No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Newby Bridge Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Newby Bridge , Newby Bridge, LA12 8NA
Directly overlooking Lake Windermere in lovely landscaped grounds, Newby Bridge Hotel is the perfect place to stay in the lake District. The Newby Bridge Hotel has recently been extended and provides quality accommodation, roaring log fires, leisure facilities, friendly service and not forgetting the good food.
We have an Oak-panelled restaurant and also 'The Huntsman's Inn' traditional bar. Free wifi is available for all guests in the lounge and bar area.
We have 41 bedrooms including 10 Four Poster rooms with ensuite spa baths.
The hotel is set in beautiful landscaped gardens and has a Rotunda wedding chapel and a Chelsea Flower Show show Garden. Our private leisure centre, which is exclusive to hotel guests, features a pool, spa pool, mini gym and a steam room.
Picture of Newby Bridge Hotel, Newby Bridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
60% recommended this accommodation to a friend 62% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

food was good but rooms left a lot to be desired!!
I thought by paying £77 per night supposedly half price I thought the hotel and room would be truly 4 star, unfortunately it wasn't! The tiny room was in the attic so you had to be extremely careful to avoid banging your head on the low roof supports. The room had black damp spots near the windows and the bath the most tiny I've seen.The whole hotel needed a fresh lick of paint and some modernisation.
Staff were friendly and the food was good.

Reviewed by
david w

From Sevenoaks, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab weekend stay
We booked a four poster with jacuzzi bathroom room but on arrival unexpectedly got upgraded to the Rotunda (bridal suite). Although this didn't have a four poster bed or jacuzzi bathroom , it was still a nice, spacious place to stay with big tv, iPod Dock sound system & double shower. However bed was quite small, could do with a king size in there.
Food was good in the Huntsman restaurant and very good breakfast with lots of choice.
Swimming pool & spa area quite small for size of hotel.
Nice friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Gina H

From Spalding, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth a visit.
I was more than pleased with my stay at Newby Bridge Hotel Bridge Hotel. The interior was welcoming and homely . The staff were pleasant and efficient without exception. Nothing was too much trouble. The meals were nicely prepared and presented. Overall it represented excellent value for money and the total experience left me wishing that I had been staying longer than the one night. If the opportunity presented itself, I would certainly return. Many thanks, signed :
G. W. Greenhough.

Reviewed by
G Greenhough

From Spilsby, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
Pleasant stay . Hotel staff excellent . Bit dated in parts but overall very good

Reviewed by
M thornhill

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great food
We did not eat in main restaurant but had two bar meals which were excellent ,and a very fast service.

Reviewed by
GEORGE W

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, friendly helpful staff
room was clean and tidy and a good size.
staff were very friendly and helpful. The fact we were shown to our room (not just given directions!) was a really nice touch.

Reviewed by
J Maddison

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short break
fab short break very friendly staff great location

Reviewed by
BARBARA E

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No house keeping for the two nights we stayed.had to ask at reception for bogroll and clean towles very poor hotel will never consider staying again !!

Reviewed by
jonathan g

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Arrived to find dinner being included on the first night, plus return cruise tickets to Bowness. Was
a great start to break

Reviewed by
S Eccles

From Cupar, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
Very pleasant hotel with great staff and excellent service. Beautiful area with lake view. Cosy bar & restaurant. Tried only breakfast which was very good (traditional English).
Hotel interior very old fashioned but clean so didn't mind. Would recommend.

Reviewed by
Dominika K

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next