No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wynnstay Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
43 Church Street , Oswestry, SY11 2SZ
The Wynnstay Hotel was a well known Coaching Inn on both the route from Liverpool to Cardiff and from London to Holyhead. There are references dating back to 1727, but the existing building is typical of the Georgian Style, and there have been many alterations and additions over the years.

The Hotel, has been sympathetically renovated over the past two years, extending the function suite to 200 people and converting the old stable block at the rear of the hotel to a luxurious Health and fitness club with indoor pool, sauna, jet spa Jacuzzi, steam room and three purpose built treatment rooms.

A member of Classic British Hotels.

Picture of Wynnstay Hotel, Oswestry at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Welcoming and Centrally Located
Very courteous welcome by the helpful receptionist, well situated in the centre of Oswestry within walking distance of pubs / shops / restaurants. Didn't try any of the food on this occasion, but will certainly try breakfast next time as it looked lovely when I popped my head into the restaurant. Enjoyed the well maintained leisure facilities, good size gym, excellent swimming, sauna, and steam room / hot tub. Already booked my next visit, and delighted with 10% discount offered as a return customer.

Reviewed by
Andrew G

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel. excellent location
Stayed for a birthday night. the hotel is in a lovely location next to shops, pubs. home cooked breakfast. excellent customer service and would definitely return

Reviewed by
Alison R

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bathroom
Enjoyed stay very much. Great size of bathroom, but feel it could be brought up to a nicer standard of decor.

Reviewed by
T QUINN

From NELSON, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great stay
The room was well furnished and very comfortable. Complimentary shower products and drink/snacks were very welcome. We had a lovely stay and would definitely make a return visit, next time bringing gym clothes to make use of the leisure facilities.

Reviewed by
T Bennett

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review of A goodnight stay.
Lovely warm welcome, helpful staff helping in finding a room.
Every detail thought of, wonderful food, pleasant smiles.
Lovely way to spend a anniversary.

Reviewed by
A Holmes

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Customer service makes up for dated and tired rooms
I briefly looked at the comments left by other customers before we left for our stay in Oswestry and hoped that in the two years since my last stay at Wynnstay that the dated style and furnishings had been addressed, but they were right and the same tired rooms had had yet two more years of wear and tear.
Which is such a shame as the hotel, the town and the staff there have so much to offer people looking for a break on the Welsh borders.
Look beyond the threadbare carpet in front of the bathroom and strange smell in the en suite and actually the beds were clean and comfortable with all of the usual and expected facilities. It was great to find wifi access that didn't involve codes and extra costs and was easy to get.
The room service was great, as was the food in the restaurant and the maitre d' found a table at short notice despite two big parties being catered for.
The staff in the restaurant were knowledgeable about the menu and more than happy to help us relocate the desserts back to our room for later. They made it seem as though no request was too much trouble. They certainly made my 12 year old daughter feel comfortable.
Breakfast too was rather lovely with much on offer and some different offerings such as the greek yoghurt and fruit / cereal pots that had been home produced.
The free use of the spa facilities was much welcomed but some areas such as the lounge area in the pool and the roofs of the steamroom and above the Jacuzzi needed a good clean.
I indulged in an Elemis facial and have to say it was the best Elemis treatment I have ever had and much better than the one on a cruise ship in the Summer. It was really very, very good and I do recommend spoiling yourself if you get a chance. Again the staff there were very helpful, put you at ease and skilled at their job.
The only slight negative other than the décor in the bedrooms, was the clipped and abrupt manner of the staff on reception which was in stark contrast to all of the other staff we encountered; but they were not unhelpful.
The town is lovely with some great hidden treasures and the Wynnstay a great base to stay. I just hope that by the next time I visit they have refreshed the rooms and it reflects the efforts by the majority of the staff there.

Reviewed by
Kirsty T

From Cradley Heath, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pauline anne dainton
very enjoyable stay lovely place in nice setting staff were all very pleasant and hard working extractor fan from kitchen outside bedroom window too noisey

Reviewed by
P Dainton

From Gerrards Cross, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what we needed!
Perfect location for our function, easy parking. Excellent gym/pool, lovely staff, nice bar, superb breakfast, room dated but clean and comfy.

Reviewed by
D Smith

From Prescot, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was clean and tidy, the decor was a little tired. The main issue was the noise a boiler (I presume) was exceptionally loud and could be heard over the tv and with my wearing ear plugs. But this would only be in the rooms around the boiler. The service was excellent and the breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
h Elliott

From Newcastle, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The decor of the room was very dated, there were stains and dirty marks on the wall, it was unbearably hot with no air conditioning and due to the room being on the main road it was too noisy to have the window open.

Reviewed by
T Rowlands

From Aberystwyth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next