on having the sink in the bedroom. Would have been better in the bathroom. To be honest the bath is pretty grim, it needs to be replaced, and some nice bathmats put in it. Also the shower holder was broken so I had to hold it to shower. But at the end of the day I wasn't living in the room it was somewhere to sleep overnight so it suited my purpose and my pocket fine. The room was nice and warm and the towels were also lovely and clean and white. I would definitely go there again if I needed to go to this location for business. hope this helps

Tracy Bluemore

  • Ovidiu T

  • April 2015

Just bearable.

Either unexperienced staff or they just don't give a damn.

They didn't have an ironing board, and the Internet, although I had to pay for it, required for the router to be often restarted. Not that clean, but for the price I have no complaints in that department. Food wasn't great, and they had a very limited set menu (you can't even have cheese). They even managed to mess up my order once, but by that stage I didn't care anymore. Overall, considering the price I paid and the location, I think it was ok. As long as you don't plan on spending too much time in the hotel, I'd recommend it.

  • Ian P

  • April 2015

Did not meet my expectations

On arrival I was booked in half hour later and been ordered to sit down and wait during then instead of being asked politely.

In the room there was a cleaner talking on the phone just before I was trying to unlock the door also there was none of the following: Hot water which I had to use luke warm water for a shower, wardrobe, safe and ironing board. Also I noticed the receipt read custome not present and payment was out of my account on the day before I checked in.

  • Z L

  • March 2015

The Hallam

The decor was old and shabby the central heating made it like a sauna, under the coverings the pillows were yellow, old and stale smelling.

The carpet looked like it had been used in a pub, it was that filthy and worn with age.

The breakfast was ok but pre cooked and reheated to order.

  • GORDON MACLEOD

  • March 2015

Basic but satisfactory accommodation in central London

The Hallam is basic accommodation close to various amenities and attractions in central London.

Could be considered good value depending on the price you actually pay. I paid £89 for a twin room including a full cooked breakfast (which was ample and tasty). The rooms are a bit tired and in particular the shower/toilet/bathroom could have done with a bit of maintenance and an upgrade. The twin bedded room was of ample size. There was plenty of hot water and the room was heated sufficiently well.