Reviews - The Hallam

12 Hallam Street, London, W1W 6JF

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (122)

37% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Helen B

  • November 2015

Definitely value for money!

Visiting London for a night out with friends, I needed somewhere central and inexpensive - this was perfect for me.

The room I'd booked was on the 5th floor, but when the receptionist saw I walked with a stick he said the lift only went to the 4th floor, and changed my room to the 4th floor so it was easier to get to. 'The room was clean and warm, bed was comfy, TV worked and there was more than enough space. Breakfast was great, would definitely recommend this to friends and family. Not luxury, but luxury wasn't what I was looking for.

  • Jamie O

  • November 2015

Cheap but noisy

Room was advertised as last-minute price reduction, and was cheap for central London.

It was clean and fairly well kept, but it was in the hotel's basement next to the laundry. Wifi worked only intermittently (but they didn't charge me the usual £5 fee for it). One issue with the room is that I could clearly hear the frequent underground trains passing along tunnels several metres beneath. Would recommend for budget-conscious travellers who sleep solidly or don't mind wearing ear plugs.

  • Mike T

  • November 2015

A night in the Hallam

Reading the reviews prior to arrival I was dreading my stay, but come on everyone, its not that bad.

I stayed in room 14 at the top of the stairs. Yes the lift was noisy, yes I could hear the underground after 7 AM, yes there was no plug on the sink, and yes the room was so small I genuinely could not swing a cat. But .... the room was clean (ish) with clean bed linen, clean towels, the TV worked and the water was hot .... well the cold tap produced hot water after running it for a few minutes. The location was excellent, as was the breakfast. If you want luxury the Hallam is not for you, but if you want a cheap room in the centre of London for a night ....... it's OK.

  • M Witt

  • November 2015

Great location in central london

Stayed here for business, me and my colleague had work.

Check in was quick, the only issue that we had was the fact that there was no lift, and we were on the top floor, with a lot of heavy equipment to carry. The staff were very helpful and let us leave the heaviest stuff downstairs though. Overall just what we were looking for

  • Adam S

  • November 2015

The Hallam Hotel

The hotel is in a perfecr location for getting around central London.

I found it good value and the staff were also helpful.

  • Hilary D

  • October 2015

Cheap but not cheerful

The only positive (and I am generally a very positive person) is that the single bed was quite comfortable.

The bathroom was grim, the loo seat was loose, there were nail clippings on the floor. The room was tiny - not a problem in itself but the radiator was on full heat and there was no way of turning it off. The window had to be open wide to all the street noise. I tried to use the grubby hairdryer and it did not work (as I left I mentioned it and was told I should have turned it on in the wardrobe!. No instructions!) There is evidence of nicotine on paintwork so I guess it has not been decorated since the ban on smoking. The carpet on stairs is filthy. The reception poor and unwelcoming on arrival and unhelpful on leaving. Breakfast ok.

  • kelly a

  • September 2015

The hallam

Shower was a bit dirty but other than that, great location and nice staff.

  • B Creed

  • September 2015

Food quality/service

Breakfast would be better buffet style as the food looked like it had been precooked and warmed up, the waitress was head cook and bottle washer, and clearly did not want to be there.

She was very abrupt.

  • Y Wu

  • August 2015

The worst hotel I've ever stayed in.

The shower was always cold.

I told the receptionist on the first day, he didn't do anything about it, so it was cold every day. There was a nice lady serving breakfast for the first few days, but on the last day it was a different lady who was very rude. They serve breakfast until 9:30, I got there at 9:15, she basically told me to go away. Unbelievable!

  • Kathleen C

  • July 2015


On arrival the Manager at the desk was very curt, pushed a piece of paper towards me and asked me to sign.

I couldn't find my room went back to reception and he said " I told you down stair". My room was in the basement, smelled unpleasant and the furniture had tape around the edges to hold it together. 22.00 that night I had a knock on the door (there was no spy hole or door chain and I probably shouldn't have answered it) a male employee said the Manager had given me the wrong room, would I pack my belongings in the morning and someone would take my case to my new room. Got in that evening and my case was not in my room, turned out it was in the original room and I believe the room had been allocated as the employee knocked on the door before unlocking it, luckily nothing was missing from my case. The shower water was tepid, all in all not a very pleasant experience. On the bright side the hotel is very central, walking to shops and transport is very easy.