Reviews - Belle Vue House Hotel

3

2 Tilehurst Rd, Reading, RG1 7TN

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (55)

73% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Christopher Taylor

  • January 2016

Great Place To Stay

Had a fantastic experience and stayed here for 1 night.

Will be coming back here again.

  • Nigel P

  • December 2015

3 positives, 2 negatives

- Friendly & helpful lady - who did reception, plus cooked & served breakfast.

- Heating set too high.

- Bed was comfortable, and duvet kept me warm. - Breakfast was good quality & quantity. - TV had no signal - I tried to re-tune it, but still no signal found.

  • Simon H

  • November 2015

Appalling attitude

After being burgled and having my car pinched and burnt out I happened to arrive at the 'hotel' just after 10pm.

I was met by the most rude woman I've ever met. Moaning about the long hours she had to work and didn't want to be waiting up after 9pm for me. She said that I was lucky to get my room because she almost went to bed and locked me out. This was all despite a phone call earlier to say what time i would be arriving and trying to tell her about the awful day I'd had. All I wanted was to check in and go to bed not to be verbally abused by someone. I will never ever stay at this bed and breakfast for as long as I live. I left there 2 days ago and am still angry at the way this person thought it was OK to speak to a customer. Never again!!!!

  • Hans H

  • November 2015

A small hotel with "personality"

Hotel, 20 minutes walk-distance from Reading Railway station and 10 minutes to city center.

Cosy house. Good atmosphere.

  • Mary L

  • October 2015

A welcome break

We had a very relaxed stay overnight at Belle Vue.

The accommodation was very comfortable, snacks were provided and it was very quiet at the back of the hotel overnight. The breakfast had a good selection and the English breakfast was nicely cooked and delicious.

  • J Clarke

  • October 2015

Disappointed

I booked this hotel because of the location, price, photos and reviews were impressive....Due to travel problems I arrived at 10.30pm (I did telephone around 8pm to say this).

I was greeted by a very grumpy lady who immediately told me in a very 'stern' voice that it was late and she had to be up at 5 and she normally goes to bed a 9pm.......sorry..I thought this was a hotel...it does say 24/7. My room was in the cellar was fairly clean, the bed was comfortable but the room was bare and so small, it just about fit the bed and wardrobe in. A couple of pictures would of been nice....The toilet and bathroom were next door. It was dreadful....It was very bare and basic.....old and tired...It was my fault I didn't check that the rooms weren't ensuite....I wouldn't of booked if I have checked first...The cooked breakfast was ok, but the 1 x sausage and 2 x bacon were overcooked and inedible. The lady was quite pleasant and chatty in the morning, but I think she needs to retire very soon..... as per some other reviews on here, if you want basic, cheap and cheerful then it's fine, it has no luxuries.

  • trevor v

  • October 2015

Not much Fun

The hotel is run down.

In need of painting and repair and a lot of TLC to this 195 year old building. I got a Standard room downstairs in the old cellars, small and draughty. The bathroom was next to the bedroom, had not realised it was not ensuite, the first would not lock and the second has a rusty rusty radiator. this was a Sunday night so thought the price was ok, but it turns out this is the normal everyday price. It is a workmans guest house. Not an hotel and not the sort of place to stay if you want to relax. The nearest place to eat is about 3 miles away

Will not be visiting again

The only plus side was the Manageress who was pleasant and helpful.

  • A Johnson

  • September 2015

Served a purpose

A little run down, stains on bathroom blind, broken cermic lamp but served a purpose.

I normally stay in somewhere like a holiday inn etc for not much more but no room this time.

  • Lynne H

  • July 2015

Belle Vue House Hotel

Friendly welcome , clean and comfortable room, good location

  • Patrick B

  • July 2015

board

The Late Rooms site says Book in from 15.00 but not that you are expected to do so by 21.00 which is far to early.

The website in fact says Book in by 9.30pm so some confusion. Shower did not work well and no light above the basin, woodchip wallpaper dated and room generally in need of refurbishment despite what the website says, loose electrical socket below TV, no indication of wifi code or if there is wifi, good location for station and given my first point the welcome on arrival frosty.