You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Belle Vue House Hotel

3

2 Tilehurst Rd, Reading, RG1 7TN

Price From 139.85 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (45)

73% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • R Russell

  • July 2016

Dire

I was allocated a single room with shared bathroom in the lower ground floor - room 17.The room had wallpaper peeling off the wall, a gouge in the wall where the towel rail had fallen off, threadbare carpet that didn't butt up to the skirting, skirting board with a gouge in it, broken sash cord, towel rail left on the window sill.

No side lamps. A TV with cables dangling. Curtain pole fitted badly at an angle. The room had all the appeal of a crack den and it reeked of damp. Truly one of the most horrible experiences of my life. Oh and neither of the two shared bathrooms had a plug for the bath.

  • B Akinbowale

  • July 2016

My stay at the Belle Vue Hotel

I enjoyed my stay and would stay again.

However, if get a chance to stay again I would like a room without having to stare at a brick wall by this may well have something to do with paying a little extra, I'm not sure. I would also bring a little reading lamp next time if I have the same room.

  • Raymond H

  • June 2016

Goodnight

A veritable oasis near the heart of Reading.

I would not have found this establishment without the help of Late Rooms. It was clean and comfortable. Parking was an absolute bonus. The only minus point was that I personally prefer an English breakfast. Only a continental breakfast was on offer.

  • Vlad Munteanu

  • March 2016

March 2016 Easter Trip

The house is well placed, close to downtown within walking distance as well as the bus station and a Tesco Express shop.

The owner is a very nice person to talk to and provides good breakfasts as well.

  • Christopher Taylor

  • January 2016

Great Place To Stay

Had a fantastic experience and stayed here for 1 night.

Will be coming back here again.

  • Nigel P

  • December 2015

3 positives, 2 negatives

- Friendly & helpful lady - who did reception, plus cooked & served breakfast.

- Heating set too high.

- Bed was comfortable, and duvet kept me warm. - Breakfast was good quality & quantity. - TV had no signal - I tried to re-tune it, but still no signal found.

  • Simon H

  • November 2015

Appalling attitude

After being burgled and having my car pinched and burnt out I happened to arrive at the 'hotel' just after 10pm.

I was met by the most rude woman I've ever met. Moaning about the long hours she had to work and didn't want to be waiting up after 9pm for me. She said that I was lucky to get my room because she almost went to bed and locked me out. This was all despite a phone call earlier to say what time i would be arriving and trying to tell her about the awful day I'd had. All I wanted was to check in and go to bed not to be verbally abused by someone. I will never ever stay at this bed and breakfast for as long as I live. I left there 2 days ago and am still angry at the way this person thought it was OK to speak to a customer. Never again!!!!

  • Hans H

  • November 2015

A small hotel with "personality"

Hotel, 20 minutes walk-distance from Reading Railway station and 10 minutes to city center.

Cosy house. Good atmosphere.

  • Mary L

  • October 2015

A welcome break

We had a very relaxed stay overnight at Belle Vue.

The accommodation was very comfortable, snacks were provided and it was very quiet at the back of the hotel overnight. The breakfast had a good selection and the English breakfast was nicely cooked and delicious.

  • J Clarke

  • October 2015

Disappointed

I booked this hotel because of the location, price, photos and reviews were impressive....Due to travel problems I arrived at 10.30pm (I did telephone around 8pm to say this).

I was greeted by a very grumpy lady who immediately told me in a very 'stern' voice that it was late and she had to be up at 5 and she normally goes to bed a 9pm.......sorry..I thought this was a hotel...it does say 24/7. My room was in the cellar was fairly clean, the bed was comfortable but the room was bare and so small, it just about fit the bed and wardrobe in. A couple of pictures would of been nice....The toilet and bathroom were next door. It was dreadful....It was very bare and basic.....old and tired...It was my fault I didn't check that the rooms weren't ensuite....I wouldn't of booked if I have checked first...The cooked breakfast was ok, but the 1 x sausage and 2 x bacon were overcooked and inedible. The lady was quite pleasant and chatty in the morning, but I think she needs to retire very soon..... as per some other reviews on here, if you want basic, cheap and cheerful then it's fine, it has no luxuries.