No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Hand at Llanarmon

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Hand at Llanarmon, , Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog, Llangollen, LL20 7LD
The whole of North Wales is beautiful, but few areas compare to the Ceiriog Valley in the Borderlands. It’s a hidden jewel which changes in character at every turn of its winding path. If you come to the Ceiriog, you have to come to Llanarmon D.C., an unspoilt village at the heart of the Upper Ceiriog: the most remote, and arguably the most beautiful part of the valley, set against the backdrop of the moody and undiscovered Berwyn Mountains. The Hand at Llanarmon is very much a centre of village life; a centuries old inn which embraces travellers and regulars alike, with roaring log fires in winter, and outside eating areas for the warmer days. In recent years, we’ve built a strong reputation, and been awarded an AA rosette, for superb food, freshly prepared with informal flair and generosity by our three wonderful chefs. We can arrange almost any country pursuit nearby, and most of the major attractions of North Wales and the Borderlands are easy to reach by car. Or you can just soak up the atmosphere in the bar, warmed by the fire, and maybe a malt whisky or two.
Picture of The Hand at Llanarmon, Llangollen at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 15 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely peaceful location in the middle of welsh countryside. Great character hotel.

Reviewed by
Brian Smith

From Accrington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Such a Great Little Find
We arrived later on the evening, but still in time for dinner. The owners had already reserved us a table (they do for all bookings). The little village was just a few houses around a cross roads, and was so quiet and picturesque. Had a very relaxing time in and read our books in the quiet bar area, which is decorated just how you would like a country pub.
Our favourite aspect was simply the food though, I ordered the neck of lamb and not only was it delicious and tender, it came with plenty of veg and tasty chips.

Reviewed by
Robert R

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just the Place to Switch off
Miles from civilization, a beautiful setting for a real get away retreat. There is NO mobile phone signal; Bliss!
Accommodation very well appointed, but breakfast was a little disappointing. Good choice of food, but not very large portions. I ordered bacon mushrooms & egg. 2 slices of a mushroom?

Reviewed by
P Entwistle

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing in beautiful surroundings
Helpful staff, good food and beer!
Very relaxing.

Reviewed by
A Bunce

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

High quality
A high quality experience in all ways. In particular the food was excellent although everything-the customer service, beer and rooms were of a very high standard. I would thoroughly recommend it.

Reviewed by
Paul T

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place, very accommodating staff
The staff made me very welcome, found a room close to the outside door for a very early departure and provided a continental breakfast in my room the evening before, as I was missing breakfast. The room was great, bathroom huge and storage space enormous. The village itself is beautiful and set in a part of Wales I'd love to return to, as I had no idea it was that scenic.

Reviewed by
D Thomas

From Holyhead, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Hand is a wonderful "get away from it all" find in a small friendly village community. The staff are all extremely helpful and friendly; the quality of the food is excellent with a daily changing menu. We took our dog along with us who loved lying in front of the roaring log fire in the bar after a long days walking in the local hills and valleys. Good food, good beer and wine, good company and a comfy bed at the end of the day; what more could you ask for? My only hesitation in recommending The Hand at LLanarmon is that if it gets too well known outside the valley I won't be able to book it as easily!! A hidden gem.

Reviewed by
R Gill

From Thornton Cleveleys, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Such a nice place
Great accommodation at a friendly country pub in a very quiet village. Couldn't have been a more perfect place to relax and unwind.. Definitely going back soon..

Reviewed by
d lee

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel
beautiful setting off the beaten track,very peaceful and quiet,lovely friendly people,fantastic food,great holiday,highly recommended!

Reviewed by
sandy long

From Driffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review for 6th July 2013
We thought the hotel was lovely, with great service, excellant out of the way location in a very small village, would nevery have found it just it if we hadn't looked at LateRooms .Com. There was also a lovely walk starting right outside the hotel. We took some fantastic photos of the hotel, scenery and river. The food was excellant both in the evening and the following morning all very well presented, staff were very friendly as were the owners. Yes would go there again. Although would suggest a shower curtain / screen in room 10 as we worried we may get the floor too wet.

Reviewed by
C Gibbons

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next