No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wynnstay Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
43 Church Street , Oswestry, SY11 2SZ
The Wynnstay Hotel was a well known Coaching Inn on both the route from Liverpool to Cardiff and from London to Holyhead. There are references dating back to 1727, but the existing building is typical of the Georgian Style, and there have been many alterations and additions over the years.

The Hotel, has been sympathetically renovated over the past two years, extending the function suite to 200 people and converting the old stable block at the rear of the hotel to a luxurious Health and fitness club with indoor pool, sauna, jet spa Jacuzzi, steam room and three purpose built treatment rooms.

A member of Classic British Hotels.

Picture of Wynnstay Hotel, Oswestry at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what we needed!
Perfect location for our function, easy parking. Excellent gym/pool, lovely staff, nice bar, superb breakfast, room dated but clean and comfy.

Reviewed by
D Smith

From Prescot, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was clean and tidy, the decor was a little tired. The main issue was the noise a boiler (I presume) was exceptionally loud and could be heard over the tv and with my wearing ear plugs. But this would only be in the rooms around the boiler. The service was excellent and the breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
h Elliott

From Newcastle, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The decor of the room was very dated, there were stains and dirty marks on the wall, it was unbearably hot with no air conditioning and due to the room being on the main road it was too noisy to have the window open.

Reviewed by
T Rowlands

From Aberystwyth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bank Holiday Weekend
Stayed over the Bank Holiday weekend; everything about the hotel was excellent. The pool and spa complex in the converted stable block were particularly good. Very helpful and friendly staff, good quality breakfast and a large, well presented bedroom.

Reviewed by
Paul B

From Ryde, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable but a bit noisy.
Facilities were excellent but we were in a room with the fans for the kitchen outside the window. I should have asked for a quiet room which I did on my previous stay. Food excellent and the staff were attentive, courteous and efficient without being over present.

Reviewed by
Steve Whorton

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired hotel in need of refreshment! Bathroom shabby. Decor dull. Needs a good dust ! Gym facilities excellent and staff friendly. Were actually cleaning down each piece of equipment. Great to see.

Reviewed by
joanne d

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very pleasant break in Oswestry. Hotel very centrally located for town attractions.
Leisure club very well appointed; restaurant good service Early birds menu good value.
Only snag no ground floor rooms.

Reviewed by
R Lyon

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel is well located with its own convenient car park in the centre of oswestry. The room I stayed in needed a bit of an update and the shower was really cold. The gym and pool facilities are really good and a nice bonus. The breakfast was ok although nothing spectacular. The hotel also only does room service for sandwiches which is annoying.

Reviewed by
E Benson

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very Good
Nice hotel, clean, nice rooms, near town centre.
Good Breakfast.

Reviewed by
steve roberts

From Droitwich, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed after an event
I stayed here because I was hosting a Christmas event in the town and we wanted to be able to use the bar at the end of the evening, unfortunately the bar was closed by 1am and the night staff refused to serve drinks to residents. I should have stayed at the travelodge and saved my money.

Reviewed by
Simon J

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next