No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Newby Bridge Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Newby Bridge , Newby Bridge, LA12 8NA
Directly overlooking Lake Windermere in lovely landscaped grounds, Newby Bridge Hotel is the perfect place to stay in the lake District. The Newby Bridge Hotel has recently been extended and provides quality accommodation, roaring log fires, leisure facilities, friendly service and not forgetting the good food.
We have an Oak-panelled restaurant and also 'The Huntsman's Inn' traditional bar. Free wifi is available for all guests in the lounge and bar area.
We have 41 bedrooms including 10 Four Poster rooms with ensuite spa baths.
The hotel is set in beautiful landscaped gardens and has a Rotunda wedding chapel and a Chelsea Flower Show show Garden. Our private leisure centre, which is exclusive to hotel guests, features a pool, spa pool, mini gym and a steam room.
Picture of Newby Bridge Hotel, Newby Bridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
58% recommended this accommodation to a friend 62% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Arrived to find dinner being included on the first night, plus return cruise tickets to Bowness. Was
a great start to break

Reviewed by
S Eccles

From Cupar, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
Very pleasant hotel with great staff and excellent service. Beautiful area with lake view. Cosy bar & restaurant. Tried only breakfast which was very good (traditional English).
Hotel interior very old fashioned but clean so didn't mind. Would recommend.

Reviewed by
Dominika K

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

July2014
Beautiful building in beautiful grounds. Lovely location and easy to find. On the whole a great product however felt unloved and not looked after. Got the impression that the staff were not engaged or motivated to be there, there was a lot of moaning from staff about working over their shift etc, we had a broken toilet that was obviously found by housekeeping and left, the spa area was not the cleanest and the whole place really needed a spring clean .

Reviewed by
John T

From cannock, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and helpful staff, beautiful hotel, incredible price!
Booking through LateRooms.com, my friends and I got an incredible deal. Initially, only two of us were planning to go, so we booked a twin room 2 weeks before we left. But a week later, another friend joined us. Despite every room being fully booked, when I rang the hotel to notify them of the change in guest number, they actually managed to get us into a family room. The receptionist was incredibly helpful and went out of their way to sort our problem, at an insanely good price still.
The hotel itself is in a beautiful location, at the southern tip of Lake Windermere. You can get yourself an incredible view. The hotel garden is stunning and the rooms are very comfortable to settle into with a TV, comfortable beds and other furniture and even tea and coffee to make for yourself. The hotel facilties are open to all guests, including a wonderful swimming pool, gym and, my personal favourite, a games room with a pool table. The room was a little warm at night, but managed to get a good night's sleep nonetheless.
Breakfast was perfect. It is a self - service buffet with staff bringing fresh tea and toast. There is plenty of variety, even for vegetarians, from cereal, juices, toast, warm beverages to hot food including eggs, bacon, beans, mushrooms, fresh croissants and sausages. The variety is amazing and it definitely kept us going throughout the rest of the day.
I would definitely recommend this hotel. Cannot ask for a better hotel experience at this cost!

Reviewed by
H Chaudhry

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall a great stay at a lovely hotel
We stayed at the newby bridge hotel for one night. Upon arrival we were told we had been upgraded to the bridal suite after originally booking a family room with cot (cot was a mamas and papas travel cot with sheet provided then we brought our own pillow and grobag). The room was lovely - very beautiful. The bed was a comfortable double. Tea and coffee etc in the room was great. The room could have been a bit cleaner - there were hairs on the floor and certain things were obviously dirty eg light switches but overall a very nice room.
We only had breakfast at the hotel. We arrived just before 9am and it was pretty busy. The food was ok although they kept on running out of nearly everything so we were constantly waiting and I never got any eggs in the end. There was a good selection of cereal. The fruit was basic tinned fruit - nothing to get excited about. There was plenty of juice, water and coffee. We didn't use one as our little one only likes to sit in high chairs that are actually at the table but they do provide high chairs.
The car park was very busy and tight when full.
The swimming pool was fine and the jacuzzi was an added bonus. The 'gym' was nothing to write home about.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Newby Bridge hotel and we would return and we would reccommend.

Reviewed by
A Parkes

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very tired decor and still had a mixer shower(not good and no water pressure)

Reviewed by
eric s

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room dated, house keeping poor. Poor evening resturaurant service .
Room was very dated I had asked for a newly refurbished room on my booking but didn't get it.House keeping,come in the second day, only pulled the sheets over the bed, which didn't fit, the double bed we expected was two single beds pushed together,therefor the sheets didn't fit !!!! they only emptied the bin and renewed tea and coffee. We booked a table in the restaurant for 8 o'clock we were seated and then left ,we sat there for 20 minuets without anybody even taking a drinks order , we left and went else where to eat

Reviewed by
Valerie Jones

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, but dated......
Would have preferred newer side of hotel, rooms very dated, but clean. Bed was comfy, flat screen TV on wall, but had to sit on bed to watch it. Very limited channels. Gym was 4 machines only.....and changing room could only fit 2-3 people with single shower! Food plentiful, traditional and good value. Lovely gardens with nice views.

Reviewed by
ANDREW P

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel needs refurbing

Reviewed by
paul musgrave

From Runcorn, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not quite Shabby chic!
Comfotable atmosphere and friendly staff but desperately in need off a bit of tlc. Our room had crumbs behind the hospitality tray and a can of Pal complete with spoon outside our door onto the garden. Lampshades and lamp bases needed dusting. Comfy bed. Bathroom mouldy and needed an upgrade. The whole place needed a deep clean. Jacuzzi, steam room and pool all felt the same - in fact theses were decidedly dodgy!
Attractive grounds and gardens. Food was good - maybe a little overpriced on the 3 course dinner.

Reviewed by
a healey

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next