No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Hand at Llanarmon

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Hand at Llanarmon, , Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog, Llangollen, LL20 7LD
The whole of North Wales is beautiful, but few areas compare to the Ceiriog Valley in the Borderlands. It’s a hidden jewel which changes in character at every turn of its winding path. If you come to the Ceiriog, you have to come to Llanarmon D.C., an unspoilt village at the heart of the Upper Ceiriog: the most remote, and arguably the most beautiful part of the valley, set against the backdrop of the moody and undiscovered Berwyn Mountains. The Hand at Llanarmon is very much a centre of village life; a centuries old inn which embraces travellers and regulars alike, with roaring log fires in winter, and outside eating areas for the warmer days. In recent years, we’ve built a strong reputation, and been awarded an AA rosette, for superb food, freshly prepared with informal flair and generosity by our three wonderful chefs. We can arrange almost any country pursuit nearby, and most of the major attractions of North Wales and the Borderlands are easy to reach by car. Or you can just soak up the atmosphere in the bar, warmed by the fire, and maybe a malt whisky or two.
Picture of The Hand at Llanarmon, Llangollen at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Hand is a wonderful "get away from it all" find in a small friendly village community. The staff are all extremely helpful and friendly; the quality of the food is excellent with a daily changing menu. We took our dog along with us who loved lying in front of the roaring log fire in the bar after a long days walking in the local hills and valleys. Good food, good beer and wine, good company and a comfy bed at the end of the day; what more could you ask for? My only hesitation in recommending The Hand at LLanarmon is that if it gets too well known outside the valley I won't be able to book it as easily!! A hidden gem.

Reviewed by
R Gill

From Thornton Cleveleys, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Such a nice place
Great accommodation at a friendly country pub in a very quiet village. Couldn't have been a more perfect place to relax and unwind.. Definitely going back soon..

Reviewed by
d lee

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel
beautiful setting off the beaten track,very peaceful and quiet,lovely friendly people,fantastic food,great holiday,highly recommended!

Reviewed by
sandy long

From Driffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review for 6th July 2013
We thought the hotel was lovely, with great service, excellant out of the way location in a very small village, would nevery have found it just it if we hadn't looked at LateRooms .Com. There was also a lovely walk starting right outside the hotel. We took some fantastic photos of the hotel, scenery and river. The food was excellant both in the evening and the following morning all very well presented, staff were very friendly as were the owners. Yes would go there again. Although would suggest a shower curtain / screen in room 10 as we worried we may get the floor too wet.

Reviewed by
C Gibbons

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a relaxing stay
THE Hand is a delightful individual hotel in such peaceful surroundings.
The welcome, the room, and the food all made for a memorable stay. We shal definitely return

Reviewed by
T HARRISON

From PENRITH, England
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

back again

Reviewed by
JOHN C

From Cemaes Bay, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our third visit - and we are already looking forward to our next one
A great little country pub/ restaurant in an amazing location. Warm and friendly staff. Great food.

Reviewed by
greg p

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay indeed
We were made to feel very welcome on arrival which was excellent and the room was very nice with a wonderfully comfortable bed. Great if you like walking and country pursuits with a nice bar to relax in afterwards. The food was very enjoyable with a good choice on the menu. Unfortunately, the blonde waitress in the evening was not quite as friendly as all other staff which was a shame but the morning waitress was the complete opposite; completely charming with excellent customer service. We will return again.

Reviewed by
m mealey

From Widnes, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Wales Gem
Very friendly and helpful staff and hosts. We only stayed one night to tie in with some other visits in the area but wish we could have spent a week there: not least because there is a terrific little book of local walks written by one of the owners (Martin) provided in the room (and available to buy) which is a fantastic help, and we would have loved to try more.
The room was pleasantly furnished, clean and quiet. Just a little problem with the erratic flow of hot water but mentioned it on check-out.
The Hand has a reputation for the quality of its food, and the breakfast was certainly one of the best we have ever eaten in any hotel. Surprising then that but we didn't feel the evening meal quite delivered what it seemed to promise on the menu - Nothing really wrong (apart from part of a dish missing at first), but just a feeling of lackluster compared with the wonderful breakfast (including fantastic homemade marmalade).
Definitely worth traveling a long way to visit.

Reviewed by
K Edwards

From Doncaster, England
Who stayed in August 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic food and room
This hotel offered the most consistently delicious food I've had at similar places. The hosts were gracious and the rooms were lovely. Highly recommended and would love to stay there again.

Reviewed by
Linda E

From Duluth, USA
Who stayed in May 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.