Wynnstay Hotel

3

43 Church Street, Oswestry, SY11 2SZ

Price From 177.63 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (25)

76% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • John Welsh

  • May 2015

Hotel Stay

  • L Hendry

  • April 2015

More airs and graces than quality

The rooms were small, the bed was small, everything was a bit dated.

Bathrooms slightly mouldy, and shower pretty rubbish- nothing terrible, but expected more from the price and 4 stars. The spa was much the same- not much to write home about.

  • C Richley

  • March 2015

Large price for a small room

Although the accommodation is clean and attractively decorated the room we stayed in was rather small considering the price.

I cannot comment on food as we had breakfast else where, again because of the additional cost. And unfortunately we did not take advantage of the gym and sauna facilities.

  • Andrew G

  • February 2015

Very Welcoming and Centrally Located

Very courteous welcome by the helpful receptionist, well situated in the centre of Oswestry within walking distance of pubs / shops / restaurants.

Didn't try any of the food on this occasion, but will certainly try breakfast next time as it looked lovely when I popped my head into the restaurant. Enjoyed the well maintained leisure facilities, good size gym, excellent swimming, sauna, and steam room / hot tub. Already booked my next visit, and delighted with 10% discount offered as a return customer.

  • Alison R

  • January 2015

Lovely hotel. excellent location

Stayed for a birthday night.

the hotel is in a lovely location next to shops, pubs. home cooked breakfast. excellent customer service and would definitely return

  • T QUINN

  • January 2015

Bathroom

Enjoyed stay very much.

Great size of bathroom, but feel it could be brought up to a nicer standard of decor.

  • T Bennett

  • December 2014

A great stay

The room was well furnished and very comfortable.

Complimentary shower products and drink/snacks were very welcome. We had a lovely stay and would definitely make a return visit, next time bringing gym clothes to make use of the leisure facilities.

  • A Holmes

  • November 2014

Review of A goodnight stay.

Lovely warm welcome, helpful staff helping in finding a room.

Every detail thought of, wonderful food, pleasant smiles. Lovely way to spend a anniversary.

  • Kirsty T

  • October 2014

Customer service makes up for dated and tired rooms

I briefly looked at the comments left by other customers before we left for our stay in Oswestry and hoped that in the two years since my last stay at Wynnstay that the dated style and furnishings had been addressed, but they were right and the same tired rooms had had yet two more years of wear and tear.

Which is such a shame as the hotel, the town and the staff there have so much to offer people looking for a break on the Welsh borders. Look beyond the threadbare carpet in front of the bathroom and strange smell in the en suite and actually the beds were clean and comfortable with all of the usual and expected facilities. It was great to find wifi access that didn't involve codes and extra costs and was easy to get. The room service was great, as was the food in the restaurant and the maitre d' found a table at short notice despite two big parties being catered for.

The staff in the restaurant were knowledgeable about the menu and more than happy to help us relocate the desserts back to our room for later. They made it seem as though no request was too much trouble. They certainly made my 12 year old daughter feel comfortable. Breakfast too was rather lovely with much on offer and some different offerings such as the greek yoghurt and fruit / cereal pots that had been home produced. The free use of the spa facilities was much welcomed but some areas such as the lounge area in the pool and the roofs of the steamroom and above the Jacuzzi needed a good clean. I indulged in an Elemis facial and have to say it was the best Elemis treatment I have ever had and much better than the one on a cruise ship in the Summer. It was really very, very good and I do recommend spoiling yourself if you get a chance. Again the staff there were very helpful, put you at ease and skilled at their job. The only slight negative other than the d├ęcor in the bedrooms, was the clipped and abrupt manner of the staff on reception which was in stark contrast to all of the other staff we encountered; but they were not unhelpful. The town is lovely with some great hidden treasures and the Wynnstay a great base to stay. I just hope that by the next time I visit they have refreshed the rooms and it reflects the efforts by the majority of the staff there.

  • P Dainton

  • September 2014

pauline anne dainton

very enjoyable stay lovely place in nice setting staff were all very pleasant and hard working extractor fan from kitchen outside bedroom window too noisey