No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Hand at Llanarmon

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Hand at Llanarmon, , Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog, Llangollen, LL20 7LD
The whole of North Wales is beautiful, but few areas compare to the Ceiriog Valley in the Borderlands. It’s a hidden jewel which changes in character at every turn of its winding path. If you come to the Ceiriog, you have to come to Llanarmon D.C., an unspoilt village at the heart of the Upper Ceiriog: the most remote, and arguably the most beautiful part of the valley, set against the backdrop of the moody and undiscovered Berwyn Mountains. The Hand at Llanarmon is very much a centre of village life; a centuries old inn which embraces travellers and regulars alike, with roaring log fires in winter, and outside eating areas for the warmer days. In recent years, we’ve built a strong reputation, and been awarded an AA rosette, for superb food, freshly prepared with informal flair and generosity by our three wonderful chefs. We can arrange almost any country pursuit nearby, and most of the major attractions of North Wales and the Borderlands are easy to reach by car. Or you can just soak up the atmosphere in the bar, warmed by the fire, and maybe a malt whisky or two.
Picture of The Hand at Llanarmon, Llangollen at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful stay for food and Welsh countryside
Great 2 night break at this lovely hotel. Lovely pub to sip a pint by the fire (august weather!) and restaurant to eat at night. Good room that suited us, small but perfectly formed. Nice touch of real coffee and clipper tea/hot chocolate. Would definitely visit here again :)

Reviewed by
V Johnson

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely little inn beyond the middle of nowhere (and on a bit)
Old pub-type small hotel at crossroads in tiny village. Lovely setting. Martin, the owner, is a very pleasant and helpful guy keen to make your stay go well. Nice bar. Excellent restaurant. Superb food.

Reviewed by
Richard L

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming character hotel pub in a stunning setting
We stayed at The Hand for two nights for a get-away-from-it-all summer break. And get away you do! The village of Llanarmon DC is about as remote as you can get in Wales, which means that it is blissfully peaceful as well as stunningly beautiful. Walking here is sheer joy - the still air and tranquility enabled us to literally hear the wings beating on crows that were circling 100ft above us on the hills! The pub itself has roaring log fires (which were actually lit due to this August's unbelievably cold temperatures!), a nice bar area and a fairly large restaurant. The bar and restaurant staff were all welcoming, courteous and helpful. We enjoyed one evening meal and two breakfasts during our stay. The evening meal was very tasty, if a bit over-priced (veg etc was extra) and there was plenty of choice on the menu. The breakfast menu was good, with several cooked meals to choose from as well as cereals, fruit salad, yogurt etc. Our room was fairly basic and small, but it was clean and functional and the bed and pillows were comfortable. Would we stay at The Hand again? In a heartbeat! This delightful pub is the jewel in the crown of a pretty village set in stunning countryside. We'll definitely return for another walking weekend- maybe for a winter break so we can enjoy snuggling up to those lovely, cosy fires . One piece of advice to anyone planning a retreat here; there's no mobile phone signal and no shops or facilities in the locality, so make sure you take a good book to read for the times between walking and eating/ drinking!

Reviewed by
JC L

From Cleckheaton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff very friendly, rooms clean and the foods was fantastic. We would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
philip j

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

business trip
Stayed at this hotel on a business trip, great looking surroundings and hotel with clean rooms. But don't recommend it for business travel. The only area of WFI is in the bar and told i could get breakfast at 7.30, but could not even get into the pub as locked out until 7.45 when another guest let me in. In the end breakfast was not served until around 7.50 which made me late for work. Also meal at night was not great and when asked if i enjoyed it by staff and told not really there was no apology

Reviewed by
David H

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hand at Llanarmon
What a great place! Quiet and peaceful, great hosts, good beer and fine food.

Reviewed by
Gill S

From Matlock, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming folk indeed.
Even with the late addition of a 2 year old, everyone was very welcoming indeed and all staff were as helpful and accomodating as you could wish for. Food and service was excellent and looking forward to returning. Thank you.

Reviewed by
Richard M

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely peaceful location in the middle of welsh countryside. Great character hotel.

Reviewed by
Brian Smith

From Accrington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Such a Great Little Find
We arrived later on the evening, but still in time for dinner. The owners had already reserved us a table (they do for all bookings). The little village was just a few houses around a cross roads, and was so quiet and picturesque. Had a very relaxing time in and read our books in the quiet bar area, which is decorated just how you would like a country pub.
Our favourite aspect was simply the food though, I ordered the neck of lamb and not only was it delicious and tender, it came with plenty of veg and tasty chips.

Reviewed by
Robert R

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just the Place to Switch off
Miles from civilization, a beautiful setting for a real get away retreat. There is NO mobile phone signal; Bliss!
Accommodation very well appointed, but breakfast was a little disappointing. Good choice of food, but not very large portions. I ordered bacon mushrooms & egg. 2 slices of a mushroom?

Reviewed by
P Entwistle

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next