No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Newby Bridge Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Newby Bridge , Newby Bridge, LA12 8NA
Directly overlooking Lake Windermere in lovely landscaped grounds, Newby Bridge Hotel is the perfect place to stay in the lake District. The Newby Bridge Hotel has recently been extended and provides quality accommodation, roaring log fires, leisure facilities, friendly service and not forgetting the good food. We have 41 bedrooms including 10 Four Poster rooms with ensuite spa baths. The hotel is set in beautiful landscaped gardens and has a Rotunda wedding chapel and a Chelsea Flower Show show Garden. Our private leisure centre, which is exclusive to hotel guests, features a pool, spa pool, mini gym and a steam room. We have an Oak-panelled restaurant and also 'The Huntsman's Inn' traditional bar. Free wifi is available for all guests in the lounge and bar area.
Picture of Newby Bridge Hotel, Newby Bridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 22 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
57% recommended this accommodation to a friend 61% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall a great stay at a lovely hotel
We stayed at the newby bridge hotel for one night. Upon arrival we were told we had been upgraded to the bridal suite after originally booking a family room with cot (cot was a mamas and papas travel cot with sheet provided then we brought our own pillow and grobag). The room was lovely - very beautiful. The bed was a comfortable double. Tea and coffee etc in the room was great. The room could have been a bit cleaner - there were hairs on the floor and certain things were obviously dirty eg light switches but overall a very nice room.
We only had breakfast at the hotel. We arrived just before 9am and it was pretty busy. The food was ok although they kept on running out of nearly everything so we were constantly waiting and I never got any eggs in the end. There was a good selection of cereal. The fruit was basic tinned fruit - nothing to get excited about. There was plenty of juice, water and coffee. We didn't use one as our little one only likes to sit in high chairs that are actually at the table but they do provide high chairs.
The car park was very busy and tight when full.
The swimming pool was fine and the jacuzzi was an added bonus. The 'gym' was nothing to write home about.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Newby Bridge hotel and we would return and we would reccommend.

Reviewed by
A Parkes

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very tired decor and still had a mixer shower(not good and no water pressure)

Reviewed by
eric s

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room dated, house keeping poor. Poor evening resturaurant service .
Room was very dated I had asked for a newly refurbished room on my booking but didn't get it.House keeping,come in the second day, only pulled the sheets over the bed, which didn't fit, the double bed we expected was two single beds pushed together,therefor the sheets didn't fit !!!! they only emptied the bin and renewed tea and coffee. We booked a table in the restaurant for 8 o'clock we were seated and then left ,we sat there for 20 minuets without anybody even taking a drinks order , we left and went else where to eat

Reviewed by
Valerie Jones

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, but dated......
Would have preferred newer side of hotel, rooms very dated, but clean. Bed was comfy, flat screen TV on wall, but had to sit on bed to watch it. Very limited channels. Gym was 4 machines only.....and changing room could only fit 2-3 people with single shower! Food plentiful, traditional and good value. Lovely gardens with nice views.

Reviewed by
ANDREW P

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel needs refurbing

Reviewed by
paul musgrave

From Runcorn, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not quite Shabby chic!
Comfotable atmosphere and friendly staff but desperately in need off a bit of tlc. Our room had crumbs behind the hospitality tray and a can of Pal complete with spoon outside our door onto the garden. Lampshades and lamp bases needed dusting. Comfy bed. Bathroom mouldy and needed an upgrade. The whole place needed a deep clean. Jacuzzi, steam room and pool all felt the same - in fact theses were decidedly dodgy!
Attractive grounds and gardens. Food was good - maybe a little overpriced on the 3 course dinner.

Reviewed by
a healey

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.
.

Reviewed by
J Brown

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Couldn't fault the place for the price, clean room comfy bed bit noisy at night am early in the morning but can't complain

Reviewed by
Richard C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a busy breakfast time
very good value for money, every room taken so breakfast was very busy but the staff coped very well serving drinks and toast. Dinner in the bar was excellent, the restaurant was busy

Reviewed by
arthur chapman

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Impressed
We booked this break the day before our visit and were a little concerned about the quality of the establishment
Our fears were unfounded. The hotel is in a nice spot, the welcome was warm and our room was top notch. Beautifully appointed, very modern, exceptionally clean. As I understand it there are rooms within the establishment which aren't quite up to this standard, but there is a programme of modernisation underway over the next 12 months so ask for one of the refurbished rooms when booking !
Breakfast was of a good quality and overall for the price that we paid the Hotel offers exceptional value

Reviewed by
John H

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next