No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Damson Dene Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Crosthwaite, , , Bowness on Windermere, LA8 8JE
Welcome to Damson Dene Hotel, situated in a really lovely and tranquil setting, yet only a short drive from Lake Windermere. The Damson Dene Hotel is surrounded by some of the Lake District's most spectacular scenery and has a warm and welcoming atmosphere, with open log fire and oak beams. There are 40, sumptuoulsy and fabulouly presented guest bedrooms, including 10 with luxurious four poster beds and ensuite spa baths, we also have three brand new family annexe rooms, all rooms are ensuite with bath or shower. 'The Heron View Restaurant', offers a menu which changes everyday and offers a wide choice, using locally grown fresh produce whenever possible, much of it from our own Victorian Kitchen garden. Furthermore, while you dine, you can enjoy stunning views of the hotel’s grounds and lakeland hills beyondserving fresh, food, locally sourced where possible, we also have 'The Damson Tree' traditional bar for guests to enjoy a relaxing drink whilst enjoying wonderful lakeland views. The landscaped gardens provide a relaxing and tranquil atmosphere for guests to enjoy. While you are staying at Damson Dene, why not take time out to unwind or re-energise in our leisure centre. As a hotel guest you have free unlimited use throughout your stay. As well as the swimming pool there is a spa pool, sauna, steam room and gym. Pamper yourself in the salon with an aromatherapy back, neck and shoulder massage or relaxing facial, treat your hands and feet to a makeover or enjoy a bronzing St Tropez treatment. Golfing enthusiasts may be interested to know that the renowned Windermere Golf Club with its celebrated course and magnificent fairways is situated nearby as well as a whole host of stunning attractions the Lake District has to offer. Please note children under 16 must be accompanied by an adult in the room (over 16 years old). Family rooms are available for a maximum of 2 adults only.
Picture of Damson Dene Hotel, Bowness on Windermere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family night away
We stayed at the Damson Dene on Thursday 28th August 2014 for 1 night at a great price of £99.00 for a lovely family room.
We arrived and the reception was very helpful, the room was excellent and a good size for a family of 4 (room 10).
We used the leisure facilities which were one of the main reasons we booked. The were really good and much fun was had. We used the Spa bath and the steam room, thought the sauna wasn't working but this was not a problem for us.
We ate in the hotel and had a few drinks afterwards, and we all played board games which was a brill way to keep us all off our gagdets.
All the staff were very helpful.
The breakfast in the morning was really good and the service was ok, we could tell they were very busy.
We really enjoyed our stay, the hotel is set in beautiful surroundings, the gardens and lake full of ducks are a really nice place to sit.
We got a voucher on leaving for a reduced 2 night stay which was also a nice touch.
Would definitely recommend this Hotel to anyone.
******

Reviewed by
I Rayton

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overpriced accommodation
The room service was terrible - A five night stay and the beds were not made properly and the room was never hoovered whilst we were there. The room was small, toilet diid not flush properly and TV reception was terrible. On leaving the Hotel we advised reception we did not think we had experienced value for money. We were then told that happens when you book with the likes of Laterooms - However if we had gone through the hotel they offer % vouchers which was half the price we paid. Not something you want to hear when you feel you have been overcharged.

Reviewed by
J Aslett

From Horsham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent and friendly staff. Food excellent with good variety. Rooms a little tired.
Overall a great stay

Reviewed by
Mark H

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Damson dene mx-5 club weekend
On the whole satisfactory, but no more. Public rooms OK but dining room lacks atmosphere. Bedroom (room 16) decidedly small (wardrobe doors hit bed), low ceiling to bathroom, no bath, and shower very small. Table lamp not working, clock radio not switched on (why aren't these things checked by staff?) and TV picture "breaking up" the whole time (I understand that is the reception for the area). B & B certainly not worth £79 per night. Food OK but virtually the same dinner menu two nights running and definitely overpriced at £29 for 3 courses + coffee. Staff and drinks OK.

Reviewed by
Fred Godson

From WHITLEY BAY, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

over the moon!!!!
We stayed for 2 nights in the four poster bedroom, its was just what we wanted, peace, quiet and relaxation. Staff were excellent and friendly, and the log fire was a beautiful touch in the foyer. Although we couldn't drink in our rooms the hotel bar was open late. Buffet style full English breakfast on first morning we was there - which i thought was great! But on the 2nd morning, they took our order and that was still just as good! Pond at the back of the hotel that can be viewed from the dining area, ducks would come and say hello and one particular duck with no beak brought our attention. They cater for all your needs at the damson, swimming, gym and steam room, would highly recommend if you don't want to leave the hotel and just relax. We will defo be going back :)

Reviewed by
lisa w

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday Break
Hotel is in lovely setting and has fantastic views from the room,staff were pleasant and helpful which resulted in a relaxing stay. All in all very enjoyable.

Reviewed by
Michael Rickaby

From Redcar, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good
We stayed two nights. We found no fault with the hotel, Very very good.
It is not the hotels fault but it is disgraceful that there is no signal for mobile phones. With the money they make, the mobile companies should be forced to provide 100 percent cover.

Reviewed by
R Soutar

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Location
First stay at this hotel which is set in a nice location. Attentive staff, good food. Only stayed one night. The room was tiny for a twin, with very little space to move around. The bathroom was also too small for comfort. Probably wouldn't stay again unless I could be sure of a decent size room. Excepting the room, the overall experience was good though.

Reviewed by
Paul H

From Uckfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
I didn't think this hotel lived up to the expectations based on the pictures, description and other reviews. The room was a neat and clean, but a bit cramped, possibly because it was a family room and a bunk bed took up a lot of space, and the bathroom door opens into the room leaving not much room to manoeuver. The other issue we had was that the hot water supply was erratic, spluttering at times and whilst there were occasions we could get a decent shower, other times it was impossible to get a consistent temperature or flow. On top of which, the shower head rested on the taps and there was no holder at head height or shower curtain, which is not ideal.
The staff are very friendly and helpful, which is probably the best thing about this hotel, and the one thing I would agree with other reviews on. Otherwise, I am rather bemused by the high ratings.
The food was a mixture of mediocre and some good dishes, the choices weren't great and eating there every evening would be a bit tedious after a few days. Being out of the way you have to drive if you want to eat out elsewhere. Breakfast was a buffet and was okay as buffet breakfasts go.
The location is nice, although our room face inwards so we just got to see a rather scruffy wall right outside of our window. As far as I could tell, quite a few other rooms appear to have this 'view', so this is not an exception. This aside the hotel generally is neat and tidy as much as an older building with a somewhat higgledy piddled layout can be. There is a nice garden with a pond, ducks and water lillies, which is lovely to look at on from the dining room and bar.
Finally, the WiFi range is limited, it works okay in the main reception area but beyond that you won't get much luck. Our phone signal (O2) in the room was not strong enough either, although this was not an inconvenience for us, others might want to use their mobile a lot more though.

Reviewed by
Richard C

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value
We really enjoyed our stay at Damson Dene. The hotel is slightly isolated, but surrounded by beautiful grounds. We felt that it was excellent value for money, with an excellent breakfast and the added bonus of a swimming pool/spa.

Reviewed by
Alex L

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next