No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Belle Vue House Hotel

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
2 Tilehurst Rd , Reading, RG1 7TN
Centrally located with easy access to motorway links and airport.10 min walk to town centre with its haven of bars and restaurants.Ample on site carparking.close to mainline railway station and Rail Air Link
Picture of Belle Vue House Hotel, Reading at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 53 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable Stay
I wanted somewhere to stay close to town with parking at a reasonable price ,after reading some reviews it sounded bad,(where do some of these people come from)What I found, was a Welcoming,Clean,comfortable,room which was nice and warm and in the morning a nice tasty breakfast to set you up for the day,and I will definitely stay again when in the area on business.

Reviewed by
Grenville H

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service
Excellent, friendly service and a pleasant all round experience.

Reviewed by
Z Ali

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable and clean - Good value for money
This place is comfortable and clean. The owner was very friendly as normal. I would say it is a no frills place but my room was quite modern, comfortable and very clean. If you want a decent place to stay then this is for you, No complaints really.

Reviewed by
m deary

From Kenilworth, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Belle Vue House Hotel
Breakfast was toast. Oh we were offered jam with it. We also had coffee because tea was not available. If you enjoy a breakfast go somewhere else.

Reviewed by
Seamus Mcglynn

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap, convenient and surprisingly good
Very friendly staff. Simple room. Good breakfast. Ideal for purpose.

Reviewed by
Chris B

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stuff
It was an absolutely delightful stay. The room was brilliant for the price and a great location. The landlord was a darling as well!

Reviewed by
Glenn S

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ok
For the amount charged it was ok

Reviewed by
sheriff o

From Ilford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Belle Vue House Hotel Reading
I booked this hotel as not only was it incredibly cheap, but it scored a high rating on this site. You could argue that you get what you paid for but even so for £37.50 it was very very poor.
The basement room was no bigger than a prison cell, the carpet was ripped, the wallpaper was stained and smelt, in fact the whole of the room smelt really badly of damp. The corridor also smelt damp, and there were stains on the carpet. The curtains did not meet in the middle and were of a very light material, which would be fine except a outside searchlight was on all night and shone into the room.
The shared bathroom was okay even though the bath was tiny and you could not lie down in it unless you were very small or a child.
This was also a very very noisy hotel. I can put up with outside traffic but there was slamming of doors, really badly creaking stairs above the room and in other parts of the hotel all through the night and even shouting in the hotel at 2am in the morning.
I didn't venture for breakfast as the breakfast room looked bleak and unfriendly with tables and chairs shoved against each other.
I also found the hotel owner unfriendly. I chose to avoid breakfast and checked out at 9am. On saying good morning to her I got a very frosty good afternoon - highly amusing!!
There is very little to recommend about this hotel, a throwback to the 1970's. Next time I'll stay in Premier Inns or Travel-lodges at leat you know there is a certain level of quality.

Reviewed by
Martin B

From Hitchin, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't go !!!!!
Very dated exterior to the building with paint peeling off the walls and rotting windows. Old furniture and bags of junk in the garden. Very dated inside with woodchip wallpaper etc. As soon as we arrived the manageress told us to move the car from the front car park to the back otherwise "drunks will throw sherry bottles on to the car" which was very reassuring !!!!
The manageress who appears to run the place is an absolute nightmare, she has very strong opinions on everything which she barks out constantly when ever she sees you. She actually came and sat with us while we ate our breakfast and kept up a constant tirade of her views and opinions throughout the entire meal, dreadful!
As soon as we had eaten breakfast we were off, I couldn't bear to listen to any more of her ranting's.

Reviewed by
R Myers

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Belle Vue stay 2

Reviewed by
Tony R

From England
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next